SmartFool 0 Report post Posted August 5, 2008 (edited) yes worth trying good luck with the house or u can go eat ba chor mee at blk 80+ where u be moving for this 32 days? Edited August 5, 2008 by SmartFool Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
typhoonz 0 Report post Posted August 5, 2008 yes worth trying good luck with the house or u can go eat ba chor mee at blk 80+ where u be moving for this 32 days? Be moving my big stuff to the warehouse at Eunos Link (Extra Space) and will be staying at my brother in law's place (Bedok North) for the moment. Renovation will start tentatively after my 1st appointment which is on the 6th of Sept. Aiming to have the house done latest by end of Oct. Don't want to rush my contractor as that's what I did the last time round. I ended up with a house that not very well done. Have to move house twice... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted August 5, 2008 oh i see omg then you have to pay for the storage but better than renting a place me now planning the reno same as u cos i do not want to rush anything have to redo or wat is dam sian Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
typhoonz 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2008 The storage cost per month is about $430 so we plan to only store our things there max for 2 months. The other headache is how am I going to plan to position the stuff in the 100+ sqf store-room. I got 2 super single storage beds (add then together and you'll get a king size bed), 1 fridge, 1 washing machine, 1 L shaped sofa and 20+ boxes (misc stuff). Hopefully I can get it all in nicely... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
typhoonz 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2008 We brought a contractor to the soon to be our house on sunday. Previously it was an ID we brought up. More about him later. We managed to get my agent to contact the owner but In the end, it the owner's father who came by. We brought this contractor up based on the recommendation of our current flat's agent. We visited her flat in Bedok South a few sundays ago and found it to be nicely done up and the design suits our taste. We liked the house especially the kitchen. We had a headache trying to plan our kitchen layout as we wanted to incorporate a dining area into it. My agent did a wet and dry kitchen which we liked very much. So much that we are more or less going to "copy" her design. He was rushed and had a little over a month to renovate her entire house as my agent was on the verge of giving birth. But the end product didn't give us the impression that it was hastily done. More importantly is the quality of the finished product was there. Overall we were pretty impressed. As we spoke and went around the house, we were also quite comfortable with this contractor as he gives us the feeling that he knows what he's doing and knows what we want. He was able to offer ideas and alternatives to areas that we had absolutely not idea of what to do. Unlike the previous ID we brought up, he seems to be quite inexperience with his stuff and he gave us, well at least for me the very "bad" feeling. Moreover he was more than half an hour late and I was pretty pissed about it as I confirmed and reconfirmed the timing with him a few days in advance. Right now we are waiting for this contractor to give us his quotation. His estimates are rather close to our budget so if everything goes well, most likely we are going to go with him. I'm sure most of you know the feeling of asking one quote after another. It can get rather tiring and you somewhat gets discouraged and sian. We don't want to get to that point where you just want to "get it over with". Once we sign on the dotted line for the renovation agreement, there's no turning back. We don't want to make the mistakes we made for our current flat. And also if it go on like this, we won't be able to start our renovation immediately after the 1st appointment. That's all for now. Hopefully more good news soon and if possible, I'll post some drawings if I have any. : ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
typhoonz 0 Report post Posted August 11, 2008 This is the quotation that I'm waiting for but it seems to be rather high. I expected it to be less than $30K. Re: Renovation works for 4 rooms flat Description Demolition works 1. To hack existing kitchen floor & wall tiles $S800.00 2. To hack existing 2x toilets floor & wall tiles $S1000.00 3. To hack & remove existing build-in cabinets $S250.00 4. Haulage of new tiles & remove debris to MOE permitted dumping ground $S800.00 5. To remove laminate timber flooring & carpet for 3x bedrooms $S600.00 Wet works 1. Supply & lay homogenous floor tiles at kitchen c/w waterproofing $S1200.00 2. Supply & lay homogenous tiles c/w waterproofing for 2x toilets $S1000.00 3. Supply & lay ceramic/ homogenous wall tiles to kitchen $S2400.00 4. Supply & lay ceramic wall tiles to 2x toilets $S2600.00 5. Supply & install stainless steel rubbish chute $S180.00 6. To construct cabinet base & low wall divider $S700.00 Plumbing works 1. Supply & install 2x W.C $S560.00 2. Supply & install 2x basin include waste outlet piping $S260.00 3. Supply labour to install 2x instant heater $S120.00 4. To run cold stainless steel piping for whole house (across living area) $S650.00 5. Supply labour to make inlet/outlet piping & installation of kitchen sink/tap $S150.00 6. Supply labour to make inlet & outlet pipes for washing machine $S50.00 7. To convert 1x W.C $S120.00 Painting & plastering works 1. ICI/Nippon painting for all walls & white emulsion paints for ceilings $S1000.00 2. To construct “L” box for living & 3x bedrooms $S1700.00 3. To plaster smooth living & 3x bedrooms $S1600.00 Carpentry works 1. Supply & install 5x solid naytoh door / designer door (hollow) $S1400.00 2. Design & fabricate 8ft wooden sliding door wardrobe $S2000.00 (Aluminum frame with glass sliding door $2300) 3. Design & fabricate 6ft swing door wardrobe $S1440.00 4. Design & fabricate kitchen cabinet (20ft) $S2300.00 5. Supply & install solid surface top (10ft) $S700.00 Miscellaneous works 1. Supply labour to polish existing marble floor $S800.00 2. Supply & install 2x aluminum bi-fold door c/w PVC board $S360.00 3. Supply & install wrought iron gate $S520.00 4. Supply & install powder coated sliding window to living & bedroom 3 $S1300.00 5. Supply & install powder coated casement window to room kitchen & rooms 1&2 $S1750.00 6. Supply & install aluminum grilles to all windows $S1200.00 Electrical works 1. Supply labour & materials to re-run electrical wiring w/o EMA submission [estimate] $S2500.00 *1x13amp-$S45, 2x13amp-$S55, 15amp-$S90, 20amp-$S90, Tel pt-$S40, Lighting pt-$S25, SCV pt-$S85, Speaker pt-$S30, Light installation-$S9 Hood & hob-$S50, Ceiling fan-$S50, DB board $S280 * For EMA testing additional $5 per units, testing $250 Total Amount:$S33010.00 Any comments anyone? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeegi 0 Report post Posted August 11, 2008 This is the quotation that I'm waiting for but it seems to be rather high. I expected it to be less than $30K. Re: Renovation works for 4 rooms flat Description Demolition works 1. To hack existing kitchen floor & wall tiles $S800.00 2. To hack existing 2x toilets floor & wall tiles $S1000.00 3. To hack & remove existing build-in cabinets $S250.00 4. Haulage of new tiles & remove debris to MOE permitted dumping ground $S800.00 5. To remove laminate timber flooring & carpet for 3x bedrooms $S600.00 Wet works 1. Supply & lay homogenous floor tiles at kitchen c/w waterproofing $S1200.00 2. Supply & lay homogenous tiles c/w waterproofing for 2x toilets $S1000.00 3. Supply & lay ceramic/ homogenous wall tiles to kitchen $S2400.00 4. Supply & lay ceramic wall tiles to 2x toilets $S2600.00 5. Supply & install stainless steel rubbish chute $S180.00 6. To construct cabinet base & low wall divider $S700.00 Plumbing works 1. Supply & install 2x W.C $S560.00 2. Supply & install 2x basin include waste outlet piping $S260.00 3. Supply labour to install 2x instant heater $S120.00 4. To run cold stainless steel piping for whole house (across living area) $S650.00 5. Supply labour to make inlet/outlet piping & installation of kitchen sink/tap $S150.00 6. Supply labour to make inlet & outlet pipes for washing machine $S50.00 7. To convert 1x W.C $S120.00 Painting & plastering works 1. ICI/Nippon painting for all walls & white emulsion paints for ceilings $S1000.00 2. To construct “L” box for living & 3x bedrooms $S1700.00 3. To plaster smooth living & 3x bedrooms $S1600.00 Carpentry works 1. Supply & install 5x solid naytoh door / designer door (hollow) $S1400.00 2. Design & fabricate 8ft wooden sliding door wardrobe $S2000.00 (Aluminum frame with glass sliding door $2300) 3. Design & fabricate 6ft swing door wardrobe $S1440.00 4. Design & fabricate kitchen cabinet (20ft) $S2300.00 5. Supply & install solid surface top (10ft) $S700.00 Miscellaneous works 1. Supply labour to polish existing marble floor $S800.00 2. Supply & install 2x aluminum bi-fold door c/w PVC board $S360.00 3. Supply & install wrought iron gate $S520.00 4. Supply & install powder coated sliding window to living & bedroom 3 $S1300.00 5. Supply & install powder coated casement window to room kitchen & rooms 1&2 $S1750.00 6. Supply & install aluminum grilles to all windows $S1200.00 Electrical works 1. Supply labour & materials to re-run electrical wiring w/o EMA submission [estimate] $S2500.00 *1x13amp-$S45, 2x13amp-$S55, 15amp-$S90, 20amp-$S90, Tel pt-$S40, Lighting pt-$S25, SCV pt-$S85, Speaker pt-$S30, Light installation-$S9 Hood & hob-$S50, Ceiling fan-$S50, DB board $S280 * For EMA testing additional $5 per units, testing $250 Total Amount:$S33010.00 Any comments anyone? Hi Typhoonz Your demolition seems abit pricey. Here's an example of one of my quotations: 1. Demolition works & general services: $2560 To hack off existing floor tiles ****, dining, walkway, 3 bedrooms, store, access balcony, kitchen & both bathrooms To hack off existing wall tiles in both bathroom Hack off existing aluminium sliding door at kitchen & access balcony hack off 1 existing doorframe hack off existinng wall between 2 bedrooms hack off existing kitchen cabinet hack off sink, stove and chopper support at kitchen hack off existing sanitary wares & accessories at both bathroom haulage services disposal of renovation debris disposal of wood debris 2. my new aluminium chute costs $150 3. Ask your ID to state size and cost of tiles (60x60, less than or equal $3.50 psf?) 4. Does your ID give you some choices for the WC & wash basin? If not you might want to consider purchasing on your own and just ask them to quote the labour 5. Supply labour to install bathroom and kitchen accessories is missing 6. You can save cost by plastering or use white cement on the kitchen wall instead of tiles 7. Do you need a shower screen? If yes you will need a shower kerb. 8. Need to apply a sealer to plastering so that the paint doesn't peel off. Will cost around $250 for kitchen area 9. Acid washing for whole house to remove stains & general cleaning upon completion I'm not very familiar with carpentary works yet so can't really comment. Hope this helps Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mwerkz 0 Report post Posted August 11, 2008 This is the quotation that I'm waiting for but it seems to be rather high. I expected it to be less than $30K. Re: Renovation works for 4 rooms flat Description Demolition works 1. To hack existing kitchen floor & wall tiles $S800.00 2. To hack existing 2x toilets floor & wall tiles $S1000.00 3. To hack & remove existing build-in cabinets $S250.00 4. Haulage of new tiles & remove debris to MOE permitted dumping ground $S800.00 5. To remove laminate timber flooring & carpet for 3x bedrooms $S600.00 Wet works 1. Supply & lay homogenous floor tiles at kitchen c/w waterproofing $S1200.00 2. Supply & lay homogenous tiles c/w waterproofing for 2x toilets $S1000.00 3. Supply & lay ceramic/ homogenous wall tiles to kitchen $S2400.00 4. Supply & lay ceramic wall tiles to 2x toilets $S2600.00 5. Supply & install stainless steel rubbish chute $S180.00 6. To construct cabinet base & low wall divider $S700.00 Plumbing works 1. Supply & install 2x W.C $S560.00 2. Supply & install 2x basin include waste outlet piping $S260.00 3. Supply labour to install 2x instant heater $S120.00 4. To run cold stainless steel piping for whole house (across living area) $S650.00 5. Supply labour to make inlet/outlet piping & installation of kitchen sink/tap $S150.00 6. Supply labour to make inlet & outlet pipes for washing machine $S50.00 7. To convert 1x W.C $S120.00 Painting & plastering works 1. ICI/Nippon painting for all walls & white emulsion paints for ceilings $S1000.00 2. To construct “L” box for living & 3x bedrooms $S1700.00 3. To plaster smooth living & 3x bedrooms $S1600.00 Carpentry works 1. Supply & install 5x solid naytoh door / designer door (hollow) $S1400.00 2. Design & fabricate 8ft wooden sliding door wardrobe $S2000.00 (Aluminum frame with glass sliding door $2300) 3. Design & fabricate 6ft swing door wardrobe $S1440.00 4. Design & fabricate kitchen cabinet (20ft) $S2300.00 5. Supply & install solid surface top (10ft) $S700.00 Miscellaneous works 1. Supply labour to polish existing marble floor $S800.00 2. Supply & install 2x aluminum bi-fold door c/w PVC board $S360.00 3. Supply & install wrought iron gate $S520.00 4. Supply & install powder coated sliding window to living & bedroom 3 $S1300.00 5. Supply & install powder coated casement window to room kitchen & rooms 1&2 $S1750.00 6. Supply & install aluminum grilles to all windows $S1200.00 Electrical works 1. Supply labour & materials to re-run electrical wiring w/o EMA submission [estimate] $S2500.00 *1x13amp-$S45, 2x13amp-$S55, 15amp-$S90, 20amp-$S90, Tel pt-$S40, Lighting pt-$S25, SCV pt-$S85, Speaker pt-$S30, Light installation-$S9 Hood & hob-$S50, Ceiling fan-$S50, DB board $S280 * For EMA testing additional $5 per units, testing $250 Total Amount:$S33010.00 Any comments anyone? i think ur demolition work n wet works are on de costly side. n maybe got some hidden cost. u might wanna take a look at my quotation for a better idea. look at de 2nd quotation on page 2. basically mine is a ID's quote. so it should be slightly higher den urs if urs is a contractor's job Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SmartFool 0 Report post Posted August 11, 2008 mwerkz ask u something did they adjust it to below 40k for your quote? i mean was there a final breakdown? thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
typhoonz 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2008 Hi Typhoonz Your demolition seems abit pricey. Here's an example of one of my quotations: 1. Demolition works & general services: $2560 To hack off existing floor tiles ****, dining, walkway, 3 bedrooms, store, access balcony, kitchen & both bathrooms To hack off existing wall tiles in both bathroom Hack off existing aluminium sliding door at kitchen & access balcony hack off 1 existing doorframe hack off existinng wall between 2 bedrooms hack off existing kitchen cabinet hack off sink, stove and chopper support at kitchen hack off existing sanitary wares & accessories at both bathroom haulage services disposal of renovation debris disposal of wood debris 2. my new aluminium chute costs $150 3. Ask your ID to state size and cost of tiles (60x60, less than or equal $3.50 psf?) 4. Does your ID give you some choices for the WC & wash basin? If not you might want to consider purchasing on your own and just ask them to quote the labour 5. Supply labour to install bathroom and kitchen accessories is missing 6. You can save cost by plastering or use white cement on the kitchen wall instead of tiles 7. Do you need a shower screen? If yes you will need a shower kerb. 8. Need to apply a sealer to plastering so that the paint doesn't peel off. Will cost around $250 for kitchen area 9. Acid washing for whole house to remove stains & general cleaning upon completion I'm not very familiar with carpentary works yet so can't really comment. Hope this helps Hey Mwerks, thanks for your highlights... Will note down your thoughts and discuss it with my Mrs. Will be meeting the contractor tomorrow evening to "fine tune" the quotation. There are still some stuff he left out like the glass door for the wet and dry kitchen and the window (ventilation fan) for the toilets. i think ur demolition work n wet works are on de costly side. n maybe got some hidden cost. u might wanna take a look at my quotation for a better idea. look at de 2nd quotation on page 2. basically mine is a ID's quote. so it should be slightly higher den urs if urs is a contractor's job There are certainly things that I want the contractor to leave out like the haulage charge of $800... I think this is quite ridiculous leh... Like that I just get my friends and rent a truck and do the haulage myself... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
typhoonz 0 Report post Posted August 14, 2008 (edited) Met up with my contractor last night and we were "negotiating" till almost 1am... Some stuff we added, others we gave up... 1) Decided to only do the L Box for the living room and MBR. The 2 other bedrooms will have normal lights. 2) Will not change the windows but will just replace the grilles. 3) Added a shower screen for the MBR toilet. 4) Will not replace the main door as it's fire rated. Replacing it will set us back about $800 (solid designer door). So it'll be just light sanding and a coat of vanish. 5) Will not do a display set. Will buy a simple one and might do a "box" to hide the mount and wirings. 6) Will replace the sliding window glass in bedroom 2 as the previous owner stick some solar film on it. Removing the film will be troublesome so just change the glass. 7) Added the killer - Glass door between the wet and dry kitchen. 4 panels of 10mm glass all moveable. Think that's about it. Will get the final quotation by next monday, then it'll be a load off my mind... Edited August 14, 2008 by typhoonz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bubble-ling 0 Report post Posted August 14, 2008 opps i tink i posted too late for u ... my mover quoted me $1120 for 3mths storage and 2 way transport (include 20boxes) admin fee @ $25 consider the cheapest among all the movers i find ... so which contractor u confirm? seems like different contractor/id charge diff rates for haulage oh any floor plan to let us drool? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
typhoonz 0 Report post Posted August 14, 2008 opps i tink i posted too late for u ... my mover quoted me $1120 for 3mths storage and 2 way transport (include 20boxes) admin fee @ $25 consider the cheapest among all the movers i find ... so which contractor u confirm? seems like different contractor/id charge diff rates for haulage oh any floor plan to let us drool? The floor plan is the first post but a bit small... Okie... It's tiny... Will only reveal the contractor after I confirm with him next monday. It's okie lah. Thanks for the offer. But can you PM me your mover's number? Thinking of getting movers to do the 2nd leg... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
typhoonz 0 Report post Posted September 2, 2008 It's been sometime since I've done my last update... The time is here and I cannot wait for the day to come... Finally this sat (6th Sept) is my 1st appointment for my new place... I've confirmed my contractor and the final renovation figure is at $34,000 (inclusive of electrical works estimated at $2,500)... Very soon I go on a picture posting spree when the new house is relieved of it's old belongings... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nano 0 Report post Posted September 2, 2008 Can't wait to see your photo. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites