Kari

Help For #344 Tanglin Halt Kitchen & Mbr

layout1ej9.jpg

layout2wg9.jpg

kitchenzp5.jpg

As attached above, I do not know whether it is advisable to spend the money to actually hack the existing MBR door.

The main reason is not for the WIW, but cos I do not want to see the toilet door when I open my MBR door. Hope to hear suggestions and advice on alternative layouts!

For the washing machine being under the window due to the presence of the exisitng tap at the pillar really irriates me as it makes drying of clothes so difficult with the W/M blocking part of the window space!

However, I was told it is impossible to do alternative layout as the drainage is beside the pillar, whereby the W/M cannot be placed beside it.

Hope you guys understand what I'm saying. Hee hee. :P

The layout is so fustrating! :(

HELP, need suggestions from those in Block 89 Tanglin Halt #344.

Thank you!

you don't have to hack your MBR door

just built the WIW between the MBR door and bathroom door

that'll enable you to make full use of the space in the MBR

e.g. bed against wall next to bay window (facing air-con ledge)

HI Applefreak,

Do you mean like this?

TOILET DOOR AIR-CON LEDGE

WIW------------------------------------------------------WIW

MBR DOOR

Layout 2 is better, one of our neighbours had a similiar layout; I assume that you are also going to hack the MBR's wall and relocate the door there, right?

Do you know we have a Tanglin Halt neighbours thread? Come and make friends maybe you can go view the unit yourself...

Edited by zirhk3355

HI Applefreak,

Do you mean like this?

TOILET DOOR AIR-CON LEDGE

WIW------------------------------------------------------WIW

MBR DOOR

yes that's what i meant

this way you don't have to spent extra money relocating the door

and can make use of the space better :yamseng:

Noted Applefreak. Thanks.

Yes zirhk3355, I am hacking the wall to change the location of the MBR door.

I also like layout 2 with the washing machine away from the window so easier to dry my clothes, but was told that with the drainage beside the pillar, it is not possible. True?

I have read through almost all the posts of Tanglin halt and do know you guys organize a meeting every Sat. :D But couldnt' find a chance to go over to meet you guys yet. Sorry.

So far, I have only seen mos_burger with the layout.

Couldn't find any other neighbours @ #344.

So please share your designs, neighbours! Thank you.

layout3ib3.jpg

I am considering this layout if I want to save on hacking cost.

However, some told me if I do wardrobe this way, the effect will be pretty heavy.

Whereas, it will be better if I do a feature wall and TV console on the other end.

Yet, it will make my wardrobe smaller.

Really no #344 neighbors in this forum?

Please kindly share your designs. Thank you!

i am jus curious in a very straight sense, the way your layout is presented, you probably would have got the idea from an ID if not a Contractor.

why do you not trust either of them and seek inputs from us who may not have the vast experience plus whatever either of them committ if it fails, you are able to seek recourse.

it jus puzzles me....

Hi deepakvali,

Well, not all the ideas come from the ID, some of the layouts come from renovation blogs that I found on the Internet.

I did ask several IDs on my layouts. However, I've gotten different answers which make me confused. As I am a first-timer, I want to be extra careful. Since I am going to face the house everyday, I want it to be really warm and homely and not cramped and 'heavy' if my layout is really lousy.

Hence, although you guys do not vast experience, you guys stayed in your own home, renovated it and have lived with it. You will be able to advise on whether certain layouts are really 'livable', what are the mistakes to avoid and such.

Whereas, IDs' or contractors' may not be 100% trustworthy cos their aim is sales and they are not the one living in the house! Or they may reject certain ideas cos the work may be time-consuming or labor-intensive.

I hope you understand where I'm coming from.

Basically layout is a matter of personal taste, what I like and what you like are different.

And in terms of functionality, then you need to have the dimensions to discuss. Which is why I asked you about the wardrobe, is that the correct dimensions, because it seemed too 'thin' to me. You need clearance for the TV mount and wirings behind the TV (ie inside the wardrobe) too.

Anyway I still prefer the 2nd layout in your first post, except again the walkway between the TV and the bed, whether its too cramped.

And for that you need to have draft the layout accurately with dimensions to find out.

Edited by zirhk3355

Dear zirhk3355,

Thank you for your patience. I anyhow draw the layout wan. Didn't take measurements.

However, one ID told me the distance between the TV and bed for both layouts is 2 feet.

I believe it's still reasonable for passage way ba.

I also like layout 2 but the wardrobe onli 10 feet. Whereas the wardrobe in layout 3 is 13 feet! :P

So I guess more space for me to hide my rubbish.

Wish me all the best. Now comparing quotes liao.

Is $22K (exclude electrical) a reasonable amount for Feature wall @ HHS, TV Feature Wall & Console, a platform at MBR? I'm onli doing these 3 main areas lo (Kitchen, Living/Dining Room & MBR).

Two feet is abit cramped leh, maybe for my fat *** lah, haha!

You should list out the detailed quotation for forummers to compare item by item. But in general, for new flats everyone also doing the 3 main areas woh, so at $22K its quite alright lah.

:P Well zirhk3355 I do hope I'm not wrong to squeeze tat 2 feet cos I'm not thin either! :D

Anyway appreciate your help to look thro my quote then

quotekw1.jpg

Thank you! :thumbs up: