gaiusparx

Unbelievable Experience Getting Doors

Bought a resale hdb recently. I think I might not be able to replace doors to the 3 bedrooms and main door. Some unknown force is preventing me to do so.

Vendor 1: this one advertise every sat on newspaper, the ad is larger than most others with two handphone numbers listed with ladies name. I called up 2 days before to arrange appointment at my flat for door selection, I asked between 12noon to 1pm. The lady said they need 2 hour, so the appointment is from 12noon to 2pm. That day morning, the lady called up to remind me of the appointment, how professional I thought.

After 2pm no one turn up. I thought they might be delayed. Then at about 2.30pm I called this lady. She said "my man never turn up meh?" and then said will call back soon. But then 20 mins past already there is no call from her. I called her again, and her reply is "Can I arrange my man to come down at 4.30pm?"

Vendor 2: this vendor also advertise in newspaper, always put the address "Geylang" in the ad and his wife must be queen of doors. Anyway the arrangement is to meet 3.30pm. When no one turn up at 3.30pm, I called, and the reason given is my name and contact is not in the schedule list, and asked me to wait for 1 hour as they are now at Jurong area.

Vendor 3: Frustrated, I looked at this forum for some door vendor, and looked at one with a nice website that listed nicely the showroom map at Changi Road and opening hour daily till 8pm. So I made an effort to visit the showroom just now about 4pm, thought to myself that there can never be no-show if I visit showroom. So I spent about 45mins to travel there, by bus! And when I reached the showroom, there are doors and + but no one around. So I called them thinking the guy might be out for some pee time. The guy answering is located at the other showroom at Liang Court (which is not mentioned on their website) and said will call back shortly. So I have to waste 15 more mins of my time, no one call me, I have to call to find out that the guy will be back only one hour later. And he even dare to ask me to wait one hour for him.

I am not fussy about door and will buy from any of them upon meeting. Is business too good for these people? I felt so helpless and so bullied especially by the first one.

wah..that's really unbelivable. hehe.. actually its the type of situation which you dunno wanna cry or laugh. but good that you can wave it off with some humour still :P

i remember seeing someone here mentioned there are some doors seller at bukit timah shopping center/plaza too i think,but i not very sure the exact address. since you are in the west side can check that area out. have some curtain shops/ID shops there too so can walk around while hunting down the door shop ba.. :P

Guest our-home

I'm one of them!

Got them to change my 2 bathroom doors, lever locksets for 3 bedroom doors & yard door.

Also got some simple carpentry done by them: wooden tabletop + glasstop for study room and another glasstop as my daughter's study desk.

Then we bought Ikea table legs and DIYed ...

Will post pics in my reno t-blog when stuff cleared from tabletops ... we just moved on Oct 17th.

Speak to Sally, she'll be able to give you quotes over the phone. Want to know more about their door designs, go to their office at Toa Payoh.

She's still working on their website.

Prompt, friendly service, competitive quotes (no GST) and good follow-up - that's what we experienced.

Good luck.

PM me if any of you wants to do doors and door frames.

I get my stuff from a factory in the west. We are a company and thus we're able to get it at a good price for you. Price will include delivery and installation.

Hi can try Best Industrial. I think they are at Kaki Bukit just in front of the foreigner dorm... very prominent... can just drop by if u free to see see look look.

Look for Jocie say Mr Teo Bishan recommend... :drunk:

I'm one of them!

Got them to change my 2 bathroom doors, lever locksets for 3 bedroom doors & yard door.

Also got some simple carpentry done by them: wooden tabletop + glasstop for study room and another glasstop as my daughter's study desk.

Then we bought Ikea table legs and DIYed ...

Will post pics in my reno t-blog when stuff cleared from tabletops ... we just moved on Oct 17th.

Speak to Sally, she'll be able to give you quotes over the phone. Want to know more about their door designs, go to their office at Toa Payoh.

She's still working on their website.

Prompt, friendly service, competitive quotes (no GST) and good follow-up - that's what we experienced.

Good luck.

Yes... I agree with our_home, served by Sally... and not only friendly, patience, also give discount one!!(Even when I jus buy a entrance door + 2 step-stoppers)

All their quote includes door+delivery+installation

If I ever change doors again... I will definitely go down to them again.

same with my bad experience to buy basin from bathrom sg.

They promise me will delivery the basin to me within 4 weeks. End up need wait 6 weeks. And then remind me 5-6pm will reach to my house. when 6pm i ask them status then they told me 'we are at ur block unit already.'End up wait till 6:50pm..........

Try this company. Someone in this forum used them & gave good comments.

Good Wood Doors & Joinery Works

Blk 6 Toa Payoh Ind Pk #01-1305

Tel : 6352 2768

This is the hyperlink:

http://www.bishantown.com/services_toapayoh.htm#carpentry

I will give them a call when I have $$ to change my bedroom doors :P

Good wood doors are ok with their door but NOT renovation! The designer is sally brother, cannot make it! Beware kena chopped and worst lousy job. Sally is fine, she will be nice to give u intro on door.. NEVER go to them for renovation!

PM me if any of you wants to do doors and door frames.

I get my stuff from a factory in the west. We are a company and thus we're able to get it at a good price for you. Price will include delivery and installation.

Do you do window grilles as well?