hihihi 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 Hi all, I'm into the final stage of renovation. But the kitchen cabinet that was delivered measurement was wrong. I would say it is a total design flop. They build the top cabinet protrude out the same length as the bottom cabinet. Standing at the cabinet is like knocking your head against the top cabinet. Just had a minor arguement with the renovator. He talks about money to change the cabinet design. Of coz I have enough evidence against him if he dare ask me to pay. Luckily the last 10% is still in my hands, and also the drawings clearly shows the top cabinet should be placed inner into the wall than the bottom. If he don't change, then no choice, can only see him in SCT. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yokoyoko 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 (edited) Hi all, I'm into the final stage of renovation. But the kitchen cabinet that was delivered measurement was wrong. I would say it is a total design flop. They build the top cabinet protrude out the same length as the bottom cabinet. Standing at the cabinet is like knocking your head against the top cabinet. Just had a minor arguement with the renovator. He talks about money to change the cabinet design. Of coz I have enough evidence against him if he dare ask me to pay. Luckily the last 10% is still in my hands, and also the drawings clearly shows the top cabinet should be placed inner into the wall than the bottom. If he don't change, then no choice, can only see him in SCT. Sorry to hear that, hope everything is ok.. don pay them the 10%!! Act i pulled out from a ID firm and they told me to compensate them.. which i was thinking they are crazy when i didn't even sign with them.. nowsday all type of pattern they can give... c liao oso sianz... Edited June 29, 2008 by yokoyoko Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2008 consumers are always at the disadvantage side. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
donut88 1 Report post Posted June 30, 2008 Hi all, I'm into the final stage of renovation. But the kitchen cabinet that was delivered measurement was wrong. I would say it is a total design flop. They build the top cabinet protrude out the same length as the bottom cabinet. Standing at the cabinet is like knocking your head against the top cabinet. Just had a minor arguement with the renovator. He talks about money to change the cabinet design. Of coz I have enough evidence against him if he dare ask me to pay. Luckily the last 10% is still in my hands, and also the drawings clearly shows the top cabinet should be placed inner into the wall than the bottom. If he don't change, then no choice, can only see him in SCT. u can challenge with contractor by asking him to show u a home where the top is same as bottom. no one will make top and bottom same length. tell him to use his backside to think, already will have the answer liao. Anyway, u only got last 10% of payment. The contractor is more willing to forsake this 10% than to re-do for u FOC. 10% left is not much $$. To re-do FOC, it will cost more than this 10%. So be prepared for this. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hihihi 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2008 That top part of cabinet is a short one. So he has to weigh his remaining 10% versus changing only a portion of that top cabinet. Curious does anyone has gone thru Small Claims Tribunal due to renovation dispute? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Starscream 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 (edited) So is it true that disputes will abound for all renovation projects which means not one project could be a smooth sail? Managing the owners expectations, the limit and ability of the ID/Contractor and the budget at length are all potential explosive points.. I cannot imagine any reason for the same depth for top & bottom kitchen cabinets other than the incompetence of the ID/Contractor or a miscommunication, also not ruling out the possibility of a sabotage by a disgruntled worker.. Edited July 2, 2008 by Starscream Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bbbs 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 so far so gd on my side just that he is very very very slow... we start reno in mid april... and its just 80% done nw!! first he told me 6 weeks, den 8 weeks den nw? zzzzz but so far he has done gd job lah hes asking for hes last payment but only 80% done mah shd i give? or i wait till everything is done? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hihihi 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 hes asking for hes last payment but only 80% done mah shd i give? or i wait till everything is done? If u pay him now, it'll take another decade to complete your reno. He'll Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mud3210 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 so far so gd on my side just that he is very very very slow... we start reno in mid april... and its just 80% done nw!! first he told me 6 weeks, den 8 weeks den nw? zzzzz... btw, i suspect if they are doing too slow, could mean they wan to make use of ur hse to show ppl, thats why dun wan handover to owners so quickly.. anyway, just my guess, could be other reasons.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lawry 3 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 (edited) Gosh, you meant the depth of the top cabinets? Is that the FIRST time that they are making kitchen cabinets for crying out loud??? I'm quite disgusted by all the lousy excuses they can come up with to cover their mistakes. Common sense, top cabinets is 1/2 the depth of bottom cabinets, so that you won't knock your head against them when you stand close to it. There MIGHT be people who requested for same depth top/bottom, and that would be an exception. Since you didn't ask for it, they should jolly well give you the norm instead of doing something else, force it down your throat, ask for replacement fee when you didn't want it. KEEP the last 10%!! It's only paid when you are totally satisfied with everything. Or else they can rectify the unsatisfactories and earn the last 10%! Goodness.... Edited July 2, 2008 by lawry Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 I dont know you guys ever see the show in tv where those ang mo cabinet is the same lenght top and bottom. Different from asian. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bbbs 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 u talking abt this? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 I dont know you guys ever see the show in tv where those ang mo cabinet is the same lenght top and bottom. Different from asian. think it's possible coz some of the houses have much higher ceilings than most places here... but i remember my place in the states before, the depth of the top cabinet was also shorter than the bottom. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hihihi 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 hi all, it is the portion of the kitchen cabinet where my kitchen sink is. I wouldn't complain that much if there is no sink. Problem is, the sink is there, I had to stand close to the cabinet, facing it, and wash things without being able to see what am I washing.... hmm... What annoys me is that contractor who is supposed to be on my side, came to argue with me that this is workable. Goosh. He also sub the job to cabinet makers, he should be chasing them to change instead of arguing with me. This proves that common sense are not common. Update: today they finally tear down the upper cabinet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lawry 3 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 img]http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3102/2617663999_fa96c623fb.jpg img]http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3292/2604487042_027b83386c.jpg u talking abt this? This rather. I did a quick illustration. Top cabinets - 1/2 the depth of bottom cabinets in row 1 Top cabinets - same depth as bottom cabinets in row 2. patsy.sg has a point with regards to higher ceiling, it's actually ok if it's not at your head/face level, so long it doesn't obstruction your view or whatever you are doing at the table top (cooking/washing/eating), it's fine, can't imagine hitting your head against it everytime you look up ... (of course also depends on your height. ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites