mmycheng

Mandy & Lincoln - Renovating Our First Home

The long-awaited curtains are here!! Thanks to the forumers who recommended me MGL. They did a good job and am pleased with the outcomes. Pics for you all to enjoy! :)

First, pictures of my living rm curtains under different lighting conditions and different opening/closing positions.

CIMG2086.jpgCIMG2087.jpgCIMG2116.jpg

Close up shot of the above curtains plus free cushion cover (which I got 2...hehe)

CIMG2089.jpgCIMG2091.jpg

2nd, here are my study room blinds in full view plus a close up to view the striped design.

CIMG2093.jpgCIMG2094.jpg

Third, our MBR. We made a blind to cover the small window. Notice it has a flat black base which I prefer over the round one in my WIW. We also did full length curtains for the main windows. They're of the same design as the living rm but in a different colour to match the walls.

CIMG2096.jpgCIMG2100.jpg

CIMG2104.jpgCIMG2106.jpg

And lastly, the blinds in our WIW. It's similar in colour to the one in the MBR only a bit more greyish and less shimmery; this one is also made in Taiwan compared to the former which is made in Germany. The German one Andrew from MGL throw in at same price as Taiwan-made blind...hehe :notti:

CIMG2111.jpgCIMG2112.jpg

Ok, so my reno is finally done... any more updates will be minor additions to furniture and stuff...now I can really sit back, relax and enjoy my home for one month before I go overseas for a year... :bangwall:

Edited by mmycheng

CybNoX, my wireless doorbell had its battery stolen... How's tt? And its not those standard AA size battery, its smaller one. I dun understand these ppl... what good are these to them... unless they're using the exact same models? :furious:

The long-awaited curtains are here!! Thanks to the forumers who recommended me MGL. They did a good job and am pleased with the outcomes. Pics for you all to enjoy! :)

2nd, here are my study room blinds in full view plus a close up to view the striped design.

CIMG2093.jpgCIMG2094.jpg

And lastly, the blinds in our WIW. It's similar in colour to the one in the MBR only a bit more greyish and less shimmery; this one is also made in Taiwan compared to the former which is made in Germany. The German one Andrew from MGL throw in at same price as Taiwan-made blind...hehe :notti:

CIMG2111.jpgCIMG2112.jpg

Ok, so my reno is finally done... any more updates will be minor additions to furniture and stuff...now I can really sit back, relax and enjoy my home for one month before I go overseas for a year... :bangwall:

my roller blinds ends are the those white and round ones..

serve any purpose or any difference?

Gng to work overseas?

Ok...here's my first complain *of sorts*... :furious:

Got an appointment with SP services to turn on utilities at my flat this saturday. They said that the officer will arrive between 10 - 11am. That's 1 whole hour of me and my hb standing at our flat waiting... 1 hour is a lot of wasted time, just for 1-2 minutes of work in turning on a switch.

So I called them up to ask if they can give me a ring on my hp when the officer arrives. In the meantime, we will wait at the kopitiam at the foot of my block. The officer can call me when he arrives and I'll be there to meet him in no time. The person who took my phonecall explained that their staff's mobile phone bill is not subsidised and hence cannot accede to my request. She even suggested that if I did not want to wait for 1 hour, I can get my maid to do it (if I have one).

Ok my take on this phonecall...

1. I can understand the situation and wouldn't want to add any more burden to the officer who's coming on sat so I didn't pursue the matter further with them.

2. However, I think it's ludicrous that they cannot improve their service standards by trying to cut short the waiting time to say half an hour. Point for future improvement...

3. Moreover, suggesting that I place my maid to do this is pretty 'mean'...there were demonstrations at Hong Lim Park on maid abuse just 3 days ago.

I guess I can be more demanding when it comes to service standards.

I suppose many of you had to go through this as well? Was it the same?

Hi. I share your sentiments actually. City Gas said they'll come to turn on my gas last week between 1:30pm to 3:30pm. They also sms me and told me to be at my new house at the beginning of the appointment. Eventually the technician came at 3:15pm. My wife and I waited close to 2 hours

CybNoX, my wireless doorbell had its battery stolen... How's tt? And its not those standard AA size battery, its smaller one. I dun understand these ppl... what good are these to them... unless they're using the exact same models? :furious:

win liao lor.. wat's that good for? haiz.. think me give up on doorbell le. haha

Your curtains are very nice.

Maybe I get this type of material for my 2nd curtain set when its time to change. Kekeke

Thanks for your compliments BunBun :)

After a few days with curtains and blinds...I sometimes wonder what made us buy them in the first place...haha...

- My living rm curtains...hmm... hardly closed them since we got them cos there's no glare from the sun when we are watching tv

- My study room blinds... we opened them and have not rolled them down since...

- My WIW blinds...I guess I need this because we don't want to be indecently exposed whilst changing

- My bedroom blind...ok, it looks nice sitting there

- My bedroom curtains... most useful of all cos it really gives me the darkness I need to get a good night's rest. :)

Oh well... haha! :P

my roller blinds ends are the those white and round ones..

serve any purpose or any difference?

Gng to work overseas?

Not really... it's just that the flat black ones look nicer that's all! Just being frivolous!

Going for my further studies... trying to be a student again! haha :D

Hi. I share your sentiments actually. City Gas said they'll come to turn on my gas last week between 1:30pm to 3:30pm. They also sms me and told me to be at my new house at the beginning of the appointment. Eventually the technician came at 3:15pm. My wife and I waited close to 2 hours

It's like that my dear... somehow we are at the 'mercy' of these people... just last sat, my plumber said he will turn up between 3-6pm...we waited the whole afternoon, sacrificing a day out so that our pipe can be fixed. In the end, it was a NO SHOW! I was so angry cos we waited until 7pm...stomachs hungry and all we gave up waiting. When my ID called him again that night, he said he forgot! OMG!!! 8|

You will face more of such 'problems' when you wait for furniture delivery etc... just be patient and bring something to your place to read or have something to do to kill time.

Hope your reno is coming along ok? :)

win liao lor.. wat's that good for? haiz.. think me give up on doorbell le. haha

Why are there all these bo liao people going around stealing others' wireless doorbells and batteries and such? Sighz...

This morning when I brought my dog down for his walk, I met a neighbour also walking his dog. He told me to be careful...a fellow neighbour teethered his dog outside his home on the morning of his daughter's wedding cos there was just too many people in the house. By the end of the tea ceremony, the dog was gone, stolen! Imagine that!! Horrible... :jawdrop: