Pr15on 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2008 One of my ID suggest overlaying of wall tiles inside toilet. Is this possible? She say will apply some chemical to the cement to make it stronger, so the new tiles can stay in. She oso say this is HDB approved. Is that so? I search the forum but cannot find anyone overlaying wall tiles, only floor tiles. Can advise me on this? She quote me $600 for relay the trunking of aircon pipes for a system 3. Cos my recent ones r at the bottom of the wall and not the top. She will do a re run at the top of wall, plus a L box. Is this price acceptable? Rewiring was included in the package but not stated how much. How can I check if the electrician is a certified one? Workmanship on floor and wall tiles, she oni gimme 1 year warranty. I ask about the widely spoken 5 year warranty. She told me its oni a "say" one. Izzit true that a 5 year warranty exist? Or 1 year is enough? I happen to get a quotation from a contractor. Find out the quotes given are much more cheaper than the rest of the IDs I meet. Is contractor like, "U want what, I do what"? Nothing bout design? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aves 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2008 (edited) One of my ID suggest overlaying of wall tiles inside toilet. Is this possible? She say will apply some chemical to the cement to make it stronger, so the new tiles can stay in. She oso say this is HDB approved. Is that so? I search the forum but cannot find anyone overlaying wall tiles, only floor tiles. Can advise me on this? Yes overlay is allowed but there is a chance the tiles will pop out after some time if the 'bottom' layer tiles got problem... She quote me $600 for relay the trunking of aircon pipes for a system 3. Cos my recent ones r at the bottom of the wall and not the top. She will do a re run at the top of wall, plus a L box. Is this price acceptable? dunno about this, others advice pls Rewiring was included in the package but not stated how much. How can I check if the electrician is a certified one? if not stated how much then maybe not included. usually electrical works depends on how many power points, scv points, lighting points etc u want to have. each point will cause a certain amount. electrician can ask them to show their license lor Workmanship on floor and wall tiles, she oni gimme 1 year warranty. I ask about the widely spoken 5 year warranty. She told me its oni a "say" one. Izzit true that a 5 year warranty exist? Or 1 year is enough? i think 1, 3, 5 yr are the common warranty periods. some even give 8 yr. at the end of the day, even if give 8 yr. must make sure the ID still willing to come and help u or not and also depends on the firm still exist in 8yrs time? but for me, i prefer something at least 5yrs. also do take note of the fineprints in the warranty terms. even can warranty 10yrs but only provide 'labour' for repair but not materials. be very careful on this I happen to get a quotation from a contractor. Find out the quotes given are much more cheaper than the rest of the IDs I meet. Is contractor like, "U want what, I do what"? Nothing bout design? yes contractors are usually cheaper cos they don't do design or layout planning for u. however, some experienced contracts do help advice on some things pertaining to design cos they have experience. some ppl call themselves IDs but have no design sense at all. or maybe the design is good but not practical. the line between contractor and ID is getting more and more blur by the day. Edited July 25, 2008 by aves Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hihihi 0 Report post Posted July 25, 2008 agree on aves point on many contractor using ID in their name but churn out tasteless design. You got to see their existing projects to judge. If no existing project = fishy. regarding your ID suggestin doing L-box to conceal the aircon piping. I don't agree with this. In desending order: 1) Aircon unit 2) Trunking 3) Condenser The aircon unit needs to be the highest placed item otherwise the water will not flow down by gravity. Doing boxup means either the L-box must be big OR the aircon unit must be almost like touching the ceiling. Do take note of this. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pr15on 0 Report post Posted July 26, 2008 agree on aves point on many contractor using ID in their name but churn out tasteless design. You got to see their existing projects to judge. If no existing project = fishy. She got no showroom. She say she get business by referrals. I was introduce to her by one of the forumers here. She say only can show me photos. Out of all the ID who come to view my house, she is the only one who take photographs of my house, then giving me ideas on how to give the house a new look. Then on our 2nd appt, she even produce 2D and 3D drawings as well as a grand total quote. Quote is itemised but no pricing, just a grand total. She say if to separate the prices, will have to charge higher. Izzit true? regarding your ID suggestin doing L-box to conceal the aircon piping. I don't agree with this. In desending order: 1) Aircon unit 2) Trunking 3) Condenser The aircon unit needs to be the highest placed item otherwise the water will not flow down by gravity. Doing boxup means either the L-box must be big OR the aircon unit must be almost like touching the ceiling. Do take note of this. My aircon units are almost touching ceiling. I think I write wrongly. L box to box up wire and gas pipes, not trunking. Trunking only relay, cos at the bottom of the walls. Sorry for the mistakes. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites