klipp-klapp

The Green House

Hi Jacky,

:) We went for furniture hunting on our own ... because our ID is actually more of a project co-coordinator rather than designer.

Now learnt a huge lesson ... should go to showrooms with white light ..

Thanks for the tips.. but already got a black sofa so was looking for green tv console ... but now landed with white one .. so mabbe a get green rug to put at the coffee table area bah ...

Hey klipp-klapp,

- so ur ID charges u ID pricing or Contractor pricing for ur reno?

- if only do project co-ordination, then he shd b consider a Contractor & shd charge u e rate of a contractor, which is lower, minus away e so-called designer fees.

- tv console green color, so far, i havnt seen any.

- if hav, most likely it is in melamine foil, glossy finished.

- apple green shaggy rug at $250.

- check out Evovliving at Balestier Rd.

- apple green shoe cabinet >$700.

- check out Crystal Home at Kaki Bukit.

- green tones of curtains & blinds, most suppliers hav e range.

Hi Jacky,

My ID's quote is very competitive similar to that of contractor's and I do get the 3D conceptual drawings .. Think he asked the designer of the reno firm to do .. so got a bit of communication problem then...

I have the shoe cabinet custom made with green solid top haa ... a bit small but then no choice due to space constraint ..

Thanks for the info, will go and check out the rugs at Evovliving after reno rectifications are done .. Did pass by the shop during shopping trip for lightings .. did not go in cos that time focus on finding lights :)

Latest update:-

Finally proceeded to paint the stripes for the study :dancingqueen:

Tedious work .. have to do marking and tape down the masking tapes, followed by 2 days of painting cos need to wait for the first coat to dry before applying second coat.

3077013243_813d62bd9d_o.jpg

My hubby at work .. haa and the "reflection" is me ... taking photo.. I do most of the marking and taping so he do most of the painting.

3077013275_9074e688d9_o.jpg

Yippee! It's done :sport-smiley-004: Some paint actually got pulled off together with the masking tape so have to do several touch up ... overall is okay ... at least it looked generally straight haa

Wow...cool green stripes...it reminds me of a candy bar! hehe :sport-smiley-004:

You both are amazing! Have the patience to DIY the wall... I think my hb and I will just faint at the thought of it... haha... 8|

nice stripes...

hmm i wonder hw will my ID react if i get him to ask his workers to paint pink stripes for me wakakakaka....

anyway really kudos to both u and ur hb effort!

Hi everyone,

Thanks for the compliment. I am very glad that the green house is finally coming together :)

Cheng,

Yah .. now that you mention ... if i paint yellow and white .. will resemble popcorn packaging? haa

Bubble,

Haa .. You can check with your ID on the pink stripes, that will be very sweet :D .. But for our case, our ID declined to help with the painting of stripes, that's why we did it ourselves. He did not want to give us a quote on the extra cost required (although we also not willing to pay if it is gg to cost a lot more) .. think too much co-ordination and effort required, so not worth it...

However, he did explain to us on how to go about doing it and left us some paint for that .. but then not enough .. in the end still have to go and buy another small can ...

The Kitchen is done! Hooray :dancingqueen:

3104255134_da0de83a30_o.jpg

Overview of Kitchen

Photo taken using handphone so a bit grainy.

3103423647_2188be2628_o.jpg

Overview of Kitchen

Forgot to turn on the citygas so have yet to check if the hob is working...

Heard from my sis that it will be more worthwhile to use the LPG if dun cook frequently as there is a minimum charge for availability every mth even if nvr really use.. just like handphone bills .. but too late to make the switch and LPG mean the btm cabinet space will be gone... Any light users can share rougly how much is your monthly bill?

3104255414_8e626d93bb_o.jpg

Shoe Cabinet + Super Mini "Barcounter" Haa

Supposedly not to have handles as we wan a cleaner look ... but then the contractor did not make it in such a way that there is finger access to open without handles .. and he told us that to open we have to push the bottom, which is so crappy .. so we asked them to install the handles.

3104255326_d01630f87c_b.jpg

Something that dun match the green theme ...

Guess what is it? Haaa

Junxian,

Bingo! It's a hello kitty doorbell... It used to be a musical lantern used during Mid-Autumn Festival. My father-in-law refurbished it into doorbell .. At first, wanted to use our old pager as he did the same for his own place .. but then when we tried using ours ... the response a bit slow ... have to press on the doorbell for a few seconds before there is sound...

Then he dig out the lanterns and ask if we wan to use that instead .. haa .. got a lot of choices to choose from .. got ultraman , lion dance head, etc .. haaa think this hello kitty one nicest .

Lights up too when it is being pressed keke. The song is “九月九的酒“ ..

The are some lanterns with song “世上只有妈妈好“ too but of course that one is not chosen..

;) So corny.

Rondy,

It's not raining over at central area of singapore keke...

My tiles came with the flat .. so not a choice in my case ..

Think grey will be nice too .. especially if your electrical appliances are of stainless steel or metallic finishing.

For me I will prefer a lighter shade, as it will make the place looks more spacious bah ...

your shoe cabinet turned out very nice :wub: :wub:

for citygas, there shouldn't be any charges if you didn't use

more like prepaid mobile plan :notti:

if didn't use at all but got charges means your pipe is leaking...

WAHHH the green kitchen turn out Super nice! I love the shoe cabinet. and the hello kitty doorbell very cute lor.

My mom says ah... LPG will leak little by little one. She said my old house use LPG. There was once where we didn't cook for 2 months cos we were away when we came back the cans were empty. So we're switching to citygas. She says for light users it's cheaper... mmm Like applefreak says... shouldn't have min charges.

Hey klipp-klapp,

- ur kitchen carpentry, e color beli e nice. :jawdrop:

- is e backing green sprayed painted tempered glass backing?

- ur shoe cabinet cum bar-counter, :good::idea:

- wat is e brand & model no. of dat green laminate?

- e hanging lite (green internal color, bowl with bulb), nice & economical lei. :dribble:

- wher & how much u bought it?

- e green stripes wall, :paint:

- masking tape shd use thick-width type.

- wen pastin, jus nid 2 paste frm e top, pull dn e roll & stick at e bottom.

- dat means stick both e ends wil do, e top & e bottom stick firmly while e middle portion stick mildly.

- paint e green frm top dn, all e joint line 1st then e internal portion. :idea:

- e cooker hob, since e gas pipe oleady been laid 2 e hob area, jus nid 2 call citygas 1800-5551661 to cum & conect it 2 e hob, instal e gas meter (inside service duct) & turn-on e gas supply.

- jus nid 2 b kiasu abit wen e guys r conecting e hob. Gota make known 2 them 2 take 'good care' wif ur glass hob & solid surface. In case carelessness leave behind scratches on e glass hob & solid surface. :deal:

- overall, ur 'green house' is :thumbs up:

Edited by jaCKY777