pinkpetter

The Home We've Been Looking Forward To

I can assure you Olive green is a nicer choice than monchromatic or neutral colour. I saw this colour before in a loft themed apartment on flickr once. I totally liked the effect it had on the bedroom based on the photo.

Besides your light is likely to be a warm yellow light since I don't know if you can stand the glare of white bulb shining on you from the wire pendant ma.

The guifei portrait is very special to be displayed in what i think is the void deck right?

Morning BunBun! hehe I did think of having those painted a very neutral melodramatic colour like a warm grey sorts but decided against it after much thought. I prefer to keep it simple with black and white and my multi coloured art work which I'm going to put up. haha :)

Sadly really no budget to do much now cos spent so much on reno. But will buy bits and pieces along the way to add them in :)

I know what you mean man. I will definitely get good sheets. But before that I need a good pillow. *backache*

I can assure you Olive green is a nicer choice than monchromatic or neutral colour. I saw this colour before in a loft themed apartment on flickr once. I totally liked the effect it had on the bedroom based on the photo.

Besides your light is likely to be a warm yellow light since I don't know if you can stand the glare of white bulb shining on you from the wire pendant ma.

The guifei portrait is very special to be displayed in what i think is the void deck right?

Yup agreed. hehe I tot of leaving it white to see how the effect is first. If I'm unhappy with it I'll paint it in June. hehe.

You're right! I'm the only one with the warm yellow light in the bedroom.

The wonders of makeover! Hee show us more pics of the renovation process.

PS: your home is going to be a little varied with differing personalities for sure.

Yup agreed. hehe I tot of leaving it white to see how the effect is first. If I'm unhappy with it I'll paint it in June. hehe.

You're right! I'm the only one with the warm yellow light in the bedroom.

haha BunBun you are SOOOOOO right! The general areas in my house are mostly white with a more modern tinge to it.

Bro's room will be in deep red with simple furnishings, beanbag... just like a bachelor's pad la.

Sis and Mom's rooms are more conventional... white with some brown solemn furniture...

As for mine? General white with some more quirky bits all over and art pieces... haha my own rubbish which my mom is SOOOO happy that I can do something with them now, instead of collecting dust. :P

Details of our shopping today.

As Easterners who live, shop, work in the East all year long, we made the necessary trip to the West today.

furnitureshopping7thDec01.jpg

It's been years since I've passed by this place.. haha We dropped by at a shop recommended by a friend first... but didn't get anything...

furnitureshopping7thDec08.jpg

Then we took the MRT and shuttle to IFC. For once I really feel the strains of not owning a car. But we all told ourselves that it's for this period only... :)

There we found our dream sofa at Uvonna. (or is it Univonna) :P

furnitureshopping7thDec03.jpg

This uber comfortable sofa... in a rich brown... like below.

furnitureshopping7thDec05.jpg

We walked about IFC, gathered some ideas... went to STAR Furniture... went to K&D furniture... But were still unhappy and weren't satisfied with the prices and styles offered.

In the end... we went to back to S&C Furniture. Melvin and wife remembered us and really served us very well. Melvin himself served us while his wife tended to two other groups. During the 2 hours we were there, he was with us throughout....... about 5 groups came in, confirmed and left during that time. :P

Some of the stuff we chose.

furnitureshopping7thDec10.jpg

Parent's Wardrobe. (quite low cos the air con trunking is blocking)

furnitureshopping7thDec11.jpg

Sis' Wardrobe (much higher cos she doesn't have the trunking and no beam blocking)

furnitureshopping7thDec14.jpg

Our coffee table

furnitureshopping7thDec15.jpg

Our TV console

furnitureshopping7thDec16.jpg

My bed.

furnitureshopping7thDec17.jpg

My wardrobe.

My parents and sister got Storage beds for their rooms, one king and one queen each.

I was reminded by Melvin not to give the prices of the items... but after doing so much checks and walking about I can safely say we saved $150 - $500 off each item you see here....

For 4 bedrooms and a living room, we spent about $6k which I find very reasonable...

Although you can't see the items like it is in a showroom... but after walking about SO MUCH, it easy to see that all the stuff is the same (unless you are toking abt the HIGH END stuff la) So... might as well get them cheap.

In case you're wondering S&C Furniture is at Ang Mo Kio Ave 1. PM me if you want the number. :)

Jus curious, why did you say not having a car just for this period??

No offence, but juz curious whether your dad biz affected by the downturn so you have to do without the car and relocate to HDB?

Jus curious, why did you say not having a car just for this period??

No offence, but juz curious whether your dad biz affected by the downturn so you have to do without the car and relocate to HDB?

haha actually no. :) we got rid of the car years ago when we noticed that age is catching up with dad and his driving is very reckless. I'm afraid. so byebye car.. :) It's just that we never had a need for a car and have been happy using public transport. Everywhere in SG is very accessible anyway.

UNTIL we had to go to Sungei Kadut today. haha and the IFC and Star Furniture are quite apart. Shopping for furniture and checking out prices would be much easier with a car. :) Thankfully we just have to do this ONCE.

... and from your question... is locating to HDB... a sign of "poverty"? haha this particular unit happen to cost us A LOT of COV. "relocate to HDB"....... does that mean you know where I live now? :)

:wub: Love ur sis's wardrobe and ur bed. :thumbs up:

Hihi Angel! I love them too!!! i'm so so so glad that I got rid of one more headache. Tomorrow I'm finalising the blinds... then we're ALL SET! :) Can dedicate the rest of our time to packing and bugging the Contractor :)

You know... your mum & sis will be doing some basic cleaning every week to clean the wardrobe interior if the wardrobe interiors are all walnut colour like the outside. 'Cos walnut colour can easily show ALOT of dust moulds appearing on the ceiling, sides and bottom.

I have a similar wardrobe to your sis's & its all walnut colour for the interior. Its kinda scary looking at those dust moulds often so have to air the insides as often as possible. Its always better to have white interiors though.

Btw nice coffee table & tv console. :D

Edited by BunBun

You know... your mum & sis will be doing some basic cleaning every week to clean the wardrobe interior if the wardrobe interiors are all walnut colour like the outside. 'Cos walnut colour can easily show ALOT of dust moulds appearing on the ceiling, sides and bottom.

I have a similar wardrobe to your sis's & its all walnut colour for the interior. Its kinda scary looking at those dust moulds often so have to air the insides as often as possible. Its always better to have white interiors though.

Btw nice coffee table & tv console. :D

Sigh but they like the walnut colour better lor. means mine might be like that also. mine's black. :P

Hehe thanks! I love those two too. :)

Last night I did the math while lying in bed I really realised how much the renovation is costing us. Sigh so much $$.

But after doing some calculation about the furniture... Most of you buy furniture for your own room (bed +wardrobe+side table), the living room and maybe one guest room.....

For us... we had to buy 4 beds, 4 wardrobes, 4 study tables... 4 sets of everything cos every room had to have its own set. One top of that, we have to include the living... So a lot of cost saving is needed....

Sigh but they like the walnut colour better lor. means mine might be like that also. mine's black. :P

Haiz.. seems like lots of forumers sae tat dark colors show dust easily. And I intend to do black glass sliding doors for my wardrobe. Haiz... sad.. more housework.

Last night I did the math while lying in bed I really realised how much the renovation is costing us. Sigh so much $$.

But after doing some calculation about the furniture... Most of you buy furniture for your own room (bed +wardrobe+side table), the living room and maybe one guest room.....

For us... we had to buy 4 beds, 4 wardrobes, 4 study tables... 4 sets of everything cos every room had to have its own set. One top of that, we have to include the living... So a lot of cost saving is needed....

Well, at least u guys are buying the stuff now, where there's lots of sales everywhere. Can u imagine if u have to buy stuff sae during March/April.. where there are no sales gg on? :)

Haiz.. seems like lots of forumers sae tat dark colors show dust easily. And I intend to do black glass sliding doors for my wardrobe. Haiz... sad.. more housework.

Well, at least u guys are buying the stuff now, where there's lots of sales everywhere. Can u imagine if u have to buy stuff sae during March/April.. where there are no sales gg on? :)

If it's just the door it's quite easy to clean ba. just wipe the surface can liao.. :)

You're right. we did save a lot I guess. :)

More maintenence cleaning every week then, you can mark my words cos i bet your sister and mum will not like those patches. I'm quite particular about it myself even though Im a bit of a lazy bummer myself hehehe.

Hehe thanks! I love those two too. :)

More maintenence cleaning every week then, you can mark my words cos i bet your sister and mum will not like those patches. I'm quite particular about it myself even though Im a bit of a lazy bummer myself hehehe.

hahaha good luck to them :P As for me I'm not fussy so... *close one eye*

Today we went to Jimmy Textiles at Tanjong Katong Complex to order roller blinds for each room

blinds01-1.jpg

Sister's room.. it's actually white but the lightings in room too warm...

Blinds02.jpg

Brother's room... black

Parent's have sliver glittery ones which I have a satin black one. Roller blinds for everyone for easy cleaning and we needn't taken them down for washing. I hate having the conventional curtains cos ley chey la. :P