pinkpetter

The Home We've Been Looking Forward To

The single tile idea will make your house look sleek but I agree that you have to do your sums carefully. The pebble wash near the door sounds like a practical solution. :)

all i can say is...just get what you like else you will regret it in the future..:D

I know what you mean. I hate regretting.

The single tile idea will make your house look sleek but I agree that you have to do your sums carefully. The pebble wash near the door sounds like a practical solution. :)

Thanks mmycheng.

Ok After a lengthy discussion... Some of our tiles are below $3 which is the limit he gave us. We're hoping that that's leverage for our discussion with the contractor.. to absorb the cost of these tiles.

If the top up is $100 (and below) it'll be the single tile theory.

If not, we'll revert to picture two (with the orange tile format)

Demolition works

Hack all existing floor tiles in living, balcony and bedrooms

Hack off 2 existing toilet bowls

Hack 6ft full height wall between hall and kitchen at the main entrance

Hack existing balcony sliding panel (remove)

Dismantle kitchen cabinets and sink support

Hacking of all wall and floor tiles of kitchen

Hacking of all wall and floor tiles in both toilets

Haulage

Masonry Works

Supply and Lay 600mmX600mm homo tiles in living, bedrooms and balcony (Max $3/sqft)

Levelling of balcony area

2" homo skirting

Kitchen cabinet and shoe cabinet base

7ft full height hollow block wall for Study/bed room 4

Laying of tiles for kitchen floor

Stainless Steel plate behind hood area

Cement screed rest of the kitchen walls

Supply and lay wall and floor tiles in both toilets

Supply Labour to install toilet bowls and basins

Shower kerbs in both toilets

Carpentry Works (All to use same laminate/materials)

Fabricate and install 13ft (est.d) bottom kitchen cabinet only with laminate finish

Fabricate and install a full height kitchen cabinet at the end (3ft)

Fabricate and install kitchen cabinet for pipes

Fabricate and install cabinet cover for rubbish chute

Solid Surface Worktop (13ft)

6ft shoe cabinet at hallway (in place of the wall hacked)

Glass/Aluminium Works

3 track sliding Windows at Balcony (silver)

Install glass shower screen in Master bedroom toilet

Plumbing Works

Run inlet and outlet piping for Sink and Washing Machine

Change pipes in both toilets

Misc Works

Acid Wash

Whole house painting (including door, door frames and pipes)

1 door frame and door for Study/Bedroom 4

Electrical points (per socket and outlet)

My final work list with the contractor.

Renovation Permit approved... hacking begins on 28th Nov.

Feeling sick today after working to 10 plus last night.

Edited by pinkpetter

Demolition works

Hack all existing floor tiles in living, balcony and bedrooms

Hack off 2 existing toilet bowls

Hack 6ft full height wall between hall and kitchen at the main entrance

Hack existing balcony sliding panel (remove)

Dismantle kitchen cabinets and sink support

Hacking of all wall and floor tiles of kitchen

Hacking of all wall and floor tiles in both toilets

Haulage

Masonry Works

Supply and Lay 600mmX600mm homo tiles in living, bedrooms and balcony (Max $3/sqft)

Levelling of balcony area

2" homo skirting

Kitchen cabinet and shoe cabinet base

7ft full height hollow block wall for Study/bed room 4

Laying of tiles for kitchen floor

Stainless Steel plate behind hood area

Cement screed rest of the kitchen walls

Supply and lay wall and floor tiles in both toilets

Supply Labour to install toilet bowls and basins

Shower kerbs in both toilets

Carpentry Works (All to use same laminate/materials)

Fabricate and install 13ft (est.d) bottom kitchen cabinet only with laminate finish

Fabricate and install a full height kitchen cabinet at the end (3ft)

Fabricate and install kitchen cabinet for pipes

Fabricate and install cabinet cover for rubbish chute

Solid Surface Worktop (13ft)

6ft shoe cabinet at hallway (in place of the wall hacked)

Glass/Aluminium Works

3 track sliding Windows at Balcony (silver)

Install glass shower screen in Master bedroom toilet

Plumbing Works

Run inlet and outlet piping for Sink and Washing Machine

Change pipes in both toilets

Misc Works

Acid Wash

Whole house painting (including door, door frames and pipes)

1 door frame and door for Study/Bedroom 4

Electrical points (per socket and outlet)

My final work list with the contractor.

Renovation Permit approved... hacking begins on 28th Nov.

Feeling sick today after working to 10 plus last night.

Hi Pinkpetter, your reno works sounds pretty like mine. Can ask how much your contractor quote you?

PMed you.

after reno the house must be very nice!!! :)

cannot wait liao :sport-smiley-004:

haha I cannot wait also :sport-smiley-004:

Tonight will choose laminates and ask contractor about the foyer part. Wish me luck.

GOOD NEWSSSS

We're getting the 10.50/psf tile for the foyer without any topup!! YAY YAY YAY!

and my contractor left all the laminate samples and paint samples at our house for us to slowly choose over the next few days!!

kitchenlaminate1.jpg

The solid surface top colours...

kitchenlaminate2.jpg

The gloss laminates..

kitchenlaminate3.jpg

The metallic laminates I like. hahahahahaha

GOOD NEWSSSS

and my contractor left all the laminate samples and paint samples at our house for us to slowly choose over the next few days!!

kitchenlaminate1.jpg

The solid surface top colours...

kitchenlaminate2.jpg

The gloss laminates..

kitchenlaminate3.jpg

The metallic laminates I like. hahahahahaha

wah.. de metallic laminates are expensive. i remember i wanna choose something metallic. ID say no budget :(

The metallic laminates look delicious! Wish I had seen them for my home...:dribble:

Anyway, just to share a few tips from my experience:

1. For solid surface, try to choose lighter colours with more speckles or patterns -- this way, scratches in future won't be obvious. If you have to take a dark colour, choose one with some patterns.

2. For laminates, try the following -- touch, touch, touch...does it easily leave fingerprint marks? Also, dust is more obvious on smooth and dark coloured laminates.

Personally, I prefer those that are matt and slightly textured. I have a smooth, shiny black laminate for my living console and MBR bedside tables... everyday I see a layer of dust...I can wipe everyday but the dust goes back on again very quickly, or at least it's more obvious...sighz... ;)

3. The samples are a bit small but you can try this. Use a damp cloth and wipe over the ones you like. Let it dry and see which ones leave watermark stains... try not to choose those cos they will be harder to clean.

GOOD NEWSSSS

Wah.. from $3/psf to $10.50/psf? Good deal! :notti:

So happening! Can take ur time to choose and feel the materials. :)

The metallic laminates look delicious! Wish I had seen them for my home...:dribble:

Oooo... Good tips! Hhehehe.. I'm gg to save this, so i'll know what to do when it's my turn to choose!

wah.. de metallic laminates are expensive. i remember i wanna choose something metallic. ID say no budget :(

is it??? My contractor never say anything about not choosing those le... I ask him... *SOB*

1. For solid surface, try to choose lighter colours with more speckles or patterns -- this way, scratches in future won't be obvious. If you have to take a dark colour, choose one with some patterns.

2. For laminates, try the following -- touch, touch, touch...does it easily leave fingerprint marks? Also, dust is more obvious on smooth and dark coloured laminates.

Personally, I prefer those that are matt and slightly textured. I have a smooth, shiny black laminate for my living console and MBR bedside tables... everyday I see a layer of dust...I can wipe everyday but the dust goes back on again very quickly, or at least it's more obvious...sighz... ;)

3. The samples are a bit small but you can try this. Use a damp cloth and wipe over the ones you like. Let it dry and see which ones leave watermark stains... try not to choose those cos they will be harder to clean.

WAHHH thanks for the tips mmycheng. I'm so glad i have the samples at home I can try!!! :)

Wah.. from $3/psf to $10.50/psf? Good deal! :notti:

So happening! Can take ur time to choose and feel the materials. :)

Oooo... Good tips! Hhehehe.. I'm gg to save this, so i'll know what to do when it's my turn to choose!

Hi Angel! Ya lor I was so surprised that he agreed... maybe cos 5-6 pieces only so he anything la. He's been very good...

Yes yes it's so nice to be able to test on the materials hor... think if I took on the other ID I was shortlisting I have to do it in their office. BLEH.

Hi Angel! Ya lor I was so surprised that he agreed... maybe cos 5-6 pieces only so he anything la. He's been very good...

Yes yes it's so nice to be able to test on the materials hor... think if I took on the other ID I was shortlisting I have to do it in their office. BLEH.

Cool leh. Hope that next time I'll be able to choose & test at my leisure like u. :notti: Can u imagine trying all those tips that mmycheng gave at the ID's office? heheheh...

Ohh.. so those nice nice tiles will b ur feature tiles? :good:

hehe no no the $10.50/psf tile is for the foyer/the hallway leading from the main door.

Becos of this problem I posted earlier.

NEED HELP!!

My dad is a firm believer of fengshui. But for this house he also compromised on some things. but there is one thing he cannot accept. And that is if ANYTHING "cuts" the main doorway of the house.

Let me illustrate

situation1.jpg

If we use 600X600 tiles to path the hallway leading from the main door the two tiles will form a line which divides the doorway into two. This is what I mean by "cutting" the doorway.

Another way to lay the 600X600 tiles....

Situation2.jpg

With one tile in the centre and cut another one into halves to fill up the sides... technically now it cuts the doorway into three. He reluctantly said that this seems ok.. but there are SO MANY grout groves with this method and it'll be super dirty.

Our initial solution

Solution1.jpg

To use 600 X 1200 tiles to line the entire thing. The tiles are about 2ft X 4ft.

The problem with this... is that the tiles are VERY expensive. They cost from $10-$12/psf. Which means it'll cost roughly $700 to tile up the hallway alone (picture not drawn to scale)

SO EXPENSIVE RIGHT??? urgh nearly fainted when I was doing mental calculations at the store.

So far out of the 4 tile shops we visited,

Hafary (Balestier) has Italian tiles (2 colours) at $10.50/psf

tileshopping22.jpg

The $10.50/psf tile from Italy