m3wrx 0 Report post Posted October 14, 2008 spam chop think got a fellow renotalker with the same layout as you is your's an EA as well? Yes it's an Executive Apartment. The place is big but rooms are quite small *sigh* Hey hi neighbour, your block looks like it's near mine. This is Segar Road? Did you get it from HDB or via open market? We almost got a unit at your block but chose the green blocks in the end. I am currently going thru HDB rectification to change the tiles. Our actual reno will most probably starts in mid November after the HDB Contractor fix our defect list. Hear from you soon. Perhaps we can exchange some notes since we are all under the same town council Hi Hi Neighbour..Yeah husband and I got it from HDB and it's been around for 6 years liow. We haven't really check the tiles and all...looks alright to me though hahahaha. Spam Chop!! Love those windows!! Hahaha...My mother in-law fell in love with the windows too. It's full lenght for the whole house including the rooms. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ilmare612 0 Report post Posted October 14, 2008 (edited) Hey, you have to check hor? Otherwise, the tiles pop out while you are staying then you will cry Here's an extract from my blog, I lazy to type...so I copy and paste here for you bah. Hope it will help you. I learnt it from the forummers too. We have very nice HDB Town Councils at Bukit Panjang...so that will help too. "There are no flawless homes. After all the dash and rush, SN and I managed to work out our defect list to submit to the HDB Branch Office. For fear of miscommunication, besides sticking a post-it note on the defect spot, we indicate where the defects are and what defects they are, on our floor plan. Here's what we did to inspect our pad. 1. Tiles For Premium flats, there are already tiles laid. As we bought a resale, so we had to check all the tiles. SN knocked each of the tile with coins and a metal stick to hear-out for hollow tiles. The sound is very obvious if it is hollow. The crack tiles are also not spared. We made a mark on them too. 2. Doors & Windows I checked on all the doors and windows...if it is easy to close and open, whether the hinges are secure properly, any missing screws, check the closure, the knobs, check the door/window for any cracks, if there are chips on the shower screens, etc. 3. Walls For walls, we checked for cracks and holes. What we missed checking was the levelling of our floor. We are suppose to pour water on the floor to see if it will flow very fast downwards. This test should be done for our kitchen and toilet. If there are no gradient in the toilet, it means the water might not flow fast enough to the floor trap and might result in 'flood' next time we bath. Arggg...how can we missed that out?? You reckon we can still do that after they attended to our defect? Iskandar from the Branch Office was so impressed when he saw the defect list floor plan we gave him, that he said his job will be a lot easier if everyone does the same like us. hehehe. You know what? When we wanted to show him physically where the defect tiles are, he told us it's ok. As long as there's one scratch on the tile, all will be changed as that particular tile has been dis-continued. Yahooooooooo! Besides submitting our defect list, we also made a "WISH-LIST" for the Branch Office via Iskandar. To our surprise, they were all answered WISH LIST 1. To rectify all defects as indicated on the floor plan. 2. Re-tile the wall tiles in both bathrooms and the kitchen. 3. For the replacement of tiles, it will be good if we can choose the type of tiles we want. 4. Replace new shower screen after re-tile work. 5. Replace new Toilet Bowl in both Toilets. 6. Assist to remove both Toilet’s Basins. 7. Assist to remove both Toilet’s Doors and Door Frames? 8. Assist to hack the wall between Master Bedroom and Bedroom 2 BEFORE re-tiling of floor tiles?...this we have to pay the contractor. Fair enough, fair enough. Can't complain much Edited October 14, 2008 by ilmare612 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 Yes it's an Executive Apartment. The place is big but rooms are quite small *sigh* same like mine, living / dining big but rooms small better this way for me coz whole family can gather **** Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fitness 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 The balcony is unique, hidden on corner. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
night 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 Hahaha...My mother in-law fell in love with the windows too. It's full lenght for the whole house including the rooms. wah! envy!!! wish my rooms have those windows too.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest blushwax Report post Posted October 15, 2008 Congrats on your new home! Almost bought a place with the same layout but chose EA at the green blocks in the end. Love the full length windows throughout the house.......but too lazy to maintain so many windows. Hehe. Like what ilmare612 mentioned, Iskandar is a very nice guy. We put in request to change floor tiles. We were lucky cos we didn't have any cracks on walls or damaged tiles. Was quite surprised cos we couldn't find any defect on all tiles in toilet and kitchen. And then two months later put in a request for HDB to plaster the ceiling (super uneven). He agreed without hesitation after taking a look. So happy I dun have to fork out extra money. You should check thoroughly and list down all the defects. Hopefully, HDB will fix it at no cost. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 congrats!! u guys got it for 6 years? so it was rented out> Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ilmare612 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2008 congrats!! u guys got it for 6 years? so it was rented out> Yo SmartFool, not sure where you pick-up that 6 years thingy from but what I meant is that block could be about 4-6 years old. But it may not imply that the unit has been stayed for or bought for 6 years. Many possibilities... 1. Owner bought when it was developed, stayed and resell to the open market 2. Owner bought when it was developed, cannot finance the unit any more. HDB reposses the flat and sell it to the public again. 3. Owner bought when it was developed, had illegal activities within. HDB reposses flat. 4. Owner bought when it was developed, waiting to marry and move-in, but split before doing that. 5. Unit was left vacant since day 1 because of racial quota 6. Unit was left vacant since day 1 because there is just no takers. 7. etc, etc, etc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2008 oh ok apologies for being so kpo what i caught on was because my camp mate and his wife bought a plc in Pasir Ris, also 6 years and rented out meanwhile they stayed in their parents place hee Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ilmare612 0 Report post Posted October 17, 2008 oh ok apologies for being so kpo what i caught on was because my camp mate and his wife bought a plc in Pasir Ris, also 6 years and rented out meanwhile they stayed in their parents place hee No lah, not kpo lah. Most ppl in reno forum are here to kpo one mah. Definition of kpo = gain knowledge From the look of AJ's home, it looks like it has never been stayed on before. I may be wrong thou... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
m3wrx 0 Report post Posted October 20, 2008 Some Drawings from the ID Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
m3wrx 0 Report post Posted November 24, 2008 Bought The Simple Human Trash Bin. Original Price was about $168, after discount was $134. Good Bargain. Must Buy.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
m3wrx 0 Report post Posted November 24, 2008 (edited) So Happy that we've finally found our ID. Should start work soon after four months of doing homework. Bought 2 rain shower last week from Hansgrohe. 20% offer was a good bargain Edited November 24, 2008 by m3wrx Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted November 24, 2008 Yay congratulations!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
m3wrx 0 Report post Posted November 24, 2008 (edited) Yay congratulations!! THANKS...Can't wait till they really start hacking and all hehehehe Edited November 24, 2008 by m3wrx Share this post Link to post Share on other sites