pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 11, 2009 Hi pinkpetter, need to ask a question since I see you quite seasoned already... My place is a 12 yr old condo. Wondering if it is necessary to do rewiring of the whole place? If don't need, I will only do wires for new lighting points etc. Can save a lot of money! Thanks! seasoned? hehe wah... no la. mm Mine was 20 years and i didn't rewire also leh. A complete rewire (taking out ALL the wires in the ceiling) will probably set you back $3-6k? From what I've seen quoted around. I've been told by a number of contractors that as long as you don't disturb the wires in the ceiling there isn't a problem. Electricians can check if there's leakage anywhere... ask them to do it. If there isn't any problems and the wires are in good condition then SAVE MONEY! Anyway how long do you intend to stay? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
DKCH 0 Report post Posted June 11, 2009 seasoned? hehe wah... no la. mm Mine was 20 years and i didn't rewire also leh. A complete rewire (taking out ALL the wires in the ceiling) will probably set you back $3-6k? From what I've seen quoted around. I've been told by a number of contractors that as long as you don't disturb the wires in the ceiling there isn't a problem. Electricians can check if there's leakage anywhere... ask them to do it. If there isn't any problems and the wires are in good condition then SAVE MONEY! Anyway how long do you intend to stay? Probably for the next 10 years. So, if yours 20 years still ok... maybe 10 years just about right to leave and let the next guy do the rewiring then haha! Yeah, the rewiring is quite expensive, quoted like 50 bucks for each lighting point, 70 bucks for single 13A points, 90 bucks for double 13A points. Comes up to quite a bit! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 12, 2009 Probably for the next 10 years. So, if yours 20 years still ok... maybe 10 years just about right to leave and let the next guy do the rewiring then haha! Yeah, the rewiring is quite expensive, quoted like 50 bucks for each lighting point, 70 bucks for single 13A points, 90 bucks for double 13A points. Comes up to quite a bit! to share share... my house was also 12yrs old. So when i asked if i needed to do re-wiring, my contractor just torn open the casing and show me that the wire is still new and soft. Only if the wires are hard and seem to crack any moment, then u'll need to rewiring the entire house. i think for condo even better right? Since most of the electrical wires are concealed? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 12, 2009 Probably for the next 10 years. So, if yours 20 years still ok... maybe 10 years just about right to leave and let the next guy do the rewiring then haha! Yeah, the rewiring is quite expensive, quoted like 50 bucks for each lighting point, 70 bucks for single 13A points, 90 bucks for double 13A points. Comes up to quite a bit! mmm this per point thing is still cheap ah.. if have to yank out from across the ceiling and change that's the MOST ex! Yes.. let the next guy do it man. to share share... my house was also 12yrs old. So when i asked if i needed to do re-wiring, my contractor just torn open the casing and show me that the wire is still new and soft. Only if the wires are hard and seem to crack any moment, then u'll need to rewiring the entire house. i think for condo even better right? Since most of the electrical wires are concealed? ya I think condo should be "safer" in a way ba Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 read your whole t-blog today, after coming back from a long time from this thread and realised I read about Jojo and your sink without hole before from your blog... just wondering, is it better to re-wire for a flat that is over 30 years to play safe? wouldnt want any thing to happen after moving into an unit but also watching my budget... will uncle soon advise on this matter? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2009 read your whole t-blog today, after coming back from a long time from this thread and realised I read about Jojo and your sink without hole before from your blog... just wondering, is it better to re-wire for a flat that is over 30 years to play safe? wouldnt want any thing to happen after moving into an unit but also watching my budget... will uncle soon advise on this matter? Wah you read through?? very long leh Pei fu. mmm It does seem like a better idea to rewire. However a complete rewiring involves yanking out all the wires from the ceiling and total relaying can cost up to 4k. A partial one where you change all the visible wires can cost 2-3k. Ah Soon will yank out some of the wires to test if they are still soft and sustainable to advise you. If the wires are brittle and easily broken, then it's time for a change Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2009 Wah you read through?? very long leh Pei fu. mmm It does seem like a better idea to rewire. However a complete rewiring involves yanking out all the wires from the ceiling and total relaying can cost up to 4k. A partial one where you change all the visible wires can cost 2-3k. Ah Soon will yank out some of the wires to test if they are still soft and sustainable to advise you. If the wires are brittle and easily broken, then it's time for a change lolz took me a few hours but gotten a few good locations to buy stuff and places to avoid wow, 4k... have to check with my wife what we plan to do... thanks for the help Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2009 lolz took me a few hours but gotten a few good locations to buy stuff and places to avoid wow, 4k... have to check with my wife what we plan to do... thanks for the help Discuss how long you intend to stay there first... 5yrs? 10yrs? if it's long term then it'll be a good investment ba. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2009 Discuss how long you intend to stay there first... 5yrs? 10yrs? if it's long term then it'll be a good investment ba. 5 years probably... we intends to change if we can in the future, but of course, if we can't or if we don't need to, then we will not change immediately when 5 years is up... 3rm now, 5 years later, maybe 4rm (hopefully there's enbloc) or better Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2009 mmm if it's me... 5yrs I wun do total rewiring.. but then that's me. I'm stingy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
born_again 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2009 read your whole t-blog today, after coming back from a long time from this thread and realised I read about Jojo and your sink without hole before from your blog... just wondering, is it better to re-wire for a flat that is over 30 years to play safe? wouldnt want any thing to happen after moving into an unit but also watching my budget... will uncle soon advise on this matter? My dad's friend who is an electrician advised his clients to re-wire if the last re-wiring was more than 20yrs ago. My friend also said advisable to do it. It depends on individual, some still opt to keep it but i'll reduce budget from other places to do re-wiring. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2009 My dad's friend who is an electrician advised his clients to re-wire if the last re-wiring was more than 20yrs ago. My friend also said advisable to do it. It depends on individual, some still opt to keep it but i'll reduce budget from other places to do re-wiring. mm agreed. it's a choice ba. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rierie 0 Report post Posted June 18, 2009 yoyoyo!!! aiyo..when's your recess area reno going to start? wait very long le.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 18, 2009 yoyoyo!!! aiyo..when's your recess area reno going to start? wait very long le.. YAAAAA I wait until my hair turn white liao! My original HDB officer was a good one... then she handed over to this new one... this one... DOESN'T RESPOND AT ALLLL I sent 2 emails in 7 days and there's no response... got to keep calling her liao. URGH Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 18, 2009 keep bugging her with phonecalls! Sometimes ah... these officers really switch on the holiday mood all the time. i waiting for ur reno part 2 also wait until hair white liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites