pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2008 think most probably have to wait until next year to see the pics of the curtains .. Haha What about urs? When will your curtain from Jimmy Textile be ready? The shop is featured on thrift king tv program last time ... At first, I was thinking to go down JT and see too but lazy to travel so far. In the end, sign with a shop that is nearby... blinds from JT will be installed today! *YAY* Later I put up photos of them ok? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sam Lee Poh Huat 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2008 Hi there, i am new to this forum. Chanced upon this thread and saw the pics featuring the progress of your home reno. Very impressed with it esp. the green striped wall. Intend to DIY (neva done b4) one of my smaller walls. My quests are - how did u get the alignment so straight from top to bottom? Did you meticulously measure one end to one end ? - I've this dark red painted wall. If i were to get it paint into another colour, do i have to paint that wall white first b4 i could do a diff colour on it? Sorry, so clueless about these things but hoping to pick up some useful skills from the experienced ones here. TIA hi TIA Warm welcome to renotalk~!. Yea u rite. Its better to hv 1 or 2 light coating of white paint over ur red one 1st which serve as a gd foundation. If u r having white strip, 2nd coating of ur white paint shld b a thick one. Otherwise, rem to paint the light colour strip color over the wall(s) 1st then use masking tape to mark the ones for the darker green.. apply darker green over marked out strip which wld b easier. its ur wall jus hv fun~! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted January 3, 2009 Found out the hob also got prob .. The one delivered to us is meant for LPG use, only found out when I asked the citygas guy to come down to turn on the gas. Jialat.. And it has been more than one month since the delivery of the hob ... remembered that we did mention ours is using citygas, although think we refer citygas as PUB at that in time... However, what's bad is that, discovered that on the invoice it is stated LPG after calling the shop which we got the hob from .. We did not check properly before signing the invoice .. so only have ourselves to blame. Have to arrange for the service ppl to come down to change the "adapter" so that the hob will be compatible to be used with citygas ... A mistake that cost extra fee... Haiz But luckily, haven move in yet ...so no urgent need for gas. I also got the same wrong problem! so **** angry man. What's wrong with all these logistics/delivery pple? very angry. Morning deliver then late evening, then called to say deliver wrongly. also deliver LPG! My hubby also never check properly too. After that, delivery guy waited outside the door and my hubby went down too. After that, he took the "wrong one" and went bk. After that, took from another place, then came back 1 hr again Here's my Below Home Link Simple & Nice Home, HDB 4A AMK klipp-klapp, actually i love your green theme house a lot. really soothing to the eyes after a long day at work. your candy inspired white & green stripes with the green laminate shoerack really works too! wow, after looking at your hm pics, then i realized its nice to go "green" too. What about your toilet bowl. sink & accessories? Bought that oredi? More pics plsz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
klipp-klapp 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2009 I also got the same wrong problem! so **** angry man. What's wrong with all these logistics/delivery pple? very angry. Morning deliver then late evening, then called to say deliver wrongly. also deliver LPG! My hubby also never check properly too. After that, delivery guy waited outside the door and my hubby went down too. After that, he took the "wrong one" and went bk. After that, took from another place, then came back 1 hr again Here's my Below Home Link Simple & Nice Home, HDB 4A AMK klipp-klapp, actually i love your green theme house a lot. really soothing to the eyes after a long day at work. your candy inspired white & green stripes with the green laminate shoerack really works too! wow, after looking at your hm pics, then i realized its nice to go "green" too. What about your toilet bowl. sink & accessories? Bought that oredi? More pics plsz Hi Pinklady, Sorry for the slow response .... Ya lor, problems with delivery is part and part of the reno process... i'm so glad that most of reno is done Regarding the stripe painting,for my case, firstly we get the contractor to paint the whole wall to the lighter shade. Then we proceed to mask and paint the darker shade. My stripes are about 15 cm interval .. just nice that I found a postcard of the same width, so i used that as a guide to do the markings in pencil before taping the masking tape. Actually, should also be able to get those level instrument from DIY shops to help get those straight lines, more professional this way haa... Have to take note of the placement for the masking tape though, after pasting the first masking tape, do get the right reference when u measure for the next placement.I am very blur and got it wrong at first ... before corrected by my husband, else the stripes will turn out to be of unequal intervals. Haha Thanks for your compliments. Green is a nice color, you certainly can consider going green The green portion for the shoe cabinet is solidtop ... so now have to be careful not to scratch it. I did not do any reno works for the toilet as the toilet bowl, vanity top sink, shower head are already provided by HDB. Expensive to make changes , so not able to go with the green theme unfortunately. Will take some pics for the toilets after I get them clean up first haa .. currently it is not in a very "photogenic" state haa Your blog is under alan26? Saw the reno for your toilets .. nice tiles Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zonkkie 0 Report post Posted January 7, 2009 Finally proceeded to paint the stripes for the study Tedious work .. have to do marking and tape down the masking tapes, followed by 2 days of painting cos need to wait for the first coat to dry before applying second coat. My hubby at work .. haa and the "reflection" is me ... taking photo.. I do most of the marking and taping so he do most of the painting. Yippee! It's done :sport-smiley-04: Some paint actually got pulled off together with the masking tape so have to do several touch up ... overall is okay ... at least it looked generally straight haa I also love green and love the green stripes! I dont think I will be as brave to do a green themed house though... Last time also painted my daughter's room with pink and green stripes .... also had the same problem of paint peeling off with masking tape... not sure how to do it properly... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
klipp-klapp 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 Hi Zonkkie, That's a very sweet kid's room !!! Guess your daughter must have liked it a lot. The bedsheet is cute too. Liked the way, you only paint half of the wall in stripes cos think it will be overwhelming to have the whole room in stripes ... looks good. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
klipp-klapp 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 Woot! Finally have something to update again Hahaha ... The dining table arrived without glitch today. Actually, when the delivery guy called us this afternoon we were still shopping in IKEA .. so called my mom-in-law to help us receive the table. Love it! We quickly unwrapped the stuff we got from IKEA, and start "decorating" the table when we got back. Haa And I cannot resist buying 2 cute stuff toy which matched our house color theme. Got ourselves a green mascot for the living room and another orange mascot for the master bedroom. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LGG 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 Woot! Finally have something to update again Hahaha ... The dining table arrived without glitch today. Actually, when the delivery guy called us this afternoon we were still shopping in IKEA .. so called my mom-in-law to help us receive the table. Love it! We quickly unwrapped the stuff we got from IKEA, and start "decorating" the table when we got back. Haa And I cannot resist buying 2 cute stuff toy which matched our house color theme. Got ourselves a green mascot for the living room and another orange mascot for the master bedroom. Saw the pretty coasters , were they from Ikea too? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 11, 2009 AHHHHHHHH your dining set is PERFECT! and all the accessories you put on it makes it even nicer!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
klipp-klapp 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2009 Saw the pretty coasters , were they from Ikea too? Yepz .. they are from Ikea too. Bought them a few months back, did not see them during my trip there last sat. And the bigger placemat for the plates and bowls also only left with a few colors. So I bought the black ones. Quite a number of items which we wanted to buy are also out of stock... AHHHHHHHH your dining set is PERFECT! and all the accessories you put on it makes it even nicer!! Thanks thanks But think the dining table will be under-utilised, as most of the time, will eat while in front of the TV, seated on the sofa .. Hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 Likewise. Us too. We usually all eat in our own rooms or outside. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 I also love green and love the green stripes! I dont think I will be as brave to do a green themed house though... Last time also painted my daughter's room with pink and green stripes .... also had the same problem of paint peeling off with masking tape... not sure how to do it properly... Very sweet room zonkkie! Makes me wana faint stripes for my future BB room! Woot! Finally have something to update again Hahaha ... The dining table arrived without glitch today. Actually, when the delivery guy called us this afternoon we were still shopping in IKEA .. so called my mom-in-law to help us receive the table. Love it! We quickly unwrapped the stuff we got from IKEA, and start "decorating" the table when we got back. Haa And I cannot resist buying 2 cute stuff toy which matched our house color theme. Got ourselves a green mascot for the living room and another orange mascot for the master bedroom. Very nice and suit ur theme very much! Must make full use of ur pretty table and items from ikea, if not wasted. I like ur dining chairs also, so cute Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
klipp-klapp 0 Report post Posted February 3, 2009 Curtains Up Orange curtain for MBR MBR Toilet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted February 3, 2009 love your shower curtain makes taking a shower a very happy occasion Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ilmare612 0 Report post Posted February 3, 2009 (edited) Agree!! Your dinning setting is very nice and well done. Thumbs up! I rate it the best part of your whole house 10/10 Even your Pringles chips on the coffee table also green. wahhhhhhhhh steady Edited February 3, 2009 by ilmare612 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites