pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted October 19, 2008 Thanks pinkpetter! I like how the downlights turned out and after seeing the nice effect, now I don't regret paying a bit more for it, After all lighting does play an important role in the overall look of the house. Anyway, here's 2 pics showing the progress on my study tables. Whoa your study is well planned with all the drawers and shelves... mmm going to spend a lot of time there wor? It opens out to the living area? Will have a glass there? nice le!! And it matches your living also. You're right about the lights... it does play an important role. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mmycheng 0 Report post Posted October 19, 2008 (edited) Your bedroom is wonderful.. it looks like a dance studio.. heehee.. maybe will see u dancing inside once your renovation completes.. but i doubt it coz my unit is so dwarfed compared to yours.. Well done neighbour.. Hi alphalost, It does look a little like a dance studio now that you mentioned...haha Your unit same size as mine right? Why you say yours is dwarfed? Hope your reno is progressing well? Whoa your study is well planned with all the drawers and shelves... mmm going to spend a lot of time there wor? It opens out to the living area? Will have a glass there? nice le!! And it matches your living also. You're right about the lights... it does play an important role. Yup, there are only 2 places where we placed our aircon units, one in the MBR and the other in the study...it's a reflection of where we will be spending most our time. I love sleeping and when I'm not sleeping, I'll most likely be in the study room either doing work or surfing or reading. If I'm not doing that, then I'm outside having fun! The current opening where the wall was hacked will be sealed up with glass so that the cool air stays in the study room. I wanted a more open-concept for the study. Edited October 19, 2008 by mmycheng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahockz 1 Report post Posted October 19, 2008 your MBR toilet ready? can show mi the pix. out of ideas now :) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mmycheng 0 Report post Posted October 19, 2008 your MBR toilet ready? can show mi the pix. out of ideas now :) Not yet. The carpentry people are still working on my MBR feature wall and study tables...I think only ready by end of next week. Will show you pic then. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted October 19, 2008 Good good. i think planning must always plan according to the way we live. cannot just do cos it's nice. yay looking forward to more pics! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mmycheng 0 Report post Posted October 20, 2008 (edited) Good good. i think planning must always plan according to the way we live. cannot just do cos it's nice. yay looking forward to more pics! Sure pinkpetter! Always happy to share more pics... I've been triggerhappy ever since I started this blog! haha Mom just told me last night that the best date to move into our new home is 20th Nov, the alternative is 10th Nov...she said something about getting some pot ready...???? Hmm...I'll just let her do...you know, whatever makes her happy...hehe Anyone has gone through some similar sort of experience/ritual for moving-in ceremony?? Pls share. Thanks. Edited October 20, 2008 by mmycheng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rachelgoh 0 Report post Posted October 20, 2008 My dog, Sunny! i also have baobei.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mmycheng 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 (edited) Our reno works has slowed to a creeping pace...sighz I hope it picks up soon cos I'm so eager to see the finished product...arrghh... must be patient... Things not done: 1. Glass works in kitchen, MBR toilet, study room and living rm 2. Installation of mirror in MBR toilet 3. Installation of solid surfaces in MBR toilet and kitchen 4. Installation of wallpaper in living rm 5. Caprentry for MBR bedside cabinets 6. Installation of toilet fittings 7. Installation of kitchen hob Anyway, just a few more progress pics to share. MBR feature wall Missing part of above MBR feature wall for mounting of tv and a close-up of the laminate (to be installed) Walk-in Wardrobe with full length mirror, dressing table, open cabinets and drawers Study table mostly done except for missing drawers My main gate Edited October 21, 2008 by mmycheng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
junxian 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 your WIW internal looks great ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 Sure pinkpetter! Always happy to share more pics... I've been triggerhappy ever since I started this blog! haha Mom just told me last night that the best date to move into our new home is 20th Nov, the alternative is 10th Nov...she said something about getting some pot ready...???? Hmm...I'll just let her do...you know, whatever makes her happy...hehe Anyone has gone through some similar sort of experience/ritual for moving-in ceremony?? Pls share. Thanks. wah 10th Nov is coming then you say the progress slowed down?.... maybe 20th Nov more suitable ba not so rush... haha Aiyah this kind of thing I also leave it to mom and dad. heh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CybNoX 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 always very exicted to see each transformation! thks for sharing.. ur bao bei very cute leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 Oh yes forgot to add I love the purple floral laminate for your MBR feature wall! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mmycheng 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 (edited) Thanks everyone for your praises. Am more than happy to share my reno progess cos I also learn a lot from looking at others' blogs. Generally, I feel that the carpentry works are of a high standard. Sadly, I wish I could say the same for the electrical works... slightly disappointed with my ID's electrician cos I think he and/or his workers take little pride in fixing the electrical things... we always had to go back to our ID with small small problems such as - exposed wiring cos they cut the trunking too short - electrical socket fixed slightly crooked into the carpentry - gave me the wrong number of sockets despite earlier instructions - fan was not fixed properly Anyway...I guess these are all learning points and I am overall satisfied with the whole process thus far. I'm not sure when the handover date will be, have checked with ID and she will revert. Yeah, I also agree with pinkpetter, perhaps 20th is a safer date and it will give me more time to get the place cleaned up plus move in all my barang barang. Hehe Edited October 21, 2008 by mmycheng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CybNoX 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 (edited) i am sure there are hiccups that bond to happen one.. but it's part of the reno process, what matter the most is the ID can solve the problems. =) oh, abt the stove - heard my future FIL briefly said that it's for the "xie tu" ceremony, suppose to light the stove and walk over it or something on the day of moving in.. then have to use the stove to cook something and everyone in the household to eat from it. it's for "huat huat" one. think it's this kind of traditional stove that she's referring to.. i may not have remembered the exact, may some fellow forumers can shed some light too? Edited October 21, 2008 by CybNoX Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2008 hahahahahahaahah this reminds me of the time when some people were cooking stuff in their corridor and kena photographed and sent to stomp! mmycheng... make sure your neighbours know it's a one-time affair! haha wait you appear in STOMP also. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites