payretep 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 Wah even your walls are all wood.. so nice... I love the coountry look. Some plants would make it seem super homely. yeah, wifey scouting around for more flowers (plastic ones) for the house.. so our place will look very flower.. if u notice, even the painting we got is of tulips.. hahaha.. Hahaha... the light colored walls.... reminds me of kids playing hide & seek during housewarming ... we had to wipe off the hand and footprints after that.... furniture wise... we had glossy white laminates for our kitchen cabinets, tv consoles, bomb shelter cover and bedside cabinets... so far so good... still white.. no regrets.. we worried about maintenance problem too initially ... can take a look at the thread about materials regret using.. http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=19954 Btw.. The wooden strips covering ur bomb shelter.. are they laminates? wow, that is a useful thread! thanks vin! i'm quite concerned abt ikea stuff le... but seems like the more expensive range is quite alright huh? *keeping fingers crossed* anyway the wooden strips are actual wooden strips, not laminate.. they are spray painted to get the glossy effect.. went to the house a few hours after the spray painting and the smell was terrible.. cannot breathe properly loh.. i wonder how the workers tahan.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 Hi Payretep, Your house look good. Got the countryside feel to it. Can I check with you about the gap between the wall and the kitchen washing sink? I am planning for my kitchen cabinet, so wondering how much space to leave inbetween the wall and the basin. Thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 Hi Payretep, Your house look good. Got the countryside feel to it. Can I check with you about the gap between the wall and the kitchen washing sink? I am planning for my kitchen cabinet, so wondering how much space to leave inbetween the wall and the basin. Thanks. Hi Rasp, Thanks. i duno leh.. mine was decided by my ID and we were like "anything loh, looks good and practical can liao" most of the time. don't even know the dimensions.. hahaha.. but i guess have to see wat u wana do with that space bah.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
piggiedearz 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 helo.. wa seh! ur hse is lovely! i like ur kitchen and toilet doors!! make me feeling changing mine too hehe. but its extra cost lar.. so we didn when doing the reno. maybe next time then change when this one spoils hehe. how much are ur doors and where u get them? can't wait to go your hse to see leh.. handover liao ar? see when can .. we can exchange visits hehe. i'm also looking for fake flowers to deco my hse.. if i find any i will let u know for ur woodpanels...u did for entire living room? how much ar? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2009 helo.. wa seh! ur hse is lovely! i like ur kitchen and toilet doors!! make me feeling changing mine too hehe. but its extra cost lar.. so we didn when doing the reno. maybe next time then change when this one spoils hehe. how much are ur doors and where u get them? can't wait to go your hse to see leh.. handover liao ar? see when can .. we can exchange visits hehe. i'm also looking for fake flowers to deco my hse.. if i find any i will let u know for ur woodpanels...u did for entire living room? how much ar? Hello! the doors are custom made by my ID's carpenter, so its part of the package. as for the wood panels, yeah, we did for the entire living area, but not the dining area la.. hahaha.. not tat rich... anyway my ID say if the whole of the living room is panel also not nice.. so heng ah! excluding the partition and my transformer wall, i think the wooden panels cost ard 5~6K.. was quite worried that i will regret doing it as my ID also say that this is the first time he is trying this out, but the effect turned out well.. kudos to him! as for house visit, i think we still need sometime to "populate" the house before we can have any visitors.. now too bare le.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
piggiedearz 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 haha i tell u.. i stay gg to be 1 yr liao my hse also still quite bare... it takes time de. once u're ready to hv visitors do tell us! i'm addicted to country homes ya i tink if u do the entire living area, it will cost a bomb. yeap the effect is veri nice... got the cozy wainscoting effect .. worth the 5-6k. so how's ur fireplace idea? still doing ma? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 WOW!!! Everything seems more or less in place already!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 Hi Rasp, Thanks. i duno leh.. mine was decided by my ID and we were like "anything loh, looks good and practical can liao" most of the time. don't even know the dimensions.. hahaha.. but i guess have to see wat u wana do with that space bah.. Good Morning Payretep, Thanks for the reply. We're not having anything at that space, just the wall and then the sink. Can you do me a favour to let me know roughly how wide is the space? I am drawing my own kitchen cabinet now, I leave about 20cm for it. Not sure if its sufficient. Thanks!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 haha i tell u.. i stay gg to be 1 yr liao my hse also still quite bare... it takes time de. once u're ready to hv visitors do tell us! i'm addicted to country homes ya i tink if u do the entire living area, it will cost a bomb. yeap the effect is veri nice... got the cozy wainscoting effect .. worth the 5-6k. so how's ur fireplace idea? still doing ma? Yeah, i think will take some time bah.. wats wainscoting effect? hahaha.. we never really did much study on the country theme.. just bought a book on country homes, labeled the things we find it nice and pass it to my ID and he pretty much did the rest liao.. hahaha nope, not doing it le.. quite hard to fit in our current design.. hahaha WOW!!! Everything seems more or less in place already!!! hahaha still need quite some work to be done leh.. but its our job to fill up the empty canvas liao.. Good Morning Payretep, Thanks for the reply. We're not having anything at that space, just the wall and then the sink. Can you do me a favour to let me know roughly how wide is the space? I am drawing my own kitchen cabinet now, I leave about 20cm for it. Not sure if its sufficient. Thanks!! hi rasp, if u really want, i can go back this weekend and measure how much is mine bah.. but isn't it better to ask ur ID or contractor about how much he/she would leave there? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
piggiedearz 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 wainscoting is woodpanelling but done in vertical lines normally at the bottom half of the wall. tat kind also v cozy hehe. nvm u come my hse see fireplace if u miss one lor hehe. my fren is doing a fireplace now and is having a headache over the design and dimensions hehe. u save urself the trouble! i'm still looking for the firelogs for mine hahaha so when r u moving in? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 wainscoting is woodpanelling but done in vertical lines normally at the bottom half of the wall. tat kind also v cozy hehe. nvm u come my hse see fireplace if u miss one lor hehe. my fren is doing a fireplace now and is having a headache over the design and dimensions hehe. u save urself the trouble! i'm still looking for the firelogs for mine hahaha so when r u moving in? i see.. i'll be officially moving in ard may, and wifey will only be officially moving in after our customary in sept. til then, this will be like a chalet for her nia.. hahaha.. anyway somemore pics here~ this is going to be our tv console area, but we haven't gotten it yet.. looks like we will be getting an ikea one again.. hope it can last.. zooming to the cute figurines we got from the Lim's Art shop sale~ 40% off! think they are quite matching to our theme.. hahaha.. somemore figurines at the shelf beside our "fake" bay window.. and a miniature tea set we got from phuket~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
piggiedearz 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 nice shelving... custom made? ya lims and arts hv some nice country stuffs.. they hv the butter dishes n china stuffs Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 nice shelving... custom made? ya lims and arts hv some nice country stuffs.. they hv the butter dishes n china stuffs u mean the white shelf at the tv console area or the window shelving? the window shelving is custom-made, whereas the white shelf is from ...*drum rolls* ikea (again) hahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 wow .. your house is very beautiful and very 'ikea' I really like your kitchen, did you get the ikea folks to install for you or your own contractor? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2009 wow .. your house is very beautiful and very 'ikea' I really like your kitchen, did you get the ikea folks to install for you or your own contractor? hahaha.. no choice la.. wana save cost by getting off the shelf stuff rather than fabricating it mah.. then turns out ikea stuff so suitable.. hahahaha... hmmmm seems like i'm doing free advertisement for ikea huh? hahahaha! we only bought the doors from ikea for the country look, everything else is from the ID's contractor.. but my ID say very headache cos need to measure the doors very carefully as they are fixed sized.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites