pinkpetter

The Home We've Been Looking Forward To

I have a question le...

Whenever your contractor or ID agree to give you something for free... do you get it written down? or do you ask him to write in black and white?

If it is a product like FOC appliances usually no. But for more critical service like replacement of WC, waterproofing then it should be written. You don't want him to jam the reno half way and say he has forgotten to quote this in the quotation.

And if it is a lot of FOC, better let him put in Black and white cause it is Christmas season for giving generously, too many may forget ha ha :sport-smiley-004:

I have a question le...

Whenever your contractor or ID agree to give you something for free... do you get it written down? or do you ask him to write in black and white?

i didn't. based on trust lo. but to play safe u can ask him to amend the work list.

If it is a product like FOC appliances usually no. But for more critical service like replacement of WC, waterproofing then it should be written. You don't want him to jam the reno half way and say he has forgotten to quote this in the quotation.

And if it is a lot of FOC, better let him put in Black and white cause it is Christmas season for giving generously, too many may forget ha ha :sport-smiley-004:

i didn't. based on trust lo. but to play safe u can ask him to amend the work list.

Ok. Think I will write down and ask him to verify ba. mmm ya some of it is the more critical stuff. :) Thanks!!

Hahaha.. esp ur beautiful Italian tiles.. dun need top up.. should write down.. if not wait he sae ur gota pay! then will faint... hehehe.. :P

Oooo... todae hacking starts rite? :P

Haiz. Suppose to start hacking today.. but Contractor said easier to arrange for Monday/Tue hack and haul. so Today not hacking.

This weekend last selection of tiles... we selected the kitchen cabinet colour liao so have to choose the floor tile to match :)

And should be changing the MBR toilet tiles over the weekend also. bleh. busy busy weekend.

Put up the kitchen laminates in a while.

Edited by pinkpetter

confirmedlaminates1.jpg

confirmedlaminates2.jpg

Going to mix this laminate with gloss white laminate. Take a look carefully. this laminate looks grey when it's flat and brown-red when viewed from other angles. It's cheaper than the initial metallic ones that I wanted... but still more expensive than the regular gloss white one..

But then we're not going to use this nice laminate all over... it'll be mostly white with SOME of this nice (but more ex) laminate. wheeeee.

We're still debating about White or Black Worktop. LOL

I used white worktop before in my ex-home.... generally..... if yr family are the cooking kind... meaning... cook often... then I'm sure will clean up the kitchen often... then... white should not be a prob.

If dont cook often.... meaning... long long time cook once.... then it is usually a habit not to clean up kitchen.... then... sometime stain will form if not clean immediately.

Black should have no issue.. cos cannot see anyway

Ofcos.... if the colour need to blend with theme of kitchen.... then itis really design choice

Please reconsider the kitchen laminate unless you have seen one done and is satisfied. Having this kind of color reflection might not give the cabinet a solid feel. And when mixing with other laminate make sure the contrast style is acceptable.

Edited by 77suns

I used white worktop before in my ex-home.... generally..... if yr family are the cooking kind... meaning... cook often... then I'm sure will clean up the kitchen often... then... white should not be a prob.

If dont cook often.... meaning... long long time cook once.... then it is usually a habit not to clean up kitchen.... then... sometime stain will form if not clean immediately.

Black should have no issue.. cos cannot see anyway

Ofcos.... if the colour need to blend with theme of kitchen.... then itis really design choice

mmm We'll probably take black after looking at some comments in the forum. Well it certainly depends on our usage. haiz

Please reconsider the kitchen laminate unless you have seen one done and is satisfied. Having this kind of color reflection might not give the cabinet a solid feel. And when mixing with other laminate make sure the contrast style is acceptable.

MMmm the grey portions we're only using for very minimal cupboards... Only about 2 out of 7-8 that we will have and they will be at the ends. It's just to break the monotony. :) Just the other day there was one such design in the newspapers... Anyway it's not dead confirm. All depends on today ba :)

DSCF0014.jpg

Kitchen floor tile. Walls will be cement screeded

DSCF0015.jpg

Wall tiles for MBR toilet. the darker wall tile will also be used as floor tile. :) Mosaic will be put on the side with the darker wall tile.

DSCF0014.jpg

Kitchen floor tile. Walls will be cement screeded

DSCF0015.jpg

Wall tiles for MBR toilet. the darker wall tile will also be used as floor tile. :) Mosaic will be put on the side with the darker wall tile.

Wow, nice tiles, especially the mozaic...

where did you get your tiles from?

Today I went to LSH and Hafary, saw mozaic too but the lady told me if take glitter 1 must be careful in the long run if wash too many times, the glitter will go off.. I duno how true leh....

My hubby tot of putting the gold 1 in out MBR toilet.

mmm glitter go off? but the glitter is in the glass thing ma.. why will go off?

I go to Sin Lek ... at Eunos Ave 7. But actually hafary got more tiles la. just that the rest of my tiles are from here so I go back here to get my MBR toilet tiles. :)

The lady got say... for some of the mosaic... might come out even if grouted properly... so cannot put in wet areas. She say the newer ones tend to when this older one wun. :) Anyway I not putting in wet area of the bathroom.

Nice tiles you got there! With all that grey, it will be very post-modern looking. What colour are your kitchen cabinets and toilet cabinets?

I remember my hb and I drooling over some very nice mosaics at SBH but we restrained ourselves because our kitchen tiles are newly installed by HDB and we didn't want to spend money hacking the existing tiles plus purchasing new ones... nevermind...my next house! hehe :sport-smiley-004: