I am thinking of redoing my kitchen cabinet. Have went to 4 ID firm for quotation, currently rather interested in - closet design. Anyone had reno done by them? :unsure:

My reno was not done by them but my walk-in-wardrobe is done by them.

My recommendations are that you can get better quality with the price you are paying. First of all, ask them what kind of wood they are using. Is it Chipboard or Plywood, their workmanship so so only and not the kind of fantastic work which we are paying for.

Anyway its just my recommendations :D

Up to now they are the only one that we are comfortable with.

*GPlan- when we ask the ID got GST not? He mentioned dont have also can, have also can. When we asked any fees for hacking the existing cabinet? He mentioned can have can dont have. :bangwall:

*360 design- we went to the firm to speak to the ID, seem so inexperience and never get back to us with plan or quotation.

*one contractor in Kovan- went there twice, second time with floor plan & camera to show the layout of our kitchen, as we hacked the walls (open concept). She said leave it here, I will get back to you, busy now. I said nevermind Thank you and walk out. :furious:

*Closet design- went to the firm with my 2 boys, the ID was not irriated by them. Make arrangement to come to view the layout for a better idea the next day.

It is jus so frustrating. I have been reading from this forum for weeks, and I know alot have the same frustration. We are jus hoping something good may come out of it. :bow:

*GPlan- when we ask the ID got GST not? He mentioned dont have also can, have also can. When we asked any fees for hacking the existing cabinet? He mentioned can have can dont have. :bangwall:

*360 design- we went to the firm to speak to the ID, seem so inexperience and never get back to us with plan or quotation.

*one contractor in Kovan- went there twice, second time with floor plan & camera to show the layout of our kitchen, as we hacked the walls (open concept). She said leave it here, I will get back to you, busy now. I said nevermind Thank you and walk out. :furious:

*Closet design- went to the firm with my 2 boys, the ID was not irriated by them. Make arrangement to come to view the layout for a better idea the next day.

It is jus so frustrating. I have been reading from this forum for weeks, and I know alot have the same frustration. We are jus hoping something good may come out of it. :bow:

Why dun you go and look for Ho Bee? I know they changed carpenter already but Mr & Mrs Quek service is good as I have heard from my fellow neighbours and there is a topic on Ho Bee too. Go check it out.

For Ho Bee is different, before you sign they will just answer watever queries you have or may even forget to quote you because too busy, but after you signed up with them then its different already. They will update you of the progress, give you your $$$ worth of carpentry and service.

Closet Design the service is ok, but their materials used is definately not worth the $$$. If you still wanna use them by all means, its just my opinion :D

My new wardrobe will be done by them too. Knows their stuff well and talked to two different people at two different locations (one at their showroom at Balestier) and one at expo, both gives me the good impression that they know what they are doing.

Threw in a couple of nasty illogical stuff, they wasn't irritated and explained to me why can't be done....test past.

You get what you paid for, for me 10 years of gurantee is good enough. My ID didn't even dare to go over 1 year warranty..ask her inside my wardrobe got what? What's the layout, she says up to me lor.....lucky never engage my ID...nightmare

Hi. Jus manage to get through to Ho Bee from Mrs Quek no. Patrick didnt answer. Asked abt Ah Keong, she mentioned he is no longer with them. Replace by Ah Long, will be meeting next week for 1st appointment.

:thumbs up: no reply yet from Classic Design.

Hi. Jus manage to get through to Ho Bee from Mrs Quek no. Patrick didnt answer. Asked abt Ah Keong, she mentioned he is no longer with them. Replace by Ah Long, will be meeting next week for 1st appointment.

:thumbs up: no reply yet from Classic Design.

Have not seen Ah Long workmanship, but hopefully its as good as Ah Keong's ah. All the best and happy reno-ing :notti:

Our wardrobe was done by them. Quite happy for the $$$ we paid for.

got website and contact details? Pls PM. Tks.

Our wardrobe was done by them. Quite happy for the $$$ we paid for.

Overall the design and workmanship is ok, but i still think they can improve on the materials used for the kind of $$$ paid for their WIW's. Using Chipboard instead of plywood seems to be cutting cost leh...

:dunno:

Overall the design and workmanship is ok, but i still think they can improve on the materials used for the kind of $$$ paid for their WIW's. Using Chipboard instead of plywood seems to be cutting cost leh...

:dunno:

I am not familiar with all these materials thing but I won't say plywood is better than chipboard cos each has its own different grades. All in all, I am satisfied with the design, workmanship and services. A good experience overall.

Chipboard is really, really poor and substandard. Hard to fathom anyone using chipboard. I figured the standard would be ply.

Anyways for custom wardrobe I stumbled across this company at Kaki Bukit. Good stuff, can configure anyway you like, ssolid material + 10 yr warranty. Sorry can't remember name of shop but at the ground floor of Techlink 1 Bldg.

I am not familiar with all these materials thing but I won't say plywood is better than chipboard cos each has its own different grades. All in all, I am satisfied with the design, workmanship and services. A good experience overall.

HI TYM

Saw your T-Blog, nicee.. esp the kitchen and the hse layout. very well plan. :good:

Is the dish rack built within the cabinet? or also a open concept.

Some places can offer an exact design at almost half the price, but the difference is in the material used. Do take note and keep in mind.

Makes more sense to buy something that last and cost a fraction more. Rather than to buy something cheap and nice, but needs replacement after 3-4yrs of usage.

Chipboard is the lowest grade material used. There is no advantage in using chipboard other than being cheap in price.

Chipboard does not last over duration.

Ikea's furniture mainly uses chipboard as its standard material.

Another material 1 grade higher than chipboard is MDF.

It is somehow similar to chipboard, but lasts longer than chipboard.

The longest lasting "cheap" material is plywood. It is popular as it is easy to work with. And many designs and dimensions can be easily be made out of it.

Other materials that lasts are "expensive" timber like teak, Chengai, Rosewood, Cedar, Jarrah and Redwood.

These materials are weather resistant, some are heavy.

Not easy to work with as compared to plywood.

If you want a study table top, made from 1 Piece of such material, it may pose a problem as these timbers usually does not come in such a big dimension from the factory.

Whereas Ply wood comes in a big piece 4ft x 8ft.

Same for chipboard. As these are manufactured products, thus the ability to manufacture in such big pieces.

Natural timber is obtained from the tree itself. Thus dimensions depends on how big the tree is.

Hope this info is able to provide a better understanding to all

Edited by dino bravo