Pseudo

Advice For Homeowners

Backsplash is the upturn at the backing on the worktop surface, against the wall,..

The story goes.....

This backsplash design is introduced during the late 80's.

Before tad, ppl used angular PVC capping to cover the ugly back joinings of table top at kichen cabinets. (At then, work top is flat w/o any profiles) Tis PVC tends to peel off, deformed due to intense heat near cooking area, water can sip through the joints, too many cons...

One fine day, a smart engineer came out wif an idea... "Y not combine these 2 items?"

Haha, new product is invented... Work top with backslash using postforming method!

Tis product is design in the way to cover up the ugly joinings between worktop n wall, n also to prevent water from sipping through the gaps...

We, the end users, use this 'design' happily ever after...

(Nice short story?)

*Hope my story have ans ur QN ar....

wow by reading this thread i seriously learn alot here even better then taking stupid cos

Keep it going pal :yamseng:

Hahaha, lmao...

Jus trying to explain in a mischevious way... kekeke (lighten up our day)

Only can learn tis through experiences de...

(B4 hacking ppl's hse, i'll re-view how workers did reno in the early days, n the pros n cons of legendary materials...)

Hahaha, lmao...

Jus trying to explain in a mischevious way... kekeke (lighten up our day)

Only can learn tis through experiences de...

(B4 hacking ppl's hse, i'll re-view how workers did reno in the early days, n the pros n cons of legendary materials...)

Haha good experience for you. Then how come some quotes got put backsplash n some dun have. Never put means dun have? Is there any additional cost with backsplash? Then how abt i saw ppl put frosted glass behind the cooker covering the wall? Is this necessary?

Nowadays, all worktops usually comes wif backsplash de... regardless solid surface, postform or granite worktop etc.... A very common profile n spects for kitchen tops...

No additional cost for backsplash 1... (Bcs its aldy accounted in quotes)

Frosted glass backing is for 'swee' nia... Not practical at all de...

Tis is wad ID's propose lor... "DesignS" :dancingqueen:

Nowadays, all worktops usually comes wif backsplash de... regardless solid surface, postform or granite worktop etc.... A very common profile n spects for kitchen tops...

No additional cost for backsplash 1... (Bcs its aldy accounted in quotes)

Frosted glass backing is for 'swee' nia... Not practical at all de...

Tis is wad ID's propose lor... "DesignS" :dancingqueen:

sorry bro pierre, can i add that adding the glass/stainless steel backsplash also is easier to clean without any grout lines from tiles . Hope you dun mind! :yamseng:

hehe though the backing will reduce grout lines but oil and water can seep into the back, between the backing and the wall, causing oil marks to appear after a few years.

got pros and cons la.

I also putting stainless steel.

hmmm i actually had a very very very bad experience with one of the BIG names in the ID industry. Anyone really keen to know about my bad experience can pm me.

sorry bro pierre, can i add that adding the glass/stainless steel backsplash also is easier to clean without any grout lines from tiles . Hope you dun mind! :yamseng:

Bro, u're stating an advantage of having glass backing ma... Wad u mention is true ma... No hard feelings de...

In fact, no building materials r perfectly design n made to last forever de...

Cant deny abt pros n cons, wear n tear... :dancingqueen:

(Our rice bowl won't break ma.. :notti: )

Hi morgulboy, y not jus place a new topic at Renovation Firms n Services... Y not let every fellow forumers aware of it leh???

Edited by de_Pierre

because if they r nasty they might stand a chance to sue me of slander.

But then again, u r right, i shouldnt be afraid, slander is when u r not stating the facts. So I should post there after all.

Oh pal, dun get the wrong idea here...

Tis is a forum... U can state ur probs, so do us can state our point of views...

Only comments can be found here, but not judgements ma...

Oh pal, dun get the wrong idea here...

Tis is a forum... U can state ur probs, so do us can state our point of views...

Only comments can be found here, but not judgements ma...

Totally agreed with you, i had my fair share in renotalk when giving my comments :(

But some ppl take it personally when we comments on some others ppl pics or works.

Therefore now must be very careful when giving our own view or comments.

Anyway forum is just a way to sources info and share our experiences to others likemind ppl

Keep up the good work de Pierre, you are providing very good details to those ppl that are intending and renovating their house.

Totally agreed with you, i had my fair share in renotalk when giving my comments :(

But some ppl take it personally when we comments on some others ppl pics or works.

Therefore now must be very careful when giving our own view or comments.

Anyway forum is just a way to sources info and share our experiences to others likemind ppl

Keep up the good work de Pierre, you are providing very good details to those ppl that are intending and renovating their house.

Thanks for ur comments! ;)

Small issues, dun mention la...

我为人人,人人为我嘛!

I'm helping myself indirectly also.... :sport-smiley-004:

:sport-smiley-018::sport-smiley-018::sport-smiley-018:

Theres this design show in expo a few months back.

We came across an ID whom for the first time my wife and I both fancied. He persuaded us for about 2.5 hrs. we highlighted our concern why we do not wish to sign on the spot.

1) He could not give us a quotation on the spot

2) He could not show us his port folio

But his speech and design ideas impressed us. And this is what he said to us to convinced us to sign on the spot.

1) just pay $800 to log in the package. You will get to see the prospective drawing. If u simply dont wish to carry on, just forfeit the $800 and take back the drawing. (this line, he denied he said that weeks later. but 4 of us heard that)

2) the package cost about $10 000 includes some of the popular basics construction and a free furniture. (package we did not fancy on)

We then sign the contract without reading through the clauses as he keeps saying n saying dont worry I wont do bad things to you one.

Weeks later the quotation came out at $38k which our budget for our premium flat is only 20-25k! And the drawing was totally disappointing. We hinted to him that we would not wish to continue the contract and ask him what he said at the exhibition was true. He denied paying the $800 allows us to take back the drawing. (we were just testing him as we got NO INTEREST in his drawing).

1 week later the ID came out with another quotation to fit our budget at 25k. To our suprise the 25K drawing turns out to be so much more beautiful that the 38k drawing he proposed! What does that means to us? U THINK WE R CARROT IS IT?

We bring out that we wanted to cancel the contract and noticed that in the clause we need to pay 20% of the agreed total cost. THIS CLAUSE WAS NOT MENTIONED WHEN WE HIGHLIGHTED OUR CONCERN TO THE ID! THE ID MISLEAD US TO SIGN WITH REPEATING RECITING THE "JUST FORFEIT 800 AND TAKE BACK DRAWING IF U DONT LIKE".

We called the director regarding this case. He said for any contract signed, everybody in the right mind knows that u cant get away breaking the contract Scott free!

When I asked him does your Sales people highlight all the important clauses to customers before they sign? He answered he dont know. And added that all companies r alike, that NOBODY WILL HIGHLIGHT the clauses to the company's disadvantage.

He say regarding the ID not mentioning the 20% forfeit clauses, his ID is not at fault, its us who did not read the clauses! And says that its not impossible now for them to get the 20% from us now, but a lot of trouble needs to be put in to get them.

In the end he agreed verbally to let his cancel the contract without the 20%, but the $800 will be forfeited.

IN THE FIRST PLACE IF THE ID MENTIONED ABOUT THE 20% CLAUSE, WE WOULD HAVE TAKE OUR TIME TO DECIDE! TAKE OUR TIME FOR HIM TO QUOTE US! WHO WOULD PAY 38K FOR A PREMIUM FLAT!

BOTTOM LINE. READ ALL CLAUSES BEFORE U SIGN ANY CONTRACT. I KNOW A LOT OF PEOPLE SAY FIND A ID THE WAY YOUR ARE COMFORTABLE WITH HIM. I WOULD SaY FEELING IS NOT ENOUGH!

$800 for a lesson. Its a big cost on lesson. We were stupid to base on trust and feelings. Just because this is the first time both of us r equally impressed by an ID.

THIS COMPANY IS ONE OF THE BIGGEST NAME IN THE INTERIOR DESIGN INDUSTRY. THE NAME IS CENSORED HERE. Anyone interested can pm me for details but i will not entertain all, as I know there r insiders from the very same company that PM me before.

To be frank, most ID practice hard sellings at expo. Create tempting packages for owners. On top of tad, most IDs r furbish wif great sales talkings.

But some isn't knowledgable in construction works, 'unqualified contractors'. 'New birds' in reno firms.

All reno firms can take in any type of ppl to works as IDs, no requirements needed, as trainings provided, a manager will 'look after' them. So long got mouth n urge for earnings, can aldy...

These 'green horns' is fresh to reno markets, therefore have the 'abilities n guts' to do persistant sales. Any company also will have black sheep...

Everything u say, they'll reply no prob, small issues, no worries etc...

But in the end, its all verbal agreements... Wad they wan is to make u sign up... Beware, dun get brain washed by them...

These packages is done by IDs, only exhibitional period then can give promotional price??? Tis is only part of their sales tactics...

I personally detest reno exhibitions bcs too much unhealthy competition among ID firms... The packages can sell below cost!!! Then find ways n methods to gain it bk from owners (tis is the origin of conflicts), leaving bad impression of contractors, market spoilt eventually... Haiz...

Almost every month also got reno exhibition at Expo, look, how intense of the market becums....

Think twice b4 signing up at Expo...

(I've been in ID firms b4, attended uncountable times of exhibition fairs b4...)

Hi morgulboy, my advise for u.

Jus 'try' to get the drawings then let the matter rest... To pursue, ur effort, time, n anger u put in, is definately worth more than $800... Y wanna waste more than '$800' wif them? Take it as a lesson ba (no hard feelings ar).

Most importantly, Dun let tis matter spoil ur health n mood la...

Edited by de_Pierre

de_Pierre. thanks.

The thing is the director and us came to a verbal agreement that we shall cancel the contract without the need to pay 20%.

What i ask for at the end is to get back the 800 bucks as well, but the director did not approve.

By the way the package is expensive and though it comes with a branded furniture....we werent impress. We were just impressed with the particular ID. Yes its really stupid of us. FYI the ID is actually a SALES cum DESIGNER.