mwerkz 0 Report post Posted November 24, 2008 Hehe...actually I bought the low end Karcher model... it's a simple machine with a powerful motor for good suction. I figured I rather spend the money on a simple, reliable German brand than pay the same amount for a more fancy model from other less reliable brands. For the other Karcher models with better air filters and more functions, you will have to shell out at least $400!! keke. maybe i shuld pay karcher a visit. although i really hate the yellow color machine Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted November 24, 2008 Only 1 of them is cordless and it's also a DECT phone. The other is not. The cordless I placed in the study room and can move around with it easily. The other is at the bedside so stationary also nevermind. I got them for 40 plus at HN. ahh ok ok good. cos was thinking of having less telephone points and just have one cordless will do. Anyway very few people call my house these days. Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahockz 1 Report post Posted November 24, 2008 well, most ppl call hp instead. it rare i hear my home phone even ring. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CutePinkElephant 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 yeah mine also...and only my mil and mom know the number Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mmycheng 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 (edited) I actually like the bright yellow colour of Karcher! Makes me feel happier when doing housework which I dread... Yeah... I actually bought my house phone for my mother, in-laws and my grandmother... you know...thinking that they were the 'old skool' types...but the funny thing was...when my mom saw the phones...she was like..."buy phone for what? call hp can already what!"... so I there i was...feeling like i should just go Anyway, just put one there also good lah...just in case...hehe Edited November 25, 2008 by mmycheng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mmycheng 0 Report post Posted November 26, 2008 (edited) Yesterday I 'showed face' with my electrician... My problem lies with the 3-pin sockets...Not 1, not 2 but 6!! sockets spoilt in the course of staying in my house for only 3 days... sighz...My plugs couldn't go in the sockets at all... that's annoying because 4 of them are in my study room and 2 in my kitchen next to the cooker hob. Now I cannot boil water or cook rice. So, anyhow, my electrician turned up and I told him where the problem points were... as expected, he shifted the blame on us saying that we anyhow plug into the socket and spoiling it as a result... said stuff like we are supposed to plug in the top part first before the bottom 2 goes into the socket...what bull**** I didn't bother to defend myself and so I just said, in that case, please try EVERY SINGLE SOCKET in my house to make sure. So he bo bian and then went round one by one... every one that was faulty he repeated the same thing, putting the blame on us... I just looked at him with an expresionless face... In the end, he stopped his 'nonsense' and said he will get the problem points replaced FOC. At first he needed 1 whole week to get the job done but I said no because that means I will have no means to cook or use my computers properly for so long... so I insisted by saturday and he said ok... My hb say he's the 'chao kuan' type and sure won't turn up by sat one... we see how... I have complained about his shoddy workmanship to my ID before...for example his trunking always cut too short and leave exposed wires, he broke 2 of my kitchen tiles, he installed my doorbell with 1 battery short so it's not working and he forgot to install a LAN point even though we paid for it... luckily the other team of workers doing carpentry and painting are very nice and they also help him 'cover up' by sealing his exposed wires and all that... Anyway, I will see how my ID settles this... I don't want to get upset over such stupid things. Edited November 26, 2008 by mmycheng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted November 26, 2008 well, most ppl call hp instead. it rare i hear my home phone even ring. yeah mine also...and only my mil and mom know the number hahahah ya mine also. And sometimes BIL call to find my sister he call from oversea so call fixed line the connection is better. Haiz everytime people ask me for my home number I have to try to find it in my HP Yeah... I actually bought my house phone for my mother, in-laws and my grandmother... you know...thinking that they were the 'old skool' types...but the funny thing was...when my mom saw the phones...she was like..."buy phone for what? call hp can already what!"... so I there i was...feeling like i should just go Anyway, just put one there also good lah...just in case...hehe Your mother so cute... LOL modern la modern Yesterday I 'showed face' with my electrician... My problem lies with the 3-pin sockets...Not 1, not 2 but 6!! sockets spoilt in the course of staying in my house for only 3 days... sighz...My plugs couldn't go in the sockets at all... that's annoying because 4 of them are in my study room and 2 in my kitchen next to the cooker hob. Now I cannot boil water or cook rice. So, anyhow, my electrician turned up and I told him where the problem points were... as expected, he shifted the blame on us saying that we anyhow plug into the socket and spoiling it as a result... said stuff like we are supposed to plug in the top part first before the bottom 2 goes into the socket...what bull**** I didn't bother to defend myself and so I just said, in that case, please try EVERY SINGLE SOCKET in my house to make sure. So he bo bian and then went round one by one... every one that was faulty he repeated the same thing, putting the blame on us... I just looked at him with an expresionless face... In the end, he stopped his 'nonsense' and said he will get the problem points replaced FOC. At first he needed 1 whole week to get the job done but I said no because that means I will have no means to cook or use my computers properly for so long... so I insisted by saturday and he said ok... My hb say he's the 'chao kuan' type and sure won't turn up by sat one... we see how... I have complained about his shoddy workmanship to my ID before...for example his trunking always cut too short and leave exposed wires, he broke 2 of my kitchen tiles, he installed my doorbell with 1 battery short so it's not working and he forgot to install a LAN point even though we paid for it... luckily the other team of workers doing carpentry and painting are very nice and they also help him 'cover up' by sealing his exposed wires and all that... Anyway, I will see how my ID settles this... I don't want to get upset over such stupid things. What nonsense. He think what... even young kids also know how to plug in how can it be you all who make it faulty?! Rubbish. Only 3 days and liddat. haiz At least he say FOC. if not FOC I think you will go mad also. Anyhow do things still blame people. yucks. Hope everything will be resolved for you soon!!!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahockz 1 Report post Posted November 26, 2008 (edited) how can that be, even if it is "us" plug incorrectly, it is he responsibility to ensure that the socket is able to withstand such a things. Maybe he buy those cheap cheap one. oh yah, all the socket got the safety label? I was told b4 about the current used in the house, maybe u wan to tes to turn on all electric items in the house together to ensure it will not trip. Edited November 26, 2008 by ahockz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CybNoX 0 Report post Posted November 27, 2008 yea, don't be too upset .. my electrican tested every single socket with a light indicator that is bulit into a plug head, it will simply light up to indicate that the socket is working properly. did he install those generic brand sockets or.. ? i was given MK and so far they are quite ok. you may want him to do that or his own way of testing.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mmycheng 0 Report post Posted November 28, 2008 (edited) My ID helped me settle liao and the elctrician will DEFINITELY come tmr...he even called me twice (once yesterday and once today) to confirm that he's coming, he still didn't apologise for the mistakes but oh well I guess that's his way of making up for his mistakes. Yesterday went with hb to SITEX...first day of the fair so not really that crowded. Went home feeling very poor cos we bought 2 TVs...faint ... To console myself, I will say that we got a very good deal on what we bought...haha... 自己安慰自己... Will post the pics when the TVs are installed next week. Edited November 28, 2008 by mmycheng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted November 28, 2008 YAY most imptly... prob solved. good for you! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mwerkz 0 Report post Posted November 29, 2008 My ID helped me settle liao and the elctrician will DEFINITELY come tmr...he even called me twice (once yesterday and once today) to confirm that he's coming, he still didn't apologise for the mistakes but oh well I guess that's his way of making up for his mistakes. Yesterday went with hb to SITEX...first day of the fair so not really that crowded. Went home feeling very poor cos we bought 2 TVs...faint ... To console myself, I will say that we got a very good deal on what we bought...haha... 自己安慰自己... Will post the pics when the TVs are installed next week. erms.. wat model did u get n how much? cos i was thinking this sitex, de price is not as competitive as last yr comex. last yr w series sony 40" only 2499 comes with 400bucks isetan voucher, this yr it is 2699 come with 400bucks choice voucher. others like v series last yr 2399 with 300bucks isetan voucher, this yr it's 2499 with home theatre sys. i m looking at series 6 650 model. but seems like it was cheaper at gain city expo sale - 2399 with more freebies, compared to now at 2499 -_-" Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mmycheng 0 Report post Posted November 29, 2008 (edited) YAY most imptly... prob solved. good for you! Yup. The electricians came down today and finally got the faulty sockets replaced... after giving 'feedback' to my ID, the electrician even offered to buy me a wireless door bell as the existing one has problems with the internal wiring. My hb bought the Pioneer Kuro 42" at 50% off for the 'display' set. I'm saddened by the news that a fellow Sg was killed by terrorists in Mumbai... life is so precious and yet these people treat it as if it's nothing. Edited November 29, 2008 by mmycheng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mwerkz 0 Report post Posted November 29, 2008 Yup. The electricians came down today and finally got the faulty sockets replaced... after giving 'feedback' to my ID, the electrician even offered to buy me a wireless door bell as the existing one has problems with the internal wiring. My hb bought the Pioneer Kuro 42" at 50% off for the 'display' set. I'm saddened by the news that a fellow Sg was killed by terrorists in Mumbai... life is so precious and yet these people treat it as if it's nothing. keke. i oso think it's worth gettin de display set. good price too =) ya. i'm saddened by the news of tat fellow sg killed in mumbai too. life's so fragile. things seems to be going so right for her. pretty, successful in life. but, juz when she was beginning to reap her rewards for working hard earlier, she had to leave this world Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted November 29, 2008 Yup. The electricians came down today and finally got the faulty sockets replaced... after giving 'feedback' to my ID, the electrician even offered to buy me a wireless door bell as the existing one has problems with the internal wiring. My hb bought the Pioneer Kuro 42" at 50% off for the 'display' set. I'm saddened by the news that a fellow Sg was killed by terrorists in Mumbai... life is so precious and yet these people treat it as if it's nothing. Good that the problem is solved... and at least he tried to make up with something... I was saddened too... but not really for the fellow SG.... for the people around the world who put up with this kind of thing every single day... from the time they are born. It really makes a different where we're born isn't it? We are lucky. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites