mmycheng

Mandy & Lincoln - Renovating Our First Home

wah never seen this kopi machine before

can advise where this machine can be seen

me wana go with WTB to kpo abit

hehe

Taka shopping centre level 1 near the furniture area. They have a big booth there and the friendly sales people will gladly offer you a free cup of expresso or latte and you can choose from 12 flavours! I tried the one with the black capsule...super strong and fragrant! Makes me want to go back there again to try other flavours but I think I'm too paiseh liao lah...wait they recognise me! So better convince my hb to let me buy the machine... :sport-smiley-004:

Ok.. I had a lousy day and I'm still fuming so better don't write too much... :furious:

All I can say in a nutshell is... it is impossible to contact the HDB officer in-charge of my area to and the hdb contracted window repairman claimed that hdb said they do not have my house key when it was already given to them.

Anyway, by the time I went in the evening to check, the cement screeding was already done but windows still broken. If there was no key, did they walk through walls to do my floor???

No pics of flooring yet, only the cement screed pkts which I took last weekend.

Floorscreed.jpg

Pktsoffloorscreed.jpg

n_ess_c100_1.jpg

i love this machine! the price seems affordable too. :wub:

sure get scolded by hb if i buy this. :bangwall:

i love this machine! the price seems affordable too. :wub:

sure get scolded by hb if i buy this. :bangwall:

Pretend to bring your hb shopping at taka then walk past the Nespresso booth...drag him there to drink a free cup of kopi and convince him why you guys should get it for the house... :notti:

Oops...i hope he's not reading this...wait he scold me! :P

Taka shopping centre level 1 near the furniture area. They have a big booth there and the friendly sales people will gladly offer you a free cup of expresso or latte and you can choose from 12 flavours! I tried the one with the black capsule...super strong and fragrant! Makes me want to go back there again to try other flavours but I think I'm too paiseh liao lah...wait they recognise me! So better convince my hb to let me buy the machine... :sport-smiley-004:

hehe i will be at taka tomorrow

cos me and wtb frequent the place alot :dancingqueen:

i just get my free kopi there la

isit the same level as mcdonalds?

:sport-smiley-003:

Haha! It's too cute alreadi... the more I see the more I want it...

Terrible...hb sure scold me one... already just bought 3 Irobots for cleaning and now want to spend more $$ on other gadgets... 8|

No terrible, no terrible! :P We should enjoy our time at home, and what better way to enjoy than to surround ourselves with pple and things that we love? :dancingqueen:

hehe i will be at taka tomorrow

cos me and wtb frequent the place alot :dancingqueen:

i just get my free kopi there la

isit the same level as mcdonalds?

:sport-smiley-003:

Yup, its on the same level as Macs. You go try some other flavour then tell me whether nice or not... :D

Finally, the hacking and wet works have started! Yay! :D

I took some pics of my hacked walls and ceramic tiles. The workers will be doing the tiling tmr so if I have time I will go and take some more pics...Hb and I have to go settle our oven tmr and we're so torn over which brand to buy...Ariston, Electrolux or Brandt. Seems like all 3 are well well-known and reliable brands... max budget $1200...do you think i can get a catalytic self-cleaning one for that price?

Hacked wall - new opening leading to WIW (view from MBR)

CIMG1672.jpg

Original door to WIW. Door frame hacked off and will be sealed up.

CIMG1675.jpg

Hacked wall of study room. It will be sealed back halfway up again to enclose a glass panel. (View from living room)

CIMG1677.jpg

Ceramic tiles and sand waiting to be used tmr....

CIMG1678.jpg

CIMG1679.jpg

mmycheng

i will go check it out

wah ur budget quite high

1199 for catalytic Brandt oven at Mega

can go see if u like the design

maybe u can go look see

good luck

I finally bought my oven today from Mayer at IMM and while I was there, I also bought a dining table and chairs set. Pics below for your viewing pleasure! Budget busted for both items... 8|

Ariston Catalytic Self-Cleaning Oven with automatic shut-off and digital controls

AristonOvenFZ990C1IX.jpg

Clear glass dining table with 4 white acrylic chairs (refer to chair at front right)

Diningtable1.jpg

Tmr will be going to balestier and jln besar to settle bathroom accessories and also to change the tap for my kitchen sink...the more i look at the one we bought, the more i think i think its ugly....hopefully i can find something i like better... :ph34r:

Today we had a myriad of experiences and lots of feelings on my end... I shall try to document it for memory sake. Haha :D

1. Had a meeting with our ID today and she showed me the reno pjt schedule. Kindda dawned onto me that the reno process is finally getting underway and I can see the end of it... OCT 25... that's like in 5 weeks time! It's exciting to move to my own place...finally! But also sad that I'll be leaving my old place and my parents...I can start a countdown perhaps? Let's see... 35 days and counting! Hee :sport-smiley-004:

2. The past 1 mth plus has been one of buying frenzy...every day, we would surf the net (esp forums!) for tips and ideas on what and where to buy household stuff. Every weekend, we would drive around the island to look at this and that...feeling a tad poorer everytime we make a purchase...worrying if we would have enough $ :( But today's feeling was a little different, it was more of relief than worry. Having bought all of our big ticket items, we are left with only 2 more big items to go... curtains and the TVs for the MBR and living room. My hb's waiting for new model releases or perhaps good bargains on older models...but we agreed that this purchase would come much later so it's relief in that there's some light at the end of this seemingly neverending spending spree... :P

3. On a reverse note... I wonder if I will go cold turkey?? Why? It's beacuse I've been spending so much energy (and $) buying things recently and this will now slowdown drastically... the intense conversations and joint-decision making with hb is also such an exciting process to go through... i wonder what else will sustain this adrenalin rush in the near future? :unsure:

4. What my hb says is true...whichever salesperson we meet is very lucky because we go into the shop more or less knowing what we want, so it's a relatively easy sales job with us as customers and we suck at bargaining as well... but I do admit that up till now, the service we received at the various shops we have bought our stuff from have ranged from good to excellent. It's so gratifying that the whole renovation process is made a lot easier for me by all these good service staff... :yamseng:

Ok...I think you've had enough reading this for now...time for photos of the stuff I bought today or confirmed order... in my excitement, I forgot to take pics of various things..aiyo..nvm... if got chance then go back to the shop agn...but I think let me take a break for now...

Dish Rack

CIMG1688.jpg

Halogen lightbulb for WIW dresser

CIMG1682.jpg

Halogen lightbulb for MBR toilet vanity

CIMG1681.jpg

Towel Rails - Single and Double

CIMG1684.jpg

MBR toilet racks

CIMG1686.jpg

Other things bought:

- Joven water storage heater

- Shower head, rod and mixer for common toilet

-Rainshower set for MBR toilet but still on KIV (Poh Joo boss told me to measure my toilet height first, apparently need at least 2.2m from floor to rainshower head to be effective...otherwise he said will be a waste of money)

Missed out pic of kitchen sink...

Sink_Kitchen.jpg

Wow. Looks like u guys had a fruitful time yesterday. Hehehe... Very nice table. I saw it when I went IMM todae. hehehe.. I'm looking forward to the time when I can start buying like what u r doing now! :P

No stress! I'm sure that there will be other exciting happenings in life. This is just one stage, and there will be many many others. Hehehe.. so the excitement is sustainable.

Keep the fotos coming!

Wow. Looks like u guys had a fruitful time yesterday. Hehehe... Very nice table. I saw it when I went IMM todae. hehehe.. I'm looking forward to the time when I can start buying like what u r doing now! :P

No stress! I'm sure that there will be other exciting happenings in life. This is just one stage, and there will be many many others. Hehehe.. so the excitement is sustainable.

Keep the fotos coming!

Thanks Angel81 :) It is a process we go through which makes life all that more meaningful...and you're right...new excitments will come our way soon enough.

When is your reno starting?

ur oven is ..... :dribble::dribble::good:

u guys must have broke the bank this weekend!! 8|

great looks!! :deal:

What broke the bank?? I felt like AIG yesterday...bankrupt and waiting for the federal govt to come with a rescue package... it did eventually...in the form of Sg shares growth dividends!! :P It's a small sum but nonetheless, thankful for something. heh...

Did you eventually go to taka and try the kopi machine??? :notti:

Edited by mmycheng

I finally bought my oven today from Mayer at IMM and while I was there, I also bought a dining table and chairs set. Pics below for your viewing pleasure! Budget busted for both items... 8|

Clear glass dining table with 4 white acrylic chairs (refer to chair at front right)

Diningtable1.jpg

Tmr will be going to balestier and jln besar to settle bathroom accessories and also to change the tap for my kitchen sink...the more i look at the one we bought, the more i think i think its ugly....hopefully i can find something i like better... :ph34r:

nice chairs, the ones at lifestorey has outlines of human legs haha hilarious stuff and **** i like the coffee machine...

Edited by honeyclub