pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 Hahaha! So chim. Still got different grade of sand one. Hee... sand here liao means they gg to do tiling works. YESSSS but ytd they were still exchanging the wrong tiles that were delivered so not sure if they got the right tiles ytd. I do hope they did. I'll go check in the late afternoon to see what they have done Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 YESSSS but ytd they were still exchanging the wrong tiles that were delivered so not sure if they got the right tiles ytd. I do hope they did. I'll go check in the late afternoon to see what they have done Har?? Wrong tiles? Heng they found out and did not just lay the tiles. Hee.. can't wait to see ur huge foyer tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bubble-ling 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 Har?? Wrong tiles? Heng they found out and did not just lay the tiles. Hee.. can't wait to see ur huge foyer tiles. wow ur dad is an expert with sand..so dun hv to worry. tiling pics will be up next right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mmycheng 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 I learnt something new about the sand thingy...just out of curiosity, how does your dad tell the difference between sea sand and non-sea sand? And why does the former cause the tiles to pop? Bubble, I also bought my sofa from Red Apple and they also called me to ask if they can deliver the sofa earlier...my reno not done at that time so I told them they had to wait. Anyway, a few days before ctual delivery they called me to confirm. My sofa did come on the day as promised but it was very very late... it was supposed to come between 2-5pm, the sofa was eventually delivered only at 8pm! Luckily the model, colour and condition was good... otherwise I would have gone bersek for being made to wait so long for it. I think you better call them the day before to double check and also call them on the day itself.... their logistics dept is seriously a bit screwed up...sad. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cher 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 YESSSS but ytd they were still exchanging the wrong tiles that were delivered so not sure if they got the right tiles ytd. I do hope they did. I'll go check in the late afternoon to see what they have done envy u leh..machiam no need to work Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 Har?? Wrong tiles? Heng they found out and did not just lay the tiles. Hee.. can't wait to see ur huge foyer tiles. hahah We brought the samples that the tile shop gave us.... brought there and Contractor started looking for the tiles. THEN realised that they didn't send the red tiles for the common toilet and sent the wrong white tiles too! Luckily MBR toilet is correct so might do that first. Later after lunch I go see what they have been doing today. heheheheh wow ur dad is an expert with sand..so dun hv to worry. tiling pics will be up next right? mm I do hope so. But they have to level up my balcony and up 3/4 of my toilets first cos doing a sunken shower area. Dunno whether they will do that first. I do check on them today then call my contractor tonight. Day time is a bad time to call him. I learnt something new about the sand thingy...just out of curiosity, how does your dad tell the difference between sea sand and non-sea sand? And why does the former cause the tiles to pop? Bubble, I also bought my sofa from Red Apple and they also called me to ask if they can deliver the sofa earlier...my reno not done at that time so I told them they had to wait. Anyway, a few days before ctual delivery they called me to confirm. My sofa did come on the day as promised but it was very very late... it was supposed to come between 2-5pm, the sofa was eventually delivered only at 8pm! Luckily the model, colour and condition was good... otherwise I would have gone bersek for being made to wait so long for it. I think you better call them the day before to double check and also call them on the day itself.... their logistics dept is seriously a bit screwed up...sad. Sea sand absorb water easily... more porous.. something like that.. and it's cheaper. Some construction sites mix sea sand with the normal grade ones. They bring the normal ones for BCA to check and BCA gives them the pass. then they mix with sea sand to cut costs. I not sure how he check. He took up a handful and let it fall through his fingers to see if they clump then he put the sand against light to see.... He's quite meticulous one he checked the big pile downstairs, then he checked every pile in every room. WAH that Red Apple ah.... mmm but when I ordered my sofa from Uvonna they also warned that now peak season might have some delays. Will be the correct day but plus minus 1-2 hours. I guess if pre-warned then ok ba.... mm envy u leh..machiam no need to work hahahahhahahahaha err block leave la. I leave until end of Dec. So every day can go see what uncle doing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 hahah We brought the samples that the tile shop gave us.... brought there and Contractor started looking for the tiles. THEN realised that they didn't send the red tiles for the common toilet and sent the wrong white tiles too! Luckily MBR toilet is correct so might do that first. Later after lunch I go see what they have been doing today. heheheheh hahahahhahahahaha err block leave la. I leave until end of Dec. So every day can go see what uncle doing. Heng man. Next time I'll do that as well. Now till end of Dec?! wah...... so cools. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bubble-ling 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 I learnt something new about the sand thingy...just out of curiosity, how does your dad tell the difference between sea sand and non-sea sand? And why does the former cause the tiles to pop? Bubble, I also bought my sofa from Red Apple and they also called me to ask if they can deliver the sofa earlier...my reno not done at that time so I told them they had to wait. Anyway, a few days before ctual delivery they called me to confirm. My sofa did come on the day as promised but it was very very late... it was supposed to come between 2-5pm, the sofa was eventually delivered only at 8pm! Luckily the model, colour and condition was good... otherwise I would have gone bersek for being made to wait so long for it. I think you better call them the day before to double check and also call them on the day itself.... their logistics dept is seriously a bit screwed up...sad. wahh frm 2-5pm then eventually arrive at 8pm...a very long wait indeed but luckily all was gd..i can imagine if they send the wrong one .. i think i better call them on the actual day asking them to give me a ring before they arrive at my place hahahaha i can nua at my mama hse before i pop over and start waiting hahah We brought the samples that the tile shop gave us.... brought there and Contractor started looking for the tiles. THEN realised that they didn't send the red tiles for the common toilet and sent the wrong white tiles too! Luckily MBR toilet is correct so might do that first. Later after lunch I go see what they have been doing today. heheheheh mm I do hope so. But they have to level up my balcony and up 3/4 of my toilets first cos doing a sunken shower area. Dunno whether they will do that first. I do check on them today then call my contractor tonight. Day time is a bad time to call him. Sea sand absorb water easily... more porous.. something like that.. and it's cheaper. Some construction sites mix sea sand with the normal grade ones. They bring the normal ones for BCA to check and BCA gives them the pass. then they mix with sea sand to cut costs. I not sure how he check. He took up a handful and let it fall through his fingers to see if they clump then he put the sand against light to see.... He's quite meticulous one he checked the big pile downstairs, then he checked every pile in every room. WAH that Red Apple ah.... mmm but when I ordered my sofa from Uvonna they also warned that now peak season might have some delays. Will be the correct day but plus minus 1-2 hours. I guess if pre-warned then ok ba.... mm hahahahhahahahaha err block leave la. I leave until end of Dec. So every day can go see what uncle doing. block leave!!! so envious leh...this is a gd time cos u can monitor ur reno closely also Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 Heng man. Next time I'll do that as well. Now till end of Dec?! wah...... so cools. ya after you pick the tiles... they give you the sample.. then you label which is for what. Then when the tiles come you leave them at your new house so that your tiler can figure out. I wrote everything in Chinese. cos tiler and contractor see chinese. hehehhe ok la my only break spent on reno wahh frm 2-5pm then eventually arrive at 8pm...a very long wait indeed but luckily all was gd..i can imagine if they send the wrong one .. i think i better call them on the actual day asking them to give me a ring before they arrive at my place hahahaha i can nua at my mama hse before i pop over and start waiting block leave!!! so envious leh...this is a gd time cos u can monitor ur reno closely also Ya can monitor closely that's why I keep telling my contractor I want to move by 2009 so that I can move within my block leave also. mmm ya think better call. otherwise you wait until sian. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bubble-ling 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 ya after you pick the tiles... they give you the sample.. then you label which is for what. Then when the tiles come you leave them at your new house so that your tiler can figure out. I wrote everything in Chinese. cos tiler and contractor see chinese. hehehhe ok la my only break spent on reno Ya can monitor closely that's why I keep telling my contractor I want to move by 2009 so that I can move within my block leave also. mmm ya think better call. otherwise you wait until sian. aiyo u blur liao lah u muz move in by 2008 if by 2009 ur contractor will take his time to do ur hse liao lor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 (edited) ya after you pick the tiles... they give you the sample.. then you label which is for what. Then when the tiles come you leave them at your new house so that your tiler can figure out. I wrote everything in Chinese. cos tiler and contractor see chinese. Arh... Good tip! I'll do just that when it's my turn! Edited December 11, 2008 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lakaik 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 Yeah, I did the same too.... I label the samples in chinese eg kitchen floor. Also print out simple layout and state the tile codes in the layout. cause some area like toilet wall tile have a bit of colour combination. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 aiyo u blur liao lah u muz move in by 2008 if by 2009 ur contractor will take his time to do ur hse liao lor hahah I meant to type... before 2009. Haiz was in a hurry to go out type wrongly Arh... Good tip! I'll do just that when it's my turn! Yuppers. My contractor told me to do that one Yeah, I did the same too.... I label the samples in chinese eg kitchen floor. Also print out simple layout and state the tile codes in the layout. cause some area like toilet wall tile have a bit of colour combination. mmm I gave the instruction verbally and my tiler scribbled on the walls in marker. haha. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 As I said... I went at 5pm just now to check on the progress of the house... hehe the Tiler Uncle was there. i was a bit pai seh that didn't bring something for them to thank them for their work. Maybe tomorrow then bring. Didn't expect them to be there still... Much more progress today!!! The moment I stepped in I saw... The hollow block to close up the last bedroom is ALL DONE! yay! They also managed to tile the master toilet wall. The gap on the right is for the mosaics which they have not delivered. Cemented the walls of the common toilet, getting it ready for tiling. The white tiles (which have finally been delivered) are in a bin of water just outside the common toilet. They also patched the foyer where one of the walls was hacked. Lastly my red tiles for the common toilet are finally delivered! So they can complete the MBR toilet and start on the common toilet tmr! The only delay now is that Hafary hasn't delivered my Italian tiles for the foyer. URGH cos my dad wants the foyer tiles to be in line with the tiles in the Living and the kitchen... those tiles have to be laid FIRST! which is why the workers are now stuck doing the toilets first... quick quick... gimme my foyer tiles!!!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted December 11, 2008 Yeah, I did the same too.... I label the samples in chinese eg kitchen floor. Also print out simple layout and state the tile codes in the layout. cause some area like toilet wall tile have a bit of colour combination. Wah.. haha.. Like that there's no use for the ID/main con liao. Hehehe.. cuz u guys are doing all these work! But yeah, another good tip. Will do that next time. As I said... I went at 5pm just now to check on the progress of the house... hehe the Tiler Uncle was there. i was a bit pai seh that didn't bring something for them to thank them for their work. Maybe tomorrow then bring. Didn't expect them to be there still... Much more progress today!!! The only delay now is that Hafary hasn't delivered my Italian tiles for the foyer. URGH cos my dad wants the foyer tiles to be in line with the tiles in the Living and the kitchen... those tiles have to be laid FIRST! which is why the workers are now stuck doing the toilets first... quick quick... gimme my foyer tiles!!!!!! Wah.. With this this, it's possible to shift in b4 2009 liaoz. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites