Pseudo

Advice For Homeowners

Hi people,

I'm a interior/styling designer. I've come to hear about this webby from my client this afternoon. Frankly, I was very curious about it and decide to see what is it about.

Frankly after looking through some of them, i realise some are actually contractors & designers who pose as owners. frankly, I don't think its very ethical.

So, I hope that i can help advice people here with no obligations.

Hi Pseudo...

Been reading your post on advise for homeowners. Was wondering if you could advise me regarding cement screed.

I wish to cement screed the entire house floor , except the 2 bathrooms.

I basically want an Industrial look.

Do you have any recomendations for a contractor who can do a good job in cement scredding + application of epoxy coating ?

How much would it cost , I understand cement screeding is normally FOC and it's ard $400 for the epoxy coating. So how much is the total estimate including labour ?

Thks for your time~

Hi khet13 & de_Pierre,

Sorry to make use of your question on sink & concrete support.

Because I am a "chopper" (Family likes to eat crabs la), I think concrete support will be able to stand the impact when I kill the crabs as compared to wood. :unsure: True anot?

At the same time, I am doing suspended cabinets, so my contractor told me concrete support can hide the side support by doing partial side support onli. She'll use tiles around the sink area and grantie for the rest of the kitchen top.

I am a lazy person (washing area always wet, so can onli use tiles and grantie I guess). However, if I am already using grantie, should I still spend more on building the concrete support? :dunno:

Really appreciate your advice.

Thank you.

Definately concrete is better than wood lor (in sense of withstand impact)

But how can u have the suspended design for ur cabinets together wif concrete support? (when the concrete support needs to be constructed from floor to worktop)

Its not tad practical to do suspended kitchen cabinets for hsehold who does daily cooking... If u wanna have better looks, then u will have to do the choppings on the floor liao... Dun waste to construct the partial support as it is not properly + originally constructed...

I believe ur concrete base is meant to support ur suspended cabinets, won't be able to support ur concrete slab(worktop). If u're ain't doing side wall support for tad slab top, it'll look frimsy. If u're not a heavy cooker, granite top wif cabinets should be enuf for u...

Thanks de_Pierre.

So I guess unless I have side wall support for the slab top, I have to make do with grantie top and save the $$. But dunnoe why contractor say can. Haiz :dunno:

Well have to check with her again. Or else really just do chopping on the floor then. :(

Its quite more to logic lor... So wad if u got the concrete slab when there's ain't gd support from the floor directly... Is ur cabinet able to hold the weight of the slab + granite top? Some more u're doing suspended 1s... Wonder how long can ur cabinet last if being done tad way...

I would like to ask about aircon installation.

Currently, i have a system 3 aircon for my 3 bedrooms, but now I am thinking of installing aircon in my living and dinning room. Do I have to totally change it to a system 4 or can I jus add another separate compressor for my living and dinning room. Mine is a 5 room flat.

Pls advise.

You definitely need another compressor.

Your current sys 3 is only cater for 3 units..

Living room has a much bigger floor area and therefore need a bigger BTU..inorder to cool down the area. If a smaller unit is used, your compressor will be working double hard to cool down the area and in turn incurred higher utilities bill.

Im not sure of your current compressor BTU rating.

there is a possibility of sacrificing a room unit for your living room unit.

You need to check with the electrician or a/c man...can you add another compressor..I am not sure is it against HDB law or not..