pinkpetter

The Home We've Been Looking Forward To

Hi pinkpetter, got your keys liao? Keep the photos coming...now my place done...so only can droolz at other ppl's nice nice designs...hehe :P

hahah other people drooling over yours le! Mine will be a white white house unlike your vibrant colours.

I'm going to prepare three artworks for my own white white room! haha :)

Wow... so 21 Nov is a special day... and a good day for key collection. :)

Most definitely!!! :)

hahah other people drooling over yours le! Mine will be a white white house unlike your vibrant colours.

I'm going to prepare three artworks for my own white white room! haha :)

Most definitely!!! :)

hey! i like white white house too!! but i was vetoed because my wife thinks it will get dirty easily which i think might be true...so do consider it..just a pinch of advice...hehe...can't wait for your photos..sure very nice cos can see your heart is in it... :sport-smiley-003:

I know... but we've lived in white houses all our lives.. my parents like it that way so white it will be. No young kids so we wun have graffiti.. :P I used to draw on my white walls when I was young. haha

white house is very very nice but horrrr........ :furious: u need to super duper maintainnnnnnnnn especially kitchen :furious: now i only cook steam most and dont dare to cook soto or pineapple rice which use tumeric :rofl:

KEY-GETTING DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHOAAAAAAAAA...............CONGRATSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

actually white not difficult to maintain leh

me have white laminates for my kitchen cabinets

cook using all sorts of spices, tumeric included

just use what ladyluck (or is it diva?) recommended in her blog - thinner :notti:

ouwh... really ar?? ok ok will try :sport-smiley-004::sport-smiley-004: thanks thanks so i can eat nice nice food liao :sport-smiley-004:

white house is very very nice but horrrr........ :furious: u need to super duper maintainnnnnnnnn especially kitchen :furious: now i only cook steam most and dont dare to cook soto or pineapple rice which use tumeric :rofl:

WHOAAAAAAAAA...............CONGRATSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hehe thanks thanks.. I even apply power supply liaos. :) hopefully can turn on in time for work to start next week.

ahhh ok I feel more secure then :) was worrying about the white laminates. :P

HELP!! Need advice!!

*Sob* I tot my contractor woes are over ... who knows they are just beginning...

This contractor was a very efficient and friendly contractor. I first talked to him two weeks ago and he gave me the quotation on the same day. Three days later after another telephone conversation he drew up another quotation for me.

And after looking at my house he drew up a third and final quotation for me. I agreed to it.. that was Monday. Then I told him that needed an English one which I would sign and bring to the bank and he said he would get one done. He said he would fax it to me on Wed. I was happy cos I tot I could bring the quotation to the bank on Thurs.

Wed there was nothing. I called to remind him. He said he would fax it on Thurs.

Thurs afternoon I called him, thinking to remind him, he didn't answer. He didn't call back. Thursday night I waited until 10pm there was no fax. I called him and he took a long time to pick up then he said he would give it to me on Friday (today).

Today afternoon, I paid the bank a visit and realised I needed an original copy from him thus it cannot be faxed to me. I called him but he didn't answer. And he didn't call back.

I called again in the evening and there's no reply either. Until now no fax either.

I actually know that he took up another 2 new projects just this week... Is he just plain too busy to take mine?......... Should I jump ship? I asked him a few times about the payment also... in what percentages and when but he gave vague answers...

Edited by pinkpetter

Such difficult to contact contractor better jump ship now rather than later.. btw, u taking reno loan? the interest rate are pretty high for reno loan. do take note..

Oh dear... this is bad... perhaps he is really busy...I was told that end of the year is the peak season for renovations so delays are going to be more commonplace.

Perhaps you can give him some sort of ultimatum and if he doesn't reply by then, you might really want to consider going to another company. I suppose if he delays like this, there is a chance he might also delay and not reply you during the reno process...

Anyway, don't get overly stressed ok? I know you did a lot of homework sourcing out other companies so you needn't start from scratch. Hope things will be ok by tmr. Good luck! :thumbs up:

Tell you all something EVEN angrier!!!!!!!!!!!

When HDB inspected the house they found that the ceiling of the common toilet was leaking so they asked the owner upstairs to rectify. But cos the owner upstairs not available for some time... If we wait for him to come back then rectify it will delay our completion date.

So out of goodwill, we sign the liability. Which means the rectification will be done when WE are the new owners but the ex-owners have to pay us $220 (estimated costs) for taking on this liability.

They were suppose to pay us BEFORE completion but as we are all such busy people, we waited until today when we meet up then collect from them...

You know what happen?

The sellers didn't prepare the cheque.. and DIDN'T want to talk to us AT ALL. Once in the room, they asked if we can leave the room while they speak to the officer privately. The HDB officer didn't allow, said everyone in the same room ok what.

Then they POINTED at the HDB officer and said... "YOU said that the $220 is estimated.. so WHAT happens if it's lesser?" and the officer explained that it's capped at $220 and usually that is 50% of what the rectification works are worth. Then the seller POINTED at the officer and ask again... "SO what if there's a REMAINDER?"

HOW MUCH REMAINDER CAN THERE BE??? For goodness sake... if you are the neighbour upstairs and you can claim $220 for the rectification works.. will you CLAIM LESSER?! 8|

Then one of the seller insisted... "From the beginning, I already said... Should wait until complete then we pay..." SAID?!!! SAY TO WHO?! and anyway from now on the thing will be billed to us if the transaction completes today.... then how to ask them to pay?!

THERE WE WERE... holding a cashier order for their COV ... and they don't want to give us a cheque for $220, WHICH WUN EVEN GO INTO MY POCKET?!

SO ANGRY THEN LE! Don't complete don't lor?! See whether now he can sell his house in such a poor condition for +30k COV! WHat utter RUBBISH!

Even THEIR agent was so pissed with them... not to mention... in the end.. they CHASED my lawyer out of the office when my lawyer was the one holding on to THEIR money!

And you know what one of the seller even say??? HDB gave them a cheque for their profit... there was the cashier's order from our lawyer... and there was another cheque from some difference in payments.. and the WOMAN said... "WHY SO MANY CHEQUE ONE?!"

SIAO AH. people give me cheque I TAKE LIAO HAPPY AH.

Edited by pinkpetter

Such difficult to contact contractor better jump ship now rather than later.. btw, u taking reno loan? the interest rate are pretty high for reno loan. do take note..

Thanks for the reminder. Made the calculations.... :)

Oh dear... this is bad... perhaps he is really busy...I was told that end of the year is the peak season for renovations so delays are going to be more commonplace.

Perhaps you can give him some sort of ultimatum and if he doesn't reply by then, you might really want to consider going to another company. I suppose if he delays like this, there is a chance he might also delay and not reply you during the reno process...

Anyway, don't get overly stressed ok? I know you did a lot of homework sourcing out other companies so you needn't start from scratch. Hope things will be ok by tmr. Good luck! :thumbs up:

Agree with the rest, if the contractor never reply you now, high chance he will never reply you during reno.

I calmed down about it... I made an appt to see tiles tomorrow. I decided to give one last chance ba. See tomorrow see tiles how. If MIA or weird situations come up... then I jump ship liao. :)

Remember to check with your contractor on the payment terms. My contractor didn't ask for any payment at the start of the reno. He said that in recent years, alot of contractors disappear after collecting the initial payment. So he will only collect $$$ from me based on the progress of the reno. I just make the 1st payment this week which is already the 3rd week of my reno. The amount is slightly less than half of the estimated total cost.