pinkpetter

The Home We've Been Looking Forward To

So cool???? you mean when they get pregnant they will have spots? That's cool! Although I don't have plans to get fish but I'll definitely look out when I go to the pet shop...

gaku and pink: yaya. i bought that guppy, 2 days then she gave birth liao. now i have 9 fries and someone reserved 2 liao. and the other 2 females also giving birth soon.

it's quite entertaining rearing them.

hmmm. mine wont leh. but the other fishes definitely will. so must separate them.

however, i am not taking any chances. i separated my young ones from their mother.

hmmm. mine wont leh. but the other fishes definitely will. so must separate them.

however, i am not taking any chances. i separated my young ones from their mother.

Ok share another tip today.

If the mother guppies feel threaten she will eat up the fries. The fries will also be free food for the rest of the pack.

One way to do it is to use moss. Once the mother give birth to the fries, they will sink to the bottom. The moss will help to prevent adults guppies from feeding the fries. If possible have a tank solely for delivery.

Remember to feed the mother well. She will eat the fries if she is hungry as well. If possible try to wait for the delivery and siphon the fries to a different tank. That's what I did. Very tiring to keep up all night waiting but it is worthwhile, trust me.

Ok lah, enough fish talk. Should concentrate on reno...sorry sidetrack too much today.

Edited by gaku70

one last thing on fish talk.

i remembered last time got i got a small delivery tank. There are two compartments, with a platform with small holesseparating the two. The mother guppy will be in the upper compartment. Once give birth, the fries will go through the holes in the platform and sink to the bottom. So it eliminate the possibility of being eaten by the mother.

But I dunno throw the fish tank to where liao. keke

mmm gaku.. so it's true then.. that the mommies will eat the babies in pressing conditions.. mm But they only eat when they're hungry.. unlike my hamsters last time....

guy... interesting tank.. is it bought or you modified it?

haha at this moment my reno is at a standstillllll until tmr when I can contact Uncle Soon...

pet: yes it is true that the mother guppies eat up the fries. I have witness before when I just started breeding guppies.

guy77: If I were the mother guppy, definitely I would not want to be in those plastic delivery tank. Next time when you used it, watch the mother if she is different from before.

I have used that delivery tank before and throw it away after it gave too much stress for the mother. The space in there is also too small. That's why I choose the natural way of another conducive tank which I decorated as much as possible to it's natural environment and with lots of moss below.

ya. the area for the mother is small. tat time i put the mother in when her stomach is big and i foresee she is going to give birth. hahaha.

... thank you. then you've made me more determined not to get guppies... I will be very upset and cry and probably blame myself. haha *women* :)

Wish me luck for tomorrow.. that I'll be able to get the water meter people to come...

wow. so good!!!

the coming week will be a whirlwind week for me. so many things to do. kekeke.

all the best for tmr's meeting with uncle. update us!