merryman 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2009 So, what have you purchased from them leh? got any pics to show or not? Haha, I didn't take any pics wor... should right?! Next order I will.. Ordered sofa, kitchen table and tv console already... come to think of it, didn't really need kitchen table and tv console immediately but nevermind, already ordered... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2009 Haha, I didn't take any pics wor... should right?! Next order I will.. Ordered sofa, kitchen table and tv console already... come to think of it, didn't really need kitchen table and tv console immediately but nevermind, already ordered... wah u ordered quite a lot. so whats the damage? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
acess82 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2009 wah u ordered quite a lot. so whats the damage? I looking for contemporary style of furniture....this shop can satisfy me? and also do they carry wide range of bed frame and L shaped sofa? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2009 I looking for contemporary style of furniture....this shop can satisfy me? and also do they carry wide range of bed frame and L shaped sofa? i only know their showroom have very few pcs of funiture around. but loads and loads of catalouge books for you to choose from, even if they dun have what you want, also can custom made too. anyway, its still very cheap compared to those designer furniture shops. wide range huh, yes. quite a lot to choose from. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SamTheMan 7 Report post Posted August 17, 2009 i only know their showroom have very few pcs of funiture around. but loads and loads of catalouge books for you to choose from, even if they dun have what you want, also can custom made too. anyway, its still very cheap compared to those designer furniture shops. wide range huh, yes. quite a lot to choose from. Actually, the HDB shops are not really cheaper, they just sell inferior products. They get all their products from wholesalers and then just mark up. The really cheap products are just really lousy products. You are better shopping at a proper store if you can afford it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
milktea20 0 Report post Posted August 17, 2009 I also paid 50% deposit for the things I bought from S&C which I thought was ok coz they also scare we run away bah. Forgot to take pictures. I bought a sofa, a coffeetable and a dining table with chairs for $2400. Very diff to get Melvin to give further discount even thou we intend to get all our furnitures from him leh. Sad. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shingirl 0 Report post Posted August 17, 2009 Actually, the HDB shops are not really cheaper, they just sell inferior products. They get all their products from wholesalers and then just mark up. The really cheap products are just really lousy products. You are better shopping at a proper store if you can afford it. hmmmmm...... sorry i might not know how you define your 'proper store' but im very sure they are not selling inferior products......... because they selling EXACTLY the same items as display in MR DECO, FURNITURE HQ, some of the non-kelvin-giormani in Furniture club......... and of course at a fraction of the price in the main shopping centre. of course they do have really cheap stuff that are inferior........... to cater the crowd that wants really cheap stuffs Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SamTheMan 7 Report post Posted August 17, 2009 (edited) hmmmmm...... sorry i might not know how you define your 'proper store' but im very sure they are not selling inferior products......... because they selling EXACTLY the same items as display in MR DECO, FURNITURE HQ, some of the non-kelvin-giormani in Furniture club......... and of course at a fraction of the price in the main shopping centre. of course they do have really cheap stuff that are inferior........... to cater the crowd that wants really cheap stuffs Let me tell you about the low end of the market Lorenzo, Cellini and Star Furniture are manufacturers so their products will never be found in HDB stores. Star includes Mondi, Lucano and Zen Tradition. Novena, OM, Nova and Furniture Club are importers, you will never find their products in HDB stores. HDB stores get their products from wholesalers like ES furniture, Hee Tat, SCH and so on. In other words, you end up paying a middleman. To sell super cheap products in a HDB store, the store must get very cheap items from wholesalers and to make products very cheap wholesalers will have to cut corners. In other words, if you find something that looks like something you see in say Mondi, Lorenzo, OM, Cellini in a furniture store it will have to be a copy and most of the time it will be an inferior copy. But sometimes you will find the same products in HDB store for companies like Morris, Mr. Deco because they get the products from wholesalers. Edited August 17, 2009 by SamTheMan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mist98 0 Report post Posted August 17, 2009 I also paid 50% deposit for the things I bought from S&C which I thought was ok coz they also scare we run away bah. Forgot to take pictures. I bought a sofa, a coffeetable and a dining table with chairs for $2400. Very diff to get Melvin to give further discount even thou we intend to get all our furnitures from him leh. Sad. Actually your price is already discounted cuase is already a package deal. If not try buy 1 by 1. the price will be higher Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted August 18, 2009 Let me tell you about the low end of the market Lorenzo, Cellini and Star Furniture are manufacturers so their products will never be found in HDB stores. Star includes Mondi, Lucano and Zen Tradition. Novena, OM, Nova and Furniture Club are importers, you will never find their products in HDB stores. HDB stores get their products from wholesalers like ES furniture, Hee Tat, SCH and so on. In other words, you end up paying a middleman. To sell super cheap products in a HDB store, the store must get very cheap items from wholesalers and to make products very cheap wholesalers will have to cut corners. In other words, if you find something that looks like something you see in say Mondi, Lorenzo, OM, Cellini in a furniture store it will have to be a copy and most of the time it will be an inferior copy. But sometimes you will find the same products in HDB store for companies like Morris, Mr. Deco because they get the products from wholesalers. I dun see their products as inferior goods becoz they are offering cheaper alternatives for us mere mortals, if you can afford it, you sure can buy a geninue designer sofa, which Only costs you $10,000, or a coffee-table for $9,000 Nobody is stopping you from doing that. but i have ordered and used their furniture for about 7 months now, still as good as new. moreover, even if you are paying that kinda lookalike furniture for that kinda cheap prices, as you mentioned, the store owner Melvin, would still advise on the quality of it. He would tell you that there are a few prices to choose from. The cheap, the cheaper and the cheapest. of course i would go only for the cheap. the cheapest is the poor inferior quality that you are talking about. but he would keep on telling you NOT TO go for it, unless the customer really insisted on it..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted August 18, 2009 it's up to your pocket of how much you can afford. to me, i want to chg furniture every 3-4 years. if you ask me to pay 4-5k for full leather sofa, and i still have to maintain it, i rather get a sofa which is less than 1k and dun need to maintain, 3 yrs later i can just dump it away. Just like dun have to buy original 'Transformers robot' which cost $100 for your kid, as they will grow up and probably it will not last till then. I rather buy a $20 robot from pasar malam. Same theory. 3 or 5 yrs later you might move hse or change the design of yr house so why spend so much of a sofa? S&C might not do 100% quality as those high end one, but they also dun make us pay 100% of the high end price. end of the day, it's your pocket that decide. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
acess82 0 Report post Posted August 18, 2009 it's up to your pocket of how much you can afford. to me, i want to chg furniture every 3-4 years. if you ask me to pay 4-5k for full leather sofa, and i still have to maintain it, i rather get a sofa which is less than 1k and dun need to maintain, 3 yrs later i can just dump it away. Just like dun have to buy original 'Transformers robot' which cost $100 for your kid, as they will grow up and probably it will not last till then. I rather buy a $20 robot from pasar malam. Same theory. 3 or 5 yrs later you might move hse or change the design of yr house so why spend so much of a sofa? S&C might not do 100% quality as those high end one, but they also dun make us pay 100% of the high end price. end of the day, it's your pocket that decide. hmmm...well...so who should i listen to...i guess we hv to check the reviews of those pple that had bought from this furniture shop b4? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lise 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 hmmm...well...so who should i listen to...i guess we hv to check the reviews of those pple that had bought from this furniture shop b4? mayb u shld go down to the showroom n see for urself, tat's wat i intend to do too! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jtec14 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 hmmm...well...so who should i listen to...i guess we hv to check the reviews of those pple that had bought from this furniture shop b4? You can check reviews from forumers here, seems okay and quite a number of S&C supporters. Ultimately you have to listen to your "POCKET" when making a decision as per elane1311's reply, no one can help you on it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 You can check reviews from forumers here, seems okay and quite a number of S&C supporters. Ultimately you have to listen to your "POCKET" when making a decision as per elane1311's reply, no one can help you on it. to me, saving money is the most impt thing, but the quality is quite okay too....maybe you might wana go down and see for yourselve lor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites