priyalok

False Ceiling With Cove Lights - Flourescent Tube Or Energy Saving Bulbs

I was discussing with a contractor (haven't finalised yet for my reno) regarding the false ceiling with cove lights.

My idea is to use energy saving lights. He suggested to use fluorescent tubes coz, tube is long, it will make a continuos stretch of light instead of 'pockets' of light due to bulb.

My reason:

- save on electricity

- switch on as many lights I want to make a cosy of bright env (not to forget as many switches)

Will there still be considerable amt of saving or it is my speculation only?

Is there anrgy saving tubes also avail? then it will solve my issue.

pple do cove light to create that effect of continuous light.

if u insist on putting energy saving bulbs, then might as well save your money don't do cove, do downlight instead is cheaper.

Thanks. True, I will save by down lighting, but I don't need any direct lighting.

That was the reason for me going for false ceiling (a.k.a drop ceiling) with cove lighting.

Need to get the best of both - cove lighting and energy saving.

Am I expecting too much?

cove with bulb is really ugly.

options:

1) down light with sandblasted surface = diffused light

2) LED light? colour will be white, brightness maybe an issue

3) play with switches. one switch only ON particular cove.

cove with bulb is really ugly.

options:

1) down light with sandblasted surface = diffused light

2) LED light? colour will be white, brightness maybe an issue

3) play with switches. one switch only ON particular cove.

Looks like I have to go with option 3.

There is no energy saving fluorescent tubes? what is the power rating of tubes by the way?

tube there's 2 types: T5 (thinner) or T8 (thicker, aka normal size)

Lengths: many many lengths. Most common= 2ft and 4ft which u can get even at supermart. Other lengths less common, but still... probably jalan besar or more specialised shops will have.

T5 is less bright coz thinner, but lower power rating. U can look at T5 tube.

would recommend playing with switches.

There are some nice looking switches by "hager" in the market.

Those with oversized but slim rocker switches.

Get those switches "concealed" into the wall, so the switch looks slim.

Otherwise, you can get those with multiple but small rocker switch on a single switch board. usually up to 5 switches max.

There are many options in the market. It is limited to your imagination.

Alternatively, you can get those light dimmer switches.

It will create the right amount of light to suit the ambience you want.

But does it save electricity anot this way, im not too sure about that

chan huat is selling some remote for lightings

maybe can consider those

one of the forummers honeyclub posted in her/his blog

can go check it out

seems quite useful

cove lights usually go for fluorescent tubes...

if u want to save energy, go for T5 tubes which is slimmer, brighter, consume less energy, longer burning hours but slightly ex than normal T8 tubes...

if u intend for more energy and willing to spend, u can follow me by doing dimming on the cove lightings using T5 tubes... but the cost for install dimming for T5 tubes is quite high but for long term, u can lengthen the tubes lifespan by control and dim it to 50% of its output...

if u want to save energy, go for T5 tubes which is slimmer, brighter, consume less energy, longer burning hours but slightly ex than normal T8 tubes...

if u intend for more energy and willing to spend, u can follow me by doing dimming on the cove lightings using T5 tubes... but the cost for install dimming for T5 tubes is quite high but for long term, u can lengthen the tubes lifespan by control and dim it to 50% of its output...

Hi, just curious...does it mean if dim the lights for those that comes with dimmer ones...means lesser energy consumption? Sorry I am new to this...

A 4ft flourescent tube is more energy efficient that a "energy saving bulb". 4 ft tube typically produce ard 70 lumen per watt, compared to ard 60 lumen per watt for CFL. Even if we talk about 4ft T5 vs tornado type, it's 93 lumen per watt vs 73 lunmen per watt.

Furthermore, 4ft tube got large surface area, so need a lot of dust to bring down the efficiency. CFL... dun take a lot of dust to make it less bright.

When talking about T5 for cove lighting.. take note hor. cove requires tons of light. T5 produce slightly less light but much lower consumption. May end up using a lot more T5 tubes. Normally cove use extra bright normal 4 ft tubes.

Hi, can share how you control the dimming of the T5 tubes, how much is the controller?

energy saving lights aka bulbs or whatever u call it can be arranged to create some different moods too. it is not ugly if u position it nicely according to their luminosity, making use of the 'pockets'. imagine creating pockets or dark n bright in approx 100-150mm all around the plaster ceiling, though best to have them inside, with sponge painted ceiling.

I've two questions that might not be fully relevant:

a. Is it difficult to maintain the cove light?

b. Will it become a breeding group for lizard?

Hope someone could help. Thanks!