gaiusparx

Some Basic Resale Flat Reno Questions, Pls Help

Just got the keys to resale 4-room flat, in the processing of thinking of what to do:

1. What is chemical wash? Is it only for washing the floor? How about tiles on the wall? Is it a part of reno process by contractor? Can it be used on existing tiles?

2. Intend to replace the 3+1 aircon. Is it better to get the contractor to redo the piping? The existing piping looks ok if possible intend to keep it for cost saving.

3. I assume the paint job is normally carry out after all electrical wiring and air con piping. Am I right?

4. Any idea if one needs license to change the main door? I was told by property agent that the main door needs to be fire proof and cost few thousands dollar.

5. What is the best way to go about the problems of holes on wall titles left behind by old bathroom accessories for example? And for holes on the wall when you removed nails? Am I able to engage someone to touch up (is it called platering?) and do the retiling for me? Any idea if I buy bathroom accessories from let say Hoe Kee and ask for installation, are they able to do retiling and make the whole thing as good as new? Or must I engage separate contractor to retile and touch up all titles with lobang.

1. Chemical wash is simply to use stronger chemicals to wash your tiles. It can be done on your wall tiles as well, but depends on the quality of the tiles. Your contractor should be able to advise if chemical wash can be done on your wall tiles as well. Usually chemical wash is part of the reno process, but some may take it out as a separate payable item.

2. Are the piping hidden, eg inside false ceiling, behind cabinets, etc? If so, then maybe there will be significant costs involved to remove them. But if not, there is actually not much cost savings to keep the piping. Its always better to change them with new aircon, otherwise if the aircon becomes faulty, your aircon-man will definitely blame it on the old piping.

3. The market standard is whoever made the hole/paint-peel/etc, whoever got to patch it back. But give and take lah, while installing things, its inevitable that there will be holes and some paint will come out. So arrange for your painter to come after everything is installed.

4. No need 'licence', but if the existing IS a fire-proof door, you must replace with a fire-proof one. If its not, then no need. You do not need to inform HDB to change your door, but if anything happens...then u responsible.

5. Touch-up and plastering is a job by itself, but its not very expensive if its just a few holes and tiles. Maybe just some kopi money for the bathroom's installer to help you lor...