mmycheng

Mandy & Lincoln - Renovating Our First Home

I got mine through the April bi-monthly balloting ex this year. Got our keys in July but didn't do anything until now cos hb and I were not free.

Which floor you on? I'm on 17th.

We got ours through the Balloting Ex last year July. When we went to select our unit, we selected the highest unit available. U were lucky to get 17th floor. :sport-smiley-018: I tink the couple who chose the unit forfeited the deposit..

I'm on the 14th.. :D

L3x

Edited by Lin & L3x

Been a rainy week so not good for photos as the sky is always overcast and makes the flat's interior gloomy.

However, managed to catch a bit of sun when I went over last weekend and got a couple of pics of the wiring works done plus views from my WIW and MBR.

Wiring done for the living room and foyer

CIMG1562.jpg

More pics of the wiring works here...

http://s401.photobucket.com/albums/pp92/mm...Wiring%20Works/

View of Lakeside from my MBR

CIMG1576.jpg

View of the CC, food centre and S11 food court from my WIW

CIMG1575.jpg

I got mine through the April bi-monthly balloting ex this year. Got our keys in July but didn't do anything until now cos hb and I were not free.

Which floor you on? I'm on 17th.

Wah very high floor?

8|

was wondering how come u get 17th during april sales.. haha.. really lucky >.> but poor thing to the couple who forfeit deposit. :furious:

Thanks everyone. :) Yeah...very lucky lor... after 6 tries of balloting we were going to give up liao. We actually decided that if we were unsuccessful for this try, we would just live in with parents for some time first and then save up to buy a D&B or condo cos we dun really want a resale flat.

But then 'someone' must have heard our cries and suddenly very 'heng' lor... got queue number 44 and were basically the first few to get choice of flats for the west area... yeah, dunno what happened to the prev couple who forfeited the flat and their deposit...

We're on the 17th floor. The good thing is that we have an unobstructed view from our bedrooms and thus also the privacy. I like to live on high floors for apartments...the higher the better... I keep drooling at those lucky ones who got like 40th floor for Duxton.. :dribble:

This weekend, hb and I decided that we will visit the city gas showroom in town. Anyone been there before? We're thinking of buying a gas-fired water heater for the bathroom. Any comments?

*clap *clap

6 tries!!

basically ur place will be very windy le

u talking abt Pinnacle?

love the location cos its near my parents old place

u seen the dryer and heater?

some reviews of it here

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...mp;#entry243617

Thanks smartfool. Looks like installation of gas heater is more troublesome cos of the piping and location needs of the heater. But the good thing is that it saves $$ and also the hot water can be piped to other taps too. sigh...decisions..decisions...really dunno which to choose...storage or instant electric or instant gas heaters...

Edited by mmycheng

Need advice on toilet door! :unsure:

My toilet door is the standard HDB bi-fold type. The design of my MBR toilet is such that the glass shower screen goes on the left of the door and the vanity top with sink on its right. However, when the door opens fully to the right, it will hit the vanity top. Even if I changed the door's direction to open to the left, it will then hit my shower screen... You can see the existing situtation before reno below and the toilet design as well.

What can I do to preserve my toilet design but still have a door? Any creative ideas?!? Help...

CIMG1499.jpg

MasterRoomToilet.jpg

Thanks smartfool. Looks like installation of gas heater is more troublesome cos of the piping and location needs of the heater. But the good thing is that it saves $$ and also the hot water can be piped to other taps too. sigh...decisions..decisions...really dunno which to choose...storage or instant electric or instant gas heaters...

yes u need to knw where to put the gas heater

for both my frens who use it nw, their gas heater is located in the kitchen above their washer

so u can check if it can be placed there

gd luck! :sport-smiley-003:

My toilet door is the standard HDB bi-fold type. The design of my MBR toilet is such that the glass shower screen goes on the left of the door and the vanity top with sink on its right. However, when the door opens fully to the right, it will hit the vanity top. Even if I changed the door's direction to open to the left, it will then hit my shower screen... You can see the existing situtation before reno below and the toilet design as well.

What can I do to preserve my toilet design but still have a door? Any creative ideas?!? Help...

get a glass door that swing outwards? :dunno:

Frosted glass sliding door? Can slide left, into the shower area. Then ur shower screen get those half screen that'll be place next to the shower head. Duno if u know what i mean. heheh

get a glass door that swing outwards? :dunno:

Thought of that but can't get a swing out door cos either way it will hit the door of the MBR. :dunno:

Frosted glass sliding door? Can slide left, into the shower area. Then ur shower screen get those half screen that'll be place next to the shower head. Duno if u know what i mean. heheh

If the shower screen is a half screen type, does that mean the water will all flow out of the area onto the rest of the toilet? I would like to separate my wet and dry areas.

Tink what u can do is to make ur shower area slightly lower than the dry area. I read it somewhere in the forum that some1 did that. Can't rem who le, paiseh.

Tot of asking u to make a curb, but that will mean that ur door has to be higher than the curb in order to slide. U gota see whh idea suits u bah. The curb will be fine if u have a curb at the toilet entrance. Entrance curb slightly higher than shower area curb. Then wun have a slit btw curb and door, and door can slide above the shower area curb.

Hehe, for mi, I tink I'll go with the lower shower area. :)