oogachaga 2 Report post Posted October 17, 2008 (edited) Hello everybody, I will chronicle my "journey" here, and hopefully it may help you in your upcoming renovation I will upload my photos, with descriptions added, to the link below, and have created a main album, Renovation Sep 2008, with sub albums in chronological order eg Before reno, Day 1, etc… for easy reference. Here’s the link: http://s437.photobucket.com/albums/qq96/ko...n%20Sep%202008/ Selecting An ID/ Contractor This part is the toughest and the most crucial - so take your time and choose wisely. I spent months searching, and comparing before deciding on one. Here are some pointers: 1. Do your homework, and lots of research here and in other forums eg singaporebrides 2. Get at least a few quotations to compare, and a feel of the market prices 3. Ask for quotation as if you are doing the whole house even if you are not, or give a reasonably high budget….some will not respond if it is not worth their time or of a certain budget. At least you will get a quotation for comparison, and you can always delete the unwanted items if you decide to engage them 4. Do a background check on the company – track record, experience, accreditations, professionalism, trustworthiness, warranty, after sales service, etc 5. Check for feedback from others who have used the firm 6. Itemise all work to be done, and specify type of work and materials, so as to eliminate any hidden costs and disputes 7. Be objective and don’t be swayed by freebies , promos ( promos are forever ongoing ) …all these are factored in somewhere in your quotation already, so do your sums first 8. Don’t rush to sign up on the spot unless you have researched the company thoroughly 9. Not all renovations will proceed smoothly as planned…be prepared for any delay or hiccups along the way True story to share, I did ask an interior designer friend ( expensive to ask to do mine ) for his opinion on a quotation. He told me a matter of factly: “ I am not good at this and can’t help you in this area, but I can check with my contractors, they will know best at costing. I am only good at helping my clients spend their money to beautify their home.” To date, no news from him on this, I reckon probably laughing at my measly budget which he won’t even consider. Another ID Contractor friend declined to do mine as “he is busy doing another project with budget of $150K at Balmoral”. So now you know what IDs are good at… they also pick and choose clients too , and dont expect them to help you save money I have done my share of emailing, calling, visiting the recommended, popular firms in this forum…some responded with quotations, some didn’t even reply , some are really pricey, some appear cheap but left out some items unquoted, some with high quotes on certain items and cheap on others, etc In the end, I engaged Henry Goh from Impress21 because: 1. Reasonable quotation 2. Prompt response 3. 15 years’ experience, HDB licensed, RADAC member, workmanship warranty 4. Genuine track record – googled and found postings going back a few years ; 5. Good workmanship on the flat he was working on 6. Reliability and responsibility – from forumers’ feedback …positive and negative but mostly good comments. One need to weigh the good and the bad comments, and filter the real from the fakes, and decide 7. Rapport 8. Gut feeling My Renovation Requirements It’s an 8 year old apartment in its original state ….very dated interiors but otherwise well kept and in good condition. After much deliberation and “pocket digging”, I decided to do the “necessary ones” to work within my measly budget and hopefully still can achieve the look My renovation is more like a budget makeover, not a whole house renovation, with a budget of $20K for renovation and furnishings. 1. Kitchen complete makeover 2. Yard and its toilet 3. Replace some doors – kitchen , common and yard toilet 4. All other doors and frames to be painted white instead of replacement 5. Replace all WCs and basins, and bath accessories 6. Replace switches 7. New lightings 8. Marble polishing 9. Painting for yard 10. Mirror wall for dining area Edited April 29, 2009 by oogachaga Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted October 17, 2008 (edited) Yay!! First to spam chop! Congrates on ur new place! Hope to see more pics. Hee... true true.. when IDs hear the budget, they'll "disappear" and dun reply.. hehehe... oh well... i guess that's life. Glad to hear that you've found one that u r comfy with to do up ur place. Ur place looks big! Esp the toilet! Hehe.. very nice white kitchen. Edited October 17, 2008 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jessie 0 Report post Posted October 17, 2008 congrats! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
oogachaga 2 Report post Posted October 17, 2008 (edited) After some negotiations, I finally signed up with him, and placed a deposit of $1K. Was a bit apprehensive, because there was no proper contract to sign, but Henry reassured me his clients have no problems so far and he will try his best to make good. ( Can readers who have renovated share if they have signed any form of contract ala RADAC kind ? ) Gave me a 3D perspective drawing of the kitchen, unfortunately, no 3D computer generated ones , and the final quotation cum "contract" below PROFESSIONAL SERVICES -DESIGN CONSULTATION ,FURNITURE LAYOUT PLAN & MASTERIAL PROPOSAL -3D PERSPECTIVE DRAWING ,PROJECT CONSULTATION & MANAGEMENT -ON SITE SUPERVISION BY QUALIFIED PERSONNEL -3YEAR WORKMANSHIP WARRANTY LIVING/DINING HALLS KIV-GRINDING AND POLISHING OF EXISTING MARBLE (include patching of crack line) -TO HACK AND PATCH SPRAWLING CONCRETE AT PASSAGEWAY(include patch master room window bay, exclude painting) BEDROOMS ---cancelled---SUPPLY/INSTALL LAMINATED LEDGES FOR WINDOW BAY AT 3 BEDROOMS (LESS $120) -REMOVAL OF LOCK SET FOR EXISTING DOOR AT 3 BEDROOMS KITCHEN, YARD AND UTILITY -SUPPLY/CONSTRUCT CERAMIC/HOMOGENEOUS FLOOR TILES FOR KITCHEN AND YARD(<$3 PSF) -WATERPROOFING FOR KITCHEN AND YARD TO BE CARRIED (2 LAYERS) -PLASTERING OVER EXISTING FULL HEIGHT WALL TILES FOR KITCHEN (INCLUDE DO TILES SKIRTING & PAINTING ) -CONSTRUCTION OF (DISCOUNTED $100 WITHOUT FRIDGE) CABINET BASE -TO RUN PVC OUTLET PIPING FOR DISHWASHER AND SINK -SUPPLY/INSTALL SOILD LAMINATED KITCHEN CABINET (TOP/BOTTOM=30FTS)(INCLUDE STAINLESS STEEL DISHRACK ,2 GLASS PANELS ,DESIGN HANDLES AND CUTLERY TRAY) INCLUDE CABINET FOR DISHRACK, CHOICE OF LAMITAK OR EDL @ $100PFR -SUPPLY/INSTALL SOLID SURFACE TOP FOR KITCHEN CABINET (19FTS @ $95PFR) LG HI MACS ARCTIC WHITE(INCLUDED GST) -SUPPLY/INSTALL 2 NOS. ALUMINIUM FRAME WITH FROSTED GLASS FOR KITCHEN CABINET -SUPPLY LABOUR TO INSTALL COOKER HOOD, HOB ,OVEN ,SINK & TAP & DISH WASHER -LABOUR TO INSTALL BLUM cancelled------------------REPLACEMENT OF NEW PIPING FOR KITCHEN (IF NOT AFFECTED) -SUPPLY/INSTALL 1 NO.TOP HUNG TEMPERED FRAMELESS SLIDING GLASS DOOR AT KITCHEN ENTRANCE(10MM) -SUPPLY/INSTALL STAINLESS STEEL/TEMPERED GLASS BACKING ON LONG WALL (BOTH SAME PRICE)TEMPERED -SUPPLY/INSTALL GLASS BACKING TO HEIGHT BEHIND SINK -TO DISMANTLE AND DISPOSE EXISTING KITCHEN CABINET -DEMOLITION OF EXISTING TIMBER DOOR FRAMES AND MAKE GOOD FOR KITCHEN AND YARD -ELECTRICAL: 1 OVEN PT, EXTEND 1 INDUCTION 15A PT, 1 HOOD/HOB PTS,REINSTALL EXISTING POWER PTS SUPPLY/INSTALL 2 NOS. T5 LIGHTS (INCLUDE LAY WIRES) TOILETS cancelled---------------MASTER TOILET: SUPPLY/INSTALL SOLID LAMINATED CABINET ABOVE VANITY C/W MIRROR DOOR LABOUR TO INSTALL BASINS, TAPS AND WC FOR ALL 3 TOILETS (PURCHASE BY OWNER) cancelled------------------COMMON TOILET: SUPPLY/INSTALL 1 NO. OF ALUMNIUM/ARCYLIC BI-FOLD DOOR FOR ENTRANCE YARD SUPPLY/CONSTRUCT CERAMIC/HOMOGENEOUS FLOOR TILES FOR YARD TOILET(<$3 PSF) SUPPLY LABOUR TO INSTALL 1 NO. TOILET BOWL AND 1 NO. BASIN (PURCHASE BY OWNER) cancelled----------------SUPPLY/INSTALL 1 NO. OF ALUMNIUM/ARCYLIC BI-FOLD DOOR FOR ENTRANCE WATERPROOFING TO BE CARRIED OUT WHOLE HOUSE AND GENERAL -DEBRIS REMOVAL & HACKING OF FLOOR TILES & --cancelled--WALL TILES AS PROPOSED (FOC FOR YARD TOILET) -HAULAGE OF SAND AND MATERIALS TO BE CARRIED OUT (FOC FOR YARD TOILET)LESS $40 -WHOLE HOUSE GENERAL CLEANING AND WASHING (ACID WASH FOR NEW TILES) -PAINTING(WHITE) OF 6 SETS OF EXISTING DOORS/FRAMES AND MASTER TOILET VANITY DOORS(NOT TO REMOVE) -SUPPLY LABOUR TO REMOVE AND REPLACE WHOLE HOUSE SWITCHES(NOT POWER SOCKETS) PROVIDED BY OWNER Terms of payment : 1st payment 10% (deposit) 2nd payment 30% (start works) 3rd payment 50% ( complete wet works or start of carpentry ) 4th payment 10% ( full completion ) Quotation came to slightly above $13K Note: Originally wanted to hack the walls as well, but decided to hack floor only in kitchen, yard and toilet, as wall tiles are still sound and in good condition...nothing hollow, as examined by Henry. Plastering the wall instead of hacking or overlay because a. Wall tiles are in good condition, and will provide a good foundation for the plastering b. Less headache ( don’t have to choose tiles, worry about waterproofing ) and mess c. Cost savings of almost $1K d. Nice, smooth and clean look – no grouting e. Easy maintenance – just wipe and clean, or paint over f. Can easily change colour scheme by painting Ok..heres my new kitchen after editing myself. I have given a lot of thought to the planning and design of my kitchen, and hence gave specifics including the dimensions of the cabinet eg size of the cavity for the dishwasher, height of the kitchen countertop, space between countertop and base of top cabinet, 2 deep drawers and 1 shallow for cutlery, appliances dimensions and positioning, etc... Alas, even with my careful planning and detailed specifications for the kitchen, something unexpected happened...... --to be continued-- Edited October 18, 2008 by oogachaga Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahockz 1 Report post Posted October 17, 2008 (edited) 3rd one to spam :) Edited October 17, 2008 by ahockz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mrs Dantes 0 Report post Posted October 17, 2008 Spam Chop!!! Got floor plan to show? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted October 17, 2008 Wah.. The drawing of ur kitchen nice leh! Very detailed, even got smoke coming out of the pot. hehehe.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2008 huh. despite your careful planning something happened? What happened?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
oogachaga 2 Report post Posted October 18, 2008 Hi all...welcome to my blog,.. Jessie, Angel81, ahockz, Mrs Dante, pinkpetter Its a sneak peek to my new kitchen...I took closeup shots of the tiling in the yard and carpentry so one can judge the quality/workmanship. The rest of the floor covered by cardboard paper. So far I am pleased with the work...but better reserve my judgment until its completed, and handed over. Smoke is drawn by Henry, I just did simple line editing la pinkpetter....will mention in due time Heres my floor plan area 140sqm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted October 18, 2008 spam chop very interesting layout doesn't look like a hdb flat it's a private apartment? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
junxian 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2008 if its HDB.. then its a rare one.... mbr with WIW section and bathtub 0.0 .. also bay windows... really look like private housing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2008 (edited) congrats think quite reasonable quotation actually and nice layout! furnishings any purchases yet? Edited October 18, 2008 by SmartFool Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2008 mmm really dun look like HDB. even the floorplan document dun look like. heh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
oogachaga 2 Report post Posted October 19, 2008 (edited) Hi all...sorry to keep you all wondering..its a condo (pai say) Yes..did some shopping already. Ok..must continue my diary... Edited October 19, 2008 by oogachaga Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted October 19, 2008 YAY for once i guess correct. no wonder look like marble... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites