Shanshine 0 Report post Posted October 27, 2008 Hi everyone, HDB does not allow me to enclose my balcony by building windows on top of the existing balcony grills. Does anyone have any idea how else can I block the rain from hitting my balcony floor? I'm thinking of installing blinds at my balcony. Is this idea feasible? Thanks a lot for helping and sharing!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tino 0 Report post Posted October 30, 2008 why you dont do a sliding door inside your house i am sure there is a drop between your balcony and living Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bubble-ling 0 Report post Posted October 31, 2008 but how come HDB dun allow u to have windows there? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Clement08 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2008 Issit a new regulation that HDB dun allow window to be built on top of the balcony's wall? I saw alot of flats with windows on the balcony, especially if the balcony is facing the sun. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bubble-ling 0 Report post Posted November 13, 2008 Issit a new regulation that HDB dun allow window to be built on top of the balcony's wall? I saw alot of flats with windows on the balcony, especially if the balcony is facing the sun. ya i also just install casement windows at my balcony area ..no issue with HDB leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
myworld 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2008 (edited) ya i also just install casement windows at my balcony area ..no issue with HDB leh mine also the hdb dun allow me to install window but only grilles. when rains whole place flooded. my wooden furniture all spoilt. the only way to block out some rain is to put up venetian blind. hdb said due to some building structure which is not safe for fire escape. Edited November 18, 2008 by myworld Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Art Ching 0 Report post Posted December 2, 2008 lol how not safe. you mean u jump out of window? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
X.H.LI 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2008 maybe it hinder the rescue process by the firemen.... anyway, cannot build on the balcony wall den do something to block in front of the balcony grills, and not on top of the grills? will waste some space thou if still scare the water will flow into the house, do a curb? like that will approve or not? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
forkie 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 Hmmm you sure HDB disallow enclosed of balcony ? I had just bought a flat with a weird balcony with no roofing. Not really a fan of a open balcony since rubbish and rain will keep landing on the balcony. Worst is prone of burglary ! So i checked with various IDs and contractors on the possibilty of roofing up the balcony and add windows as well. Most reply that is possible but subjected to HDB approval. Best is to check out neighbouring blks with same structure and see if any1 do it. Thats wad i did. Found an owner who did roofing and have a chat with her. She confirmed she got approval from HDB and so i took some pictures to support my claim. Ask my ID to apply for the approval and confirmed HDB will approve of my request. Picture Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wonderlee 1 Report post Posted May 21, 2010 Saw Condo balcony with glass, so nice N beautiful. Wonder can EM balcony do the same? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites