morgulboy

Lg, Toshiba Or Sharpe Lcd?

Hi people, I am still deciding which brand to buy for my new home.

LG has a *****, but not really to my liking. I have heard TOshiba and Sharpe has better quality than Samsung. (I am using 32" Samsung in my room now). I feel that Samsung is so-so, so I left it out of my list.

Also, Whats the difference between buying at Audiohouse and Bestdenki/HarveyNorman. I know that Bestdenki/HarveyNorman does comes with 3-5 years of warranty.

All recommandations r truely appreciated. :yamseng:

same thread in sgcollect.. lol..

you can go there to see .. lol..

Wait for next month. computer fair.. should have lotsa lobangs for u.

I bought a Toshiba recently. Initially was looking at Sharp but turned to Toshiba cos it gives me full 3 yrs warranty.

Sharp makes its own display panel in japan, so quality wise you need not worry too much. But it gives 1+2 yrs warranty only.

If price is not a concern to you, can consider Philips or Sony. Panasonic is pretty good too.

No diff except on pricing. You need to top up more for extra warranty.

If you can wait, IT fair is a good option. I saw many people was pulling boxes of LCD TV when I was in the last IT Show, as if those TVs are FOC leh :notti:

thanks yokine9a. I was thinking IT fair too. But does IT fair comes with warranty of 3-5 years?

actually the design of the LCD is also a factor. It got to be a candy to the eye as well. But generally most LCD designs r black and sleek. The LG ones a bit weird to me coz the bottom centre has a big hole.

i would say go for Sharp. I bought my first LCD TV (Sharp) in 2003 and it is serving me very well even up to now.

Subsequently I bought Toshiba LCD TV (20 and 42 inch). The main thing that I dun like about Toshiba LCD TV is that the speaker is at the bottom of the TV screen. You can feel the sound flow at a low level when sitting on the sofa and sometimes got to increase the volume.

Hi people, I am still deciding which brand to buy for my new home.

I have heard TOshiba and Sharpe has better quality than Samsung. (I am using 32" Samsung in my room now). I feel that Samsung is so-so, so I left it out of my list.

You HEARD only? Atcually, by all accounts, Samsung's panels are one of the top range. In fact, theyre the only ones producing their own LCD panels. Toshiba & Sharp uses OEMs.

Im not working for Samsung but its my job to sniff out the ebst audio/video equipment.

Vince

Usually not in IT fair. Didn't see any of such offer when I was in the last IT show.

Yah lor, almost all LCD TVs are of black and shiny surface, which I don't like. I never like black colour lor :bleah:

Actually most of the Sharp TVs I saw in shops are also having speaker built at the bottom of the TV screen. Maybe it is due to most people tend to mount their TV on the wall now, at a higher height from the floor, having speaker at the bottom of the TV is better for the viewer, at the same level of their ears mah :unsure:

Usually not in IT fair. Didn't see any of such offer when I was in the last IT show.

Yah lor, almost all LCD TVs are of black and shiny surface, which I don't like. I never like black colour lor :bleah:

Actually most of the Sharp TVs I saw in shops are also having speaker built at the bottom of the TV screen. Maybe it is due to most people tend to mount their TV on the wall now, at a higher height from the floor, having speaker at the bottom of the TV is better for the viewer, at the same level of their ears mah :unsure:

no leh...mine 42 inch TV is mounted on a wall and my 20 inch TV is placed on a customized table top that is of a certain height. And both TVs give me the feeling that the sound is pretty low. I dun get that feeling with my Sharp LCD TV which has speaker on the side.

my toshiba lcd tv has slow start up time..everytime i press the "on" button, it takes abt 5 secs to start the tv. Sometimes while i am waiting for it to start, i am thinking "did i press the button correctly?"

pic quality wise still ok. If given a chance, i will like to try samsung

my toshiba lcd tv has slow start up time..everytime i press the "on" button, it takes abt 5 secs to start the tv. Sometimes while i am waiting for it to start, i am thinking "did i press the button correctly?"

pic quality wise still ok. If given a chance, i will like to try samsung

i had the same problem too and the best part is whether is it on standby or switch on, the indicator remains red color. so i won't know if the TV is on or not until i wait a while.

My Toshiba LCD TV is ok leh, it takes abt 1-2 secs to start up, find it reasonable.

As for the indicator, on standby, it is red color, when switch on, it is green color.

out of curiosity ...can I know whats your TV ratio for u guys? I never really study the specs when i bought my samsung 32". For my new home I make sure i do some research before buying a TV