summerholiday 2 Report post Posted October 9, 2008 hi all, i need to buy a dryer.. but no idea at all.. never used one.. pls advise n reccomend some for reference.. if can include price cos i need to save up money for tat.. thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Native02 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2008 hi all, i need to buy a dryer.. but no idea at all.. never used one.. pls advise n reccomend some for reference.. if can include price cos i need to save up money for tat.. thanks We bought a bundle (water heater + clothes dryer) from CityGas @ $730. Haven't used cuz house is under renovation. Hee ... but heard it's cost saving in long term. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
summerholiday 2 Report post Posted October 12, 2008 any idea if i jus need a dryer.. cos i alred got a washer.. left one dryer which i hope can get by this yr end Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aprilshower 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2008 It is really a matter of choice whether to buy a dryer or not. A dryer is useful if you have a lot of laundry and limited airing space in the house. It is good for drying cotton bedsheets and towels especially during the rainy season. But hey, the sun always comes out. You must know that you cannot tumble dry most of your clothing (check your washing labels on clothing) - the elastic bands spoils quickly, some clothes shrink and every piece of laundry actually "thins" out. You'll get this fluff collected at the front of the door. You'll have to sort your laundry, so you may end up not having much to be tumble dried. I use the Electrolux with a stacking kit (total $630) over the washer. Here in Singapore, over one year, used it less than 20 times or maybe 10, mostly for sheets and towels. SUNSHINE IS FREE. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porkypig 0 Report post Posted October 14, 2008 ya.. sunlight is free and the best..But you can consider Fisher & Paykel ED56..shld be ard $600. This dryer has auto sensor to turn off when clothes are almost dry. Filter is removal for easy cleaning. And is the one and only dryer to have this function as claimed by electrical shop boss. But i have not get a dryer yet.. under KIV... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
summerholiday 2 Report post Posted October 14, 2008 ya sushine is free.. but i don wake up early cos both me n my hubby work long retail hours.. usu wash clothes at night.. but my good neighbour staying 3 floor above me wash clothes at night too.. at drip water at night too.. haiz.. so we don hang clothes out. so we jus hang up for 2 days before we bring down.. but there's a smell..n my hubby so lousy in hanging clothes got one of his t-shirt got those black spots.. so we are thinkin of the dryer for us to dry our clothes n hang for air.. at least clothes don smell.. and rainy days comin soon.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ilmare612 0 Report post Posted October 14, 2008 hi all, i need to buy a dryer.. but no idea at all.. never used one.. pls advise n reccomend some for reference.. if can include price cos i need to save up money for tat.. thanks When it's hard to make a decision...go for the City Gas dryer. One people, one nation, one government. haha I bought my bundle set a couple of months back but have not moved in yet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fitness 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 Anybody know if the dryer from city gas is using gas or electricity? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 well it's from city GAS mah it uses gas lah i've been using an electrical dryer for the past ten years must say it makes my life so much more convenient dump everything in to the dryer, regardless of what the label says but that's me you see, so it's really up to individuals so far my clothes survived my torment :lol: am considering to switch to the gas dryer when my current dryer 'die' on me second one, first one lasted about six years and a shift btw, i'm a thomson/brandt fan so washer / dryer from this brand Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
summerholiday 2 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 how to used gas when my is LPG.. not government gas? ? "o" any difference? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LittleDevil 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 hihi, i recommend Bosch dryer. It has a moisture sensor so will stop once the clothes are dried. The clothes also come out fluffy and not crumpled. The filter can easily be removed as well. I usually wash my clothes in the night time and hang them indoor. Will remove from the rack if they are dried when I return home from work next evening. If it is still not completely dried, I will throw them into the dryer. It normally will take less than 10 mins. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
summerholiday 2 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 how much u pay for urs? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porkypig 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 i've been using an electrical dryer for the past ten years must say it makes my life so much more convenient dump everything in to the dryer, regardless of what the label says but that's me you see, so it's really up to individuals so far my clothes survived my torment :lol: am considering to switch to the gas dryer when my current dryer 'die' on me second one, first one lasted about six years and a shift but you have to bear with those ugly gas piping running here and there lor.. unless you are planning to overhaul your kitch again?? Plus gas dryer must be preferably near the window in order for the hot air to escape.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hello88 2 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 (edited) I'm using fisher and paykel ED 56 dryer. So far so good. Never thought of going for citygas dryer when I was planning to get a dryer, anyway my area dun have govt gas. My friend also using electric dryer though her area got city gas. I bought my dryer from Goh Ah Bee which was cheaper compared to courts, harvey norman or Best Denki. Got them to install it upside down (think its the only one in the market that's possible) cos I'm using a top load washer Edited October 15, 2008 by hello88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porkypig 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2008 I'm using fisher and paykel ED 56 dryer. So far so good. Never thought of going for citygas dryer when I was planning to get a dryer, anyway my area dun have govt gas. My friend also using electric dryer though her area got city gas. I bought my dryer from Goh Ah Bee which was cheaper compared to courts, harvey norman or Best Denki. Got them to install it upside down (think its the only one in the market that's possible) cos I'm using a top load washer how much you got it from Goh Ah Bee?? I was quoted $600 by my usual electrical shop... Pondering to get it.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites