Guest our-home Report post Posted September 15, 2008 (edited) Kitchen: 9 Sept Cement screeding over existing wall tiles Common bathroom: 9 Sept All wall tiles done Master bathroom: 9 Sept Wall tiles partially done pinkpetter, Contractor had to hack lower half of master bathroom marble wall tiles cos they protrude out from the upper half of ceramic tiles. I think if cement screed over the marble tiles will be too thick for overlaying - so no choice. Developer did not put any wall tiles behind the kitchen cabinets and behind mirror in bathrooms. So after removing the existing kitchen cabinets, can see that only exposed walls are tiled. We've the beech look for the past 11 years in our current home, thought of trying the wenge colour scheme for a change. Thanks for the compliment, hope new kitchen does look much better. Will definitely post more pix. sunset, Yes, need clean, simple design for kitchen cos it's real tiny. So less clutter, the better. Also good in feng shui terms ... Nope - no 3D for bathroom. We asked for quote for vanity top, etc for 2 bathrooms, but it's over our budget. I'm also concerned with maintainenance. So will do the basic, ie. no vanity top/cabinet below. Smartfool, Haha, my hubby will be very happy to hear that. He's also the official photographer for all the pix I upload. He helps with the washing up in the kitchen, so he has to have a say in how it looks and works for us. Yep, hopefully reno finishes on time, before 3rd week October. Thanks for the well wishes. I just updated my signature - which lights we've bought, where and approx cost. Were out this weekend getting all the stuff cos electrician coming on Tues/Wed. GMC, Really? Could be cos we have the developer, Far East Organisation. Haven't had the chance to load more pix, but will do so soon. Now have to get the documents ready for our 1st appt at HDB tomorrow morning (16 Sept). Edited September 23, 2008 by our-home Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mrs_GMC 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2008 GMC, Really? Could be cos we have the developer, Far East Organisation. Yea, look at those tiles can tell either Far East, CDL or Centrepoint.... Yours is 1-2yrs newer than mine, so design will be slightly modern. enjoy your stay. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest our-home Report post Posted September 16, 2008 (edited) Reno we have planned for our home: Kitchen: Remove existing kitchen cabinet Remove existing kitchen door Install sink outlet pipe Construct L-shape top & bottom kitchen cabinet in laminated finish Install L-shape solid surface worktop c/w front-apron and 230mm backsplash on sink's side Install 6mm full panel tempered glass/white spray painted backing Install sink & tap supplied by owner Relocate existing power point Chemical cement plastering for all other exposed walls Overlay new flooring over existing finish Lay skirting at exposed walls Yard: Overlay new flooring over existing finish Lay skirting at exposed walls Common bath: Overlay new flooring over existing finish Dismantle & reinstall existing WC suite Remove existing vanity top Overlay new wall tiles over existing finish Install one set 10mm tempered glass shower screen Install new bath mixer & shower Install vanity top outlet pipe Master bathroom: Remove existing bathtub Water proofing membrane at bathtub area Cement screeding at bathtub area Install new drainage at shower are Relocate water supply piping for bath mixer point Cement wall screeding on upper wall Overlay new wall tiles over existing finish Dismantle & install existing WC suite Remove existing vanity top Install new bath mixer tap & shower supplied by owner Install vanity top's outlet pipe Construct shower kerb with tiles finish Overlay new flooring over existing finish Install 1 set 10mm tempered glass shower screen Master bedroom & Bedroom 2: Dismantle existing wardrobes Construct full-height built-in wardrobes in laminated finish (master 6ft) (Bedroom 2 5ft) Revarnish existing parquet flooring and skirting Revarnish door & frame Study: Revanish existing parquet flooring and skirting Revarnish door & frame General: Cardboard protection for floor ****/dining/2 bedrooms/study Install 2 sets bathroom accessories supplied by owner Patch-up of holes. Emulsion painting for whole house walls & ceiling (Pentalite) Paint kitchen bare wall with Sealer base coat Paint kitchen and yard walls with Wash & Wear paint Paint store louvres door to Gloss White Chemical wash, haulage & debris removal Total: $23,000 (electrical work not included) Will be using our existing furniture and appliances. Edited September 16, 2008 by our-home Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mwerkz 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2008 Reno we have planned for our home: Kitchen: Remove existing kitchen cabinet Remove existing kitchen door Install sink outlet pipe Construct L-shape top & bottom kitchen cabinet in laminated finish Install 6mm full panel tempered glass/white spray painted backing Install sink & tap supplied by owner Relocate existing power point Chemical cement plastering for all other exposed walls Overlay new flooring over existing finish Lay skirting at exposed walls Yard: Overlay new flooring over existing finish Lay skirting at exposed walls Common bath: Overlay new flooring over existing finish Dismantle & reinstall existing WC suite Remove existing vanity top Overlay new wall tiles over existing finish Install one set 10mm tempered glass shower screen Install new bath mixer & shower Install vanity top outlet pipe Master bathroom: Remove existing bathtub Water proofing membrane at bathtub area Cement screeding at bathtub area Install new drainage at shower are Relocate water supply piping for bath mixer point Cement wall screeding on upper wall Overlay new wall tiles over existing finish Dismantle & install existing WC suite Remove existing vanity top Install new bath mixer tap & shower supplied by owner Install vanity top's outlet pipe Construct shower kerb with tiles finish Overlay new flooring over existing finish Install 1 set 10mm tempered glass shower screen Master bedroom & Bedroom 2: Dismantle existing wardrobes Construct full-height built-in wardrobes in laminated finish (master 6ft) (Bedroom 2 5ft) Revarnish existing parquet flooring and skirting Revarnish door & frame Study: Revanish existing parquet flooring and skirting Revarnish door & frame General: Cardboard protection for floor ****/dining/2 bedrooms/study Install 2 sets bathroom accessories supplied by owner Patch-up of holes. Emulsion painting for whole house walls & ceiling (Pentalite) Paint kitchen bare wall with Sealer base coat Paint kitchen and yard walls with Wash & Wear paint Paint store louvres door to Gloss White Chemical wash, haulage & debris removal Total: $23,000 (electrical work not included) Will be using our existing furniture and appliances. not doing solid top or granite top for ur kitchen cabinet? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest our-home Report post Posted September 16, 2008 not doing solid top or granite top for ur kitchen cabinet? Oops! Type until blur. Added in the solid surface worktop. Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2008 (edited) pinkpetter, Contractor had to hack lower half of master bathroom marble wall tiles cos they protrude out from the upper half of ceramic tiles. I think if cement screed over the marble tiles will be too thick for overlaying - so no choice. Developer did not put any wall tiles behind the kitchen cabinets and behind mirror in bathrooms. So after removing the existing kitchen cabinets, can see that only exposed walls are tiled. We've the beech look for the past 11 years in our current home, thought of trying the wenge colour scheme for a change. Thanks for the compliment, hope new kitchen does look much better. Will definitely post more pix. sunset, Yes, need clean, simple design for kitchen cos it's real tiny. So less clutter, the better. Also good in feng shui terms ... Nope - no 3D for bathroom. We asked for quote for vanity top, etc for 2 bathrooms, but it's over our budget. I'm also concerned with maintainenance. So will do the basic, ie. no vanity top/cabinet below. Smartfool, Haha, my hubby will be very happy to hear that. He's also the official photographer for all the pix I upload. He helps with the washing up in the kitchen, so he has to have a say in how it looks and works for us. Yep, hopefully reno finishes on time, before 3rd week October. Thanks for the well wishes. I just updated my signature - which lights we've bought, where and approx cost. Were out this weekend getting all the stuff cos electrician coming on Tues/Wed. GMC, Really? Could be cos we have the developer, Far East Organisation. Haven't had the chance to load more pix, but will do so soon. Now have to get the documents ready for our 1st appt at HDB tomorrow morning (16 Sept). wow he is definitely a better photographer than me my wtb always complains i suck at phototaking oh i also have to wash up cos my wtb will be the main person cooking i wana see pics of lites!!! Edited September 16, 2008 by SmartFool Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mwerkz 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2008 Oops! Type until blur. Added in the solid surface worktop. Thanks! hehe. no prob. juz worried ur ID missed some stuffs here n there from ur contract. den end up become hidden cost Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest our-home Report post Posted September 18, 2008 An update: Sept 16: Removal of aircon indoor units Sept 17: New aircon indoor & outdoor units installed Installation of lights Master bathroom lights before (halogen): After (energy-saving): Common bathroom lights before: After (energy-saving downlights): Passageway lights (open downlights) before: After (square downlights with diffuser): Kitchen light before: After (same as passageway): Lights in the living, dining, bedrooms and study have also been installed, but are covered cos of painting today. Will post pix once the plastic coverings are off. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest our-home Report post Posted September 23, 2008 Finished going up and down Balestier, Jalan Besar and Geylang roads for lights and electricals and sanitaryware. Don't think I want to go back to these places for some time. Just realised my Nikes are coming apart - stitches can be seen. No time to log-in and chat ... hopefully more settled, then more time to do so. Sept 19: Painting continued Correction of aircon outdoor units bracket Sept 20: Went to SunRin Design and confirmed curtains on-the-spot Went to Goodwood Doors & Joinery Works to confirm 2 bathroom doors and 4 additional lever locksets Sept 21: Hubby buys 3 Clipsal lights switches to "experiment" and DIY changing the existing ones himself - first time in his life. He remembered to switch off mains - while I checked his life insurance (as recommended by the Chan Huat guy). Sanitaryware to be installed on Monday, Sept 22. Aircon outdoor unit before: After: Didn't like the wires dangling all over the place, so asked contractor to have them neatened. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest our-home Report post Posted September 23, 2008 Living and dining lights: Went over to the apartment last night to see how plumbers installed the sanitaryware . Common bathroom: Master bathroom: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
summerholiday 2 Report post Posted September 25, 2008 hi hi thanks for speakin up for me when another guy doubt about reno before 2nd appointment.. noticed u also use the same light in the living room as mine.. i bought at palace at balestier but regret.. hard to change, poor connection ,broken joint.. i noticed there are diff quality for the same design.. hope u got a better quality then mine.. my lights Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest our-home Report post Posted September 26, 2008 hi hi thanks for speakin up for me when another guy doubt about reno before 2nd appointment.. noticed u also use the same light in the living room as mine.. i bought at palace at balestier but regret.. hard to change, poor connection ,broken joint.. i noticed there are diff quality for the same design.. hope u got a better quality then mine.. my lights Hi summerholiday, No problem, you're most welcomed. Hubby liked design of these lights very, very much - me, more concerned about maintenance. But, he's the "banker" so have final say. If any changing or cleaning, I'll leave it to him. What's more, it's cracked glass - not sure how long they'll last ... headache ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
summerholiday 2 Report post Posted September 26, 2008 mine also crack glass.. the other day the lights guy from the company i buy them come help check light ic, cos we used 2,3,5 ic n they accidentally broke one, they replaced but the joint to hold the cracked glass gave way recently.. tips, must remove the crack glass before remove the bulb, else like wat we encountered, we broke the bulbs.. :<, and the metal pc, the round wan, got rust after a yr.. tat's y i hope urs is of better quality then mine.. as i noticed there are diff quality in the market.. with this design Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mwerkz 0 Report post Posted September 26, 2008 i like ur mbr bathroom wc. but too bad i bought mine liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest our-home Report post Posted September 27, 2008 tat's y i hope urs is of better quality then mine.. as i noticed there are diff quality in the market.. with this design Thanks for the tips! I have a feeling it's the same quality. We bought ours from Lite Vault (opposite Palace at Balestier). The glass very, very thin too. Think we'll probably have to change when it starts rusting too badly later. i like ur mbr bathroom wc. but too bad i bought mine liao Thanks, we bought the WC + wash basin in master bathroom for package deal of $288 from Lookz. I saw your blog but don't remember seeing your WC pix. From the drawings, it looks ok, you know. The 3D drawings are very impressive though - colours and design different, bold. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites