Amberfish 0 Report post Posted October 11, 2008 Hello everyone, I am new to the forum and would like to seek advise from you guys. Hubs and me just sold off our 3 room flat in the West and we want to upgrade to a bigger flat. We've been looking around some EMs and there's this unit that sorta somewhat is to our budget. The only problem is that its on the 2nd floor. Having been staying on the 10th floor for the past 10 years where its bright and breezy, hubs and me don't know if we can adapt. Hubs is concerned that being on the lower floor, the kitchen window area is too near the trash collection area at the foot of the block and that would pose unpleasant smells and pests eg. cockroaches etc into the flat. Anyone staying on lower floors that can give us some sound advice? ~Decisions! Decisions!~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hello88 2 Report post Posted October 11, 2008 Hello everyone, I am new to the forum and would like to seek advise from you guys. Hubs and me just sold off our 3 room flat in the West and we want to upgrade to a bigger flat. We've been looking around some EMs and there's this unit that sorta somewhat is to our budget. The only problem is that its on the 2nd floor. Having been staying on the 10th floor for the past 10 years where its bright and breezy, hubs and me don't know if we can adapt. Hubs is concerned that being on the lower floor, the kitchen window area is too near the trash collection area at the foot of the block and that would pose unpleasant smells and pests eg. cockroaches etc into the flat. Anyone staying on lower floors that can give us some sound advice? ~Decisions! Decisions!~ if u're having 2nd thoughts and worries abt staying 2nd floor then continue to look around. I'm sure u'll be able to find another EM that both of u like. There are low floor lovers but if u have never been a low floor lover then its pretty difficult to change over time. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
AlphaLost 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2008 Hi There, just to share a personal experience.. I used to stay on the 19th floor.. Used to be v windy and u get to have a good overlooking view of the neighbourhood.. After a while, more flats just keep rising and in the end u are just starin at another unit eventually, we moved to a unit on the 3rd floor.. we find it pleasantlt better.. get to hear happy kids playin, birds chirping, elderly chatting.. was a more cozy atmosphere and was definitely a step into the right direction Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jessie 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2008 hi there, my parents stays on 8th flr, my in-laws stays on 12th flr, and i used to stay on the 15th flr! IT'S NICE & BRIGHT AND BREEZY! but, now i moved to my EM on the 4th flr.....and so far, i only stayed in my EM for abt 1week+....and it's pleasantly & perfectly nice leh! we got no regret on buying this 4th flr unit... just my personal experience to share... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted October 13, 2008 Hi Amberfish! Which area are u looking at? JE or JW? Well, it's really up to you. My hb and I were searching for an EM previously, and we saw one on 2nd flr that kinda fits our requirements. But I don't like low floors, and we did nt get it in the end. After awhile, we found our ideal unit elsewhere. I also asked around whether 2nd flr is good anot. A fren (who stays on 3rd flr) told me that there seems to be more dust, mosquitoes and other crawlies. Yet another fren said that she can't wait to sell her 2nd flr unit and vowed never to get low floors. However, there are frens and forum frens who said that it's very good, citing reasons like not needing to wait for lifts, easy to run for buses, cool and breezy etc. A fren told me that when she drops clothes fr her bamboo poles, it's very easy to go down and retrieve it. There are some people who say that as long as ur house is clean, there won't be more than usual creepy crawlies. What I'm trying to say is that u'll be staying at this place for quite awhile. If you can't accept 2nd flr units (like mi ) then don't force urself. U may just be a house viewing away from ur dream home. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jessie 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2008 yes, i do agree with Angel. it's really up to individual,.....and you must really ask yourself on these few questions b4 commit to it lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Byr 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 Hi 'Amberfish', I stayed on #4 for almost 8 years n of course now i have "engineered" n is moving on to a #10 EM. have not stay yet so my below comments are only restrictive to some extent. My 2 sided takes are such: Low Floor: u prob know n understand tt e fact sometimes a low flr unit may seems financially less costier is tt lower flrs units are usually harder to re-sell... not that its valuation is low... of course. But they tends to be comparatively lower than higher flr with the difference being its COV. In good times, COV will usually b way higher than Valuation for higher unit while in bad times, the price tends to linger closer to the valuation for most situation. 1 of the possible reason is that buyers tends to consider in general the higher unit first thus for lower units, the sellers has to/ tends to price themselves down in order to compete wit the other sellers of higher units... Take the above points as an additional consideration in the financial terms and remember they work both ways... when u are a buyer and also when u are the seller... the market forces is relative in goov or bad times. Also for low units, they tends to b darker or less windy esp blocked... You need to check and compare.. do your homework n accept well informed of its pros & cons. Remember some high units also kena block n are dark or "windless"... High Floor: Tends to be more costier and often ridiculously higher... Need to work your maths in this case. For good units, many buyers sure fight it out one... Many units, the higher u are, the more likely are subjected to east or west sun due to the many factors especially due to the block's configurations. This can be good or bad. It can be especially bad for some directly facing West as they can be so extremely warm in these units... imagine from Noon 12pm till 6pm, your unit may be pratically be baking to welcome you in the evening when u go home for your night rest... May not be a good experience in such instances. thereagain i have known some people who enjoy such setup... hahaha... Or in some cases, invent innovative ways to shield or reduce such problems... But buyers generally take the heat negatively.... So much for my 2 cents worth of thoughts.... evaluate the options carefully n consider in details... afterall its about your expectation n what you can accept and are looking for.... Byron Share this post Link to post Share on other sites