countrylover 0 Report post Posted July 9, 2008 Renovation for my place has actually completed. It started around 28th May and ended around 3rd July. I moved in on the day of completion. Can't wait mah.... Anyway, before signing the contract, my ID already promised that he will finish everything within one month. He really kept to his promise. His style is to concentrate only on one project at a time. This is one of the reasons why I chose him as well. And another reason is because he specializes in country concept. Very important point. Before deciding my ID, I actually approached a few companies like Summit design, baroque, renozone, ideal house, ***** and Ho Bee. All are recommended ID's in this forum. I did receive their quotation, except from ideal house, but I finally decided not to enagage them because :- 1. Total cost not clear. Will be added on base upon what I will be adding along the way 2. Not sure whether they are able to deliver the type of look I am looking for BTW, my ID is country concept. Owner is Edward Teo and he has been in this line for more than 30 years. Very experience and professional. I did not need to do anything at all except to wait for the house to be completed. I really did not experience all the frustrations and stress which fellow forumers are talking about. Of course, there are minor issues but could be settled very swiftly and calmly. Edward put 100% of his effort on my unit up until completion date. He is now working on another project which will take him about 2 months to complete. I am really blessed for having such an efficient and professional ID Great to know that your reno is smooth and seamless! You are right, this is the type of ID which every forumer prayed to have! Sometimes it's not so much of how much we pay them, but how well they could deliver. Must post up your pics soon! I'm sure your country home must be beautiful! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banzai18 0 Report post Posted July 10, 2008 I did not take any pictures of my place during renovation like what all of you have done. I should have done that as well I only have pictures of my place before the reno.. Here goes. - living room - dining room. Sorry pic is so big Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banzai18 0 Report post Posted July 10, 2008 - kitchen - common toilet - service balcony - can't see much as pic taking skill is lousy Wow. could not put all the pics in one page - MBR Toilet. Didn't know I re-sized this pic until so small. sori.... - 2nd bedroom - 3rd bedroom That is all I have before renovation started. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
countrylover 0 Report post Posted July 10, 2008 Thanks for sharing! Want to see how your renovated flat looks like leh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banzai18 0 Report post Posted July 10, 2008 Thanks for sharing! Want to see how your renovated flat looks like leh. OK lah.... First is the main entrance. The base is the original HDB door. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banzai18 0 Report post Posted July 10, 2008 This is the dining area. I bought the dining table 3 years ago in M'sia. As you can see, the colour of the wood is a total mis-match. ID said it is alright and do not need to buy a new one. I just need to buy a white table cloth to cover the table top as it is rather shiny. Can anybody tell me where I can get those nice lacy type of table cloth?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
isasoap 0 Report post Posted July 10, 2008 This is the dining area. I bought the dining table 3 years ago in M'sia. As you can see, the colour of the wood is a total mis-match. ID said it is alright and do not need to buy a new one. I just need to buy a white table cloth to cover the table top as it is rather shiny. Can anybody tell me where I can get those nice lacy type of table cloth?? Hi Banzai loves the dining area and your main door! so country-ish.. really very very nice!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted July 10, 2008 (edited) You know, if you can't find a suitable lacy table cloth to give it that kind of country style feel.. Maybe you might want to some DIY, ie; find some ruffle trimmings and paste it round the table edges below the table top & if possible, sew 4 or 5 ribbons to the ruffle trimmings at hexagonal points ? Can even add matching socks with ribbons for the table legs? Then complete the look with a fruit basket or a country style vase. Add some nice cushions to the dining table chairs & maybe ruffle trimmings + a ribbon per trimming at the back of the chairs? It might complete the victorian country style since your furniture is all dark and that period was all dark, edgy style with those barogue art. This is the dining area. I bought the dining table 3 years ago in M'sia. As you can see, the colour of the wood is a total mis-match. ID said it is alright and do not need to buy a new one. I just need to buy a white table cloth to cover the table top as it is rather shiny. Can anybody tell me where I can get those nice lacy type of table cloth?? Edited July 10, 2008 by BunBun Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
countrylover 0 Report post Posted July 10, 2008 (edited) This is the dining area. I bought the dining table 3 years ago in M'sia. As you can see, the colour of the wood is a total mis-match. ID said it is alright and do not need to buy a new one. I just need to buy a white table cloth to cover the table top as it is rather shiny. Can anybody tell me where I can get those nice lacy type of table cloth?? Very warm and cosy feel for your dining area! That area on the right below the canopy, I suppose it's a breakfast counter? Does it overlook your living room? Can't really tell as photo is a little small. Just to add, it's not necessary to have matching colours for all furniture in a room. To create a country feel, it's a better idea to have a mixture of textures and wood colours, else it becomes too predictable. This is what I've gathered from some country style decor books. For my home, I intend to have a mixture of brown and white furniture. It's really a combination of different elements to create the country look, not just wood colours. Edited July 10, 2008 by countrylover Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banzai18 0 Report post Posted July 11, 2008 Hi Banzai loves the dining area and your main door! so country-ish.. really very very nice!!!! Hi Isasoap, Thank you for the compliment. You know, if you can't find a suitable lacy table cloth to give it that kind of country style feel.. Maybe you might want to some DIY, ie; find some ruffle trimmings and paste it round the table edges below the table top & if possible, sew 4 or 5 ribbons to the ruffle trimmings at hexagonal points ? Can even add matching socks with ribbons for the table legs? Then complete the look with a fruit basket or a country style vase. Add some nice cushions to the dining table chairs & maybe ruffle trimmings + a ribbon per trimming at the back of the chairs? It might complete the victorian country style since your furniture is all dark and that period was all dark, edgy style with those barogue art. Hi BunBun, Thank you for the suggestions. If I really cannot find the type of able cloth i like, i will consider DIY. A little worried leh... not good at sewing mah.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cyn 1 Report post Posted July 11, 2008 OK lah.... First is the main entrance. The base is the original HDB door. I love the main door!! Can share what was done to it??!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Banzai18 0 Report post Posted July 11, 2008 Very warm and cosy feel for your dining area! That area on the right below the canopy, I suppose it's a breakfast counter? Does it overlook your living room? Can't really tell as photo is a little small. Just to add, it's not necessary to have matching colours for all furniture in a room. To create a country feel, it's a better idea to have a mixture of textures and wood colours, else it becomes too predictable. This is what I've gathered from some country style decor books. For my home, I intend to have a mixture of brown and white furniture. It's really a combination of different elements to create the country look, not just wood colours. Hi Countrylover, The canopy area can overlook the living room. I do my cooking there and can watch TV at the same time. Love this type of kitchen. I can chat with my family and friends when i cook as well. Sorry the pic is too small. will attach a bigger one. I love the main door!! Can share what was done to it??!! Hi Cyn, Actually, I really do not know how my ID do this door. They took it back to the factory and was there for like a week. ID did not elaborate how he did it but only said sth like sanding the original door and then laminate the wood onto it. i really like the door as well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted July 11, 2008 Hello Banzai18 no worries about the sewing part as you just need to secure the ribbons to the lace by stitching it on. You could do a very tiny cross using white thread just to secure it properly just like the buttons sewn on by hand with a cross over the holes. Hi BunBun, Thank you for the suggestions. If I really cannot find the type of able cloth i like, i will consider DIY. A little worried leh... not good at sewing mah.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
makemefly 0 Report post Posted July 12, 2008 NICE!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites