Recycle Me

Mio Tv: Problem With Wireless

I am facing problem with Mio TV and like to find out if anyone is facing the same problem?

As for information, Mio Tv Set top box cannot plug into the wall socket like Starhub, it need to plug into Mio Box Modem, as for my case, my MioBox modem is in my study room, so they offer me the wireless solution to connect the MioTv via Aztech Wall Plug which signals are transmitted through electrical wire. It works fine on normal channel, however, it does not work on HD channel, it does "pause and play" in few seconds interval.

I called them several times before they agreed to send a technician to come down to take a look at the problem, but before he came, you called to tell me that it cannot be fixed, only solution is to run on cable. I called them again, told them i don't want to run new wiring casing on my newly renovated house, if it cannot work on wireless then i want to terminate my Mio TV. Then they told me that i have to pay a penalty if i terminate my Mio TV as i have a contract because i sign up for the free wall plug adapter.

In the first place, they offer the wireless solution for the mio tv and it does not work, yet they wanted me pay for the penalty. After some conversation, they decided to sent another technician to look at it, this time they bought another wireless modem, it improved on the performance, however it still pause and play but not as often as the wall plug.

I called them again and they said the same thing, only solution was to run cable, between the mio tv set top box and modem is about 12meters with minimum blockage. I am staying in 3 room flat, if wireless cannot work in my house, who can ? Yet they are still offering the wireless solution.

I am pleading anyone out there who is facing the same problem for some advise.. why i must pay for the penalty for something that does not work?

Edited by Recycle Me

I am facing problem with Mio TV and like to find out if anyone is facing the same problem?

As for information, Mio Tv Set top box cannot plug into the wall socket like Starhub, it need to plug into Mio Box Modem, as for my case, my MioBox modem is in my study room, so they offer me the wireless solution to connect the MioTv via Aztech Wall Plug which signals are transmitted through electrical wire. It works fine on normal channel, however, it does not work on HD channel, it does "pause and play" in few seconds interval.

I called them several times before they agreed to send a technician to come down to take a look at the problem, but before he came, you called to tell me that it cannot be fixed, only solution is to run on cable. I called them again, told them i don't want to run new wiring casing on my newly renovated house, if it cannot work on wireless then i want to terminate my Mio TV. Then they told me that i have to pay a penalty if i terminate my Mio TV as i have a contract because i sign up for the free wall plug adapter.

In the first place, they offer the wireless solution for the mio tv and it does not work, yet they wanted me pay for the penalty. After some conversation, they decided to sent another technician to look at it, this time they bought another wireless modem, it improved on the performance, however it still pause and play but not as often as the wall plug.

I called them again and they said the same thing, only solution was to run cable, between the mio tv set top box and modem is about 12meters with minimum blockage. I am staying in 3 room flat, if wireless cannot work in my house, who can ? Yet they are still offering the wireless solution.

I am pleading anyone out there who is facing the same problem for some advise.. why i must pay for the penalty for something that does not work?

Hi there,

I am also using Mio package.. was previously on mio TV trial..

When i 1st intalling this mio thingy.. i also have the same problem.. then i got no choice but to place the modem and my telephone at the living room TV console. I am running wireless at home.. my PC is in my study room.. so far is the connection is ok.. no problems.. you might want to consider..

when i 1st install i got major problems.. unable to use digital phone.. unable to use internet.. i called singtel many times.. until they really fix the problem.. long story..

hope you can solve your problems soon..

last time when i enquire abt this stupid MIO TV thing, i realised that it runs on broadband.

immediately i knew tat it will definately have problmes coz internet transmission is never stable.

Running on wireless will make it even worse.

Techie ppl in the industry will know that wireless transmission can never be trusted.

So i stick to SCV cable.

Thank you to all for your advise, today the tech were here for the second time, they did something to the cable at nearby block and changed a different homeplug, it seems better now but there is still freezing on and off, like what we experienced in mobile tv on the bus.

When i view HD5 it is ok, like the recent "king Kong" shown on Sunday, the pictures was beautiful, but when it comes to demand HD channel, it does not work? Why is there a difference when both are HD signals?

I will keep monitoring on the effect after they made the changed...

After the third batch of technician, they can recommend that running the cable is the only solution. They keep telling me that i am the one having this problem. As i said, if this thing cannot work on my small 3 room flat, how can it work on others?

2 mths ago i met one of the contractors(for this stupid mio) for kopi....

even when kopi dry liao - he still KPKB non-stop. Do your math. :lol:

2 mths ago i met one of the contractors(for this stupid mio) for kopi....

even when kopi dry liao - he still KPKB non-stop. Do your math. :lol:

Get SH HD STB...then you can watch HD5 with no problems...