Misc100

It Is Better To Rent Out Whole Flat (5-rm) Than To Rent Out Room By Room, Do U Agree?

It is better to rent out whole flat (5-rm) than to rent out room by room, do u agree?

Because:

1: Room by room - tenants may 'quarrel' over usage of living room/kitchen and payment of utilities

2: Save the trouble of dealing with room by room tenants; some may want to shift out now and then

3: Room by room rental is lower

It is better to rent out whole flat (5-rm) than to rent out room by room, do u agree?

Because:

1: Room by room - tenants may 'quarrel' over usage of living room/kitchen and payment of utilities

2: Save the trouble of dealing with room by room tenants; some may want to shift out now and then

yes whole house is the best. but u need to find a big family.(5rm)

if u rent to single or small family , they will sub sub sub and in the end u dont know who stay at ur house anymore. good if all with valid pass....if not u die liao....

yes whole house is the best. but u need to find a big family.(5rm)

if u rent to single or small family , they will sub sub sub and in the end u dont know who stay at ur house anymore. good if all with valid pass....if not u die liao....

but if they sub sub sub, it should not be my responsibility right?

this one im not very sure.... 8|8|

my friend's unit, the tenant sub sub sub.... 1bedroom almost 5person in, and the living room also become a bedroom male female all mix. when get back the house, the condition is totally worse :jawdrop:

and need to do some reno work until can rent out again....

Under the law.. owner responsible.

Onus is on owner to prove that rented to original tenant.. and it was tenant who sublet.

If owner dun have evidence to prove rented to original tenant, or if owner no proof got take "reasonable care" to ensure got do diligent checks.. owner carry the baby.

For example.. if original tenant provide fake IC/work permit .. and owner blur blur accept.. then how to explain got do deligent checks.

Because:

agree with all the above. rent rooms out to individuals difficult to control when things happen (a lot of finger pointing). plus the ultilities sure go up very high. tenants tend to bring ppl back home.

if they sub to a illegal immigrant or worse end up becoming a gambling den/brothel = your house confiscated.

screen your potential tenants.

Under normal suitation, renting out a whole unit is much more easier than renting out room by room.

Subletting is oso not allow under the law.

When you rent out your unit, under the tenancy agreement,there is always a clause stating that the tenant is no alllow to sublet the rooms out to anyone. if he/she is found doing so, the owner is able to take legl action against the tenant.

Guest our-home

Previously we rented out our entire 4-room flat cos hubby worked overseas. The 3 Malaysian IT guys looked decent, we checked their ICs, they gave us their business cards, mobile nos, office details, etc. Paid their rent on time - no problem with that.

Later we found out that they also have wives/girlfriends/1 infant and some friends who stayed nights. When they moved out, there were 3 extra foam mattresses in the storeroom. My neighbours told me about the extra people at our flat.

Our built-ins were all in ok condition and appliances still worked when we returned. Only thing was that the flat was very, very dirty - they never cleaned it at all.

Because:

room by room quite cumbersome and probability of bad tenant is there..

still ur responsbility

b'coz the house is under your name.. no them