pinkpetter

The Home We've Been Looking Forward To

me love your 'balcony' & your bedroom light. Wish my house can take such avantgarde looking lights

btw, Yang Guifei is loitering around on the void deck cos she is one of the 4 well-known beauties (that's why the estate is called Simei; in pinyin, it is Four Beauties)

I'm getting APEX5 to do roller blinds for my son's room, and the windows facing the common corridor. I hope they are not expensive. Satin roller blinds sound quite glam. How do you clean roller blinds?

Exciting, u will be moving soon. Packing is a mega chore. I dunno how u manage w 5 people's barang barang. In the past 20 years, I have moved home 10 or 11 times, but we still manage to accumulate a lot in the few years we stay at each place. This time, we have been renting a place for 6 months, I didn't unpack half the boxes :P

me love your 'balcony' & your bedroom light. Wish my house can take such avantgarde looking lights

btw, Yang Guifei is loitering around on the void deck cos she is one of the 4 well-known beauties (that's why the estate is called Simei; in pinyin, it is Four Beauties)

I'm getting APEX5 to do roller blinds for my son's room, and the windows facing the common corridor. I hope they are not expensive. Satin roller blinds sound quite glam. How do you clean roller blinds?

Exciting, u will be moving soon. Packing is a mega chore. I dunno how u manage w 5 people's barang barang. In the past 20 years, I have moved home 10 or 11 times, but we still manage to accumulate a lot in the few years we stay at each place. This time, we have been renting a place for 6 months, I didn't unpack half the boxes :P

haha YES I just found out today from someone who used to live in Simei also! I shall find the remaining 3 beauties. hahahah so funny one le.

didn't APEX5 do a quotation for you? My room's window about 3m long, need 2 panels will cost $280 cos my satin material a bit more ex. My sister and bro's, normal material, cost $200 each. We went to 4 shops at Tanjong Katong Complex and decided on this one which was the cheapest and most professional. :)

We've already began packing! haha amazingly 5 of us have about 20 medium sized boxes and a few big bags. I asked a friend of mine who recently moved... 2 of them had 20++ boxes. *PHEW*

My sister is an excellent packer. her policy is ... if you haven't looked at it in the last 3 years you'll never need it again. THROW!

Last thing about cleaning blinds... just pull to the max (gently of course) and wipe them down. That's all. :)

Edited by pinkpetter

Last thing about cleaning blinds... just pull to the max (gently of course) and wipe them down. That's all. :)

Thanks for letting me know the approx price. Haven't got quote from APEX5 cos they do house visits with the materials to get precise measurements. Maybe I should shop around for greater variety in materials.

You don't plan to open windows? or open windows the blinds must be rolled up?

I have only seen roller blinds used in aircon rooms. If windows are open and roller blinds are down, will the wind blow the blinds up and down?

haha actually no. :) we got rid of the car years ago when we noticed that age is catching up with dad and his driving is very reckless. I'm afraid. so byebye car.. :) It's just that we never had a need for a car and have been happy using public transport. Everywhere in SG is very accessible anyway.

UNTIL we had to go to Sungei Kadut today. haha and the IFC and Star Furniture are quite apart. Shopping for furniture and checking out prices would be much easier with a car. :) Thankfully we just have to do this ONCE.

... and from your question... is locating to HDB... a sign of "poverty"? haha this particular unit happen to cost us A LOT of COV. "relocate to HDB"....... does that mean you know where I live now? :)

Hihi Angel! I love them too!!! i'm so so so glad that I got rid of one more headache. Tomorrow I'm finalising the blinds... then we're ALL SET! :) Can dedicate the rest of our time to packing and bugging the Contractor :)

Don't get me wrong, was just reading your blog and saw your previous home does not looked like a HDB. Anyway, living in HDB is not a sign of poverty. My family lived in HDB too and we used to get tax the maximum percentage by IRAS. So, I would say living in HDB is a matter of preference. But downgrading is a convenient term to use to reference the pte to public transition albeit not very accurate in description.

Apologies for being a nosey uncle.. but sometimes reading people's blog make you curious about the person.. :bow: *Sorry* :bow: *Sorry*

Don't get me wrong, was just reading your blog and saw your previous home does not looked like a HDB. Anyway, living in HDB is not a sign of poverty. My family lived in HDB too and we used to get tax the maximum percentage by IRAS. So, I would say living in HDB is a matter of preference. But downgrading is a convenient term to use to reference the pte to public transition albeit not very accurate in description.

Apologies for being a nosey uncle.. but sometimes reading people's blog make you curious about the person.. :bow: *Sorry* :bow: *Sorry*

It's ok. Just really curious too. :)

PMed you "Uncle" I'm not young either. :)

Edited by pinkpetter

Thanks for letting me know the approx price. Haven't got quote from APEX5 cos they do house visits with the materials to get precise measurements. Maybe I should shop around for greater variety in materials.

You don't plan to open windows? or open windows the blinds must be rolled up?

I have only seen roller blinds used in aircon rooms. If windows are open and roller blinds are down, will the wind blow the blinds up and down?

hehe for my family, my dad takes measurements right down to the last millimetre. Very meticulous so Lucas from Jimmy Textiles was surprised too and said that with such accuracy he could give us an accurate quote also. He says difference of a few centimetres doesn't make much difference in pricing anyways.

Mmm yes.. open windows roll up. But we'll most likely roll it up halfway. Rarely let it up all the way. Unless it's very strong winds the blinds wouldn't flap too much with the white holder thing at its end I guess. :)

In my brother's case he never opens the windows...

whow... pinkpetter.... you got a very very detailed blog man.... Took me so much time to read... Hahahaha....

Oh... N I like your TV console....... You seem to do alot of homework for this house... Hee....

heyllo, can you give us the breakdown of your damage with Jimmy Textiles? TIA

On a seperate note, saw your blog today. Are those your pictures on the top of the blog home? I read you have a page dedicated to Lo Hwei Yen too. Sad... I was part of her wedding planner team in Bali. Still feeling sad over the incident...especially for those she left behind too. Enough of it...we should not mention any sad matters in this forum. I am cheering up :sport-smiley-018:

whow... pinkpetter.... you got a very very detailed blog man.... Took me so much time to read... Hahahaha....

Oh... N I like your TV console....... You seem to do alot of homework for this house... Hee....

hihi!!!!! haha yes yes my blog very long... cos I'm on "leave" at moment.. got a lot of time to go to the house every day and take photos... haha you see my replies very fast. :) And also got more time to do homework for the house lor. :) hehe More legwork to recee pricing.

heyllo, can you give us the breakdown of your damage with Jimmy Textiles? TIA

On a seperate note, saw your blog today. Are those your pictures on the top of the blog home? I read you have a page dedicated to Lo Hwei Yen too. Sad... I was part of her wedding planner team in Bali. Still feeling sad over the incident...especially for those she left behind too. Enough of it...we should not mention any sad matters in this forum. I am cheering up :sport-smiley-018:

ehhh LOL I'm not sure how to type out the breakdown. I try.

(All half height windows, using roller blinds)

MBR - 1 panel (2060mm x 980mm) - $140

Bedroom 1 - 2 panels ( total: 3050 x 980) - $200

Bedroom 2 - 2 panels (total: 3050 x 980) - $200

Bedroom 3 - 2 panels (total: 3050 x980) - $280

MBR, Bedroom 1 and 2 use normal Blackout materials.

Bedrom 3 (MINE) use blackout material with satin sheen... thick satin material I think. :)

On top of that price, we had to pay GST. They will come to take exact measurements but this price is 99% confirm liao. Installation included and can be done one week after measuring. :) They work even on Christmas day. :)

Pulldown-spring system and chain system both same price. We chose chain cos more durable. During schooldays see those pull down OHP screen always spoilt.

Thanks for dropping by at my blog... *shall not dwell on unhappy matters too* :)

hey thanks for sharing. ai....not bad leh. not as expensive as I thought...may ask them to quote too :dancingqueen:

You're welcome. Glad you understand what I write. hahah :)

Actually my family was prepared to DIY thinking that custom made were expensive. But after checking out DIY blinds at Ikea and Spotlight we realised custom made are better cos better quality and the price difference isn't much.

Moreover Ikea ones.... they have translucent ones and only 2 types for the blackout ones... so we went for custom made. :)

Edited by pinkpetter

Hehehe.. Ur roller blinds quotation quite cheap! Check with u ah, will the roller blinds that u ordered have a gap btw the panels? Those that I see elsewhere have gaps in btw cuz of the rollers on top.

I was tinking if should do blinds or curtains in MBR. But I tink blinds will have a gap in btw, and I would like the room to b v dark (w/out gaps btw panels) wen I sleep. So roller blinds r out for mi rite? :(

eh... ya basically there will be a gap between the blinds. But if your window has two panels or 4 panels then the centre frame will block the gap....

:( There goes my roller blinds.... :(

your windows has 3 panels? or one panel only? If your window is smaller like my parents.. about 2m then need one panel only...