yan

Thelineliving Or Tip?

Have been struggling to find an ID firm for more than 2 months liao.. still cannot confirm.. :bangwall: ai.. a really tiring process..

So far I've been to 4 ID firms (seems not many ID firms compared to a lot of forumer here. But, it is really very very time consuming and tiring process :( Imagine I spent average 4-5 hours for one appointment for each of the ID firms and at least 3 appointments for each of the ID firms so far........ :~ )

1. Max's image at HDB hub

ID so so, actually I found myself more creative than her... (I am typical Libra, inborn artist.. :paint: haha :notti: ) and the quoate is quite high

2. TheLineLiving at IMM

3. Chew Interior at JE

Very Very Very bad experience. Hubby even wondered how they could survive till now with such service. 8| ai, if I have time, will share the experience here.

4. The interior place (TIP) at Aljunie

Now only left TheLineLiving and TIP in my list. Any one has any comment or experience with them? Actually both quoate are high. Actually both are higher than Max's image. :P But, dun know leh.. Max's image's quote is quite vague and unclear of a lot of things plus I am not very confident with their designer..

The ID from TheLineLiving is quite friendly. I must say he is quite a good sales man. I believe his service and workmanship should be quite OK one. He volunteerily showed us to the Tile shop at Balestier and help us select tiles and 3 projects in progess (one more handed over project this weekend) even before we confirm.

The Cons is I just found out that he seems not the actual ID, coz he said "I will let my designer do the design, but I will let them know your requirements and preference". And I asked for a few perspective drawing that he did for his project, such as TV console and kichen. I must say, I can't see much design from the TV console feature wall. 8| Or am I just too picky?? :(

For TIP, the designer really have design sense. I can say that I believe he will have no issues in giving a design that I will truly like. He even just anyhow took out a magazine during our conversation and pointed to a few pages and said it is his design. :jawdrop: hmm.. I must said not every designer has such portfolio.

The main concern is more of whether the design is really going to be practical for living in or is it going to be just nice to look at but not practical for living in. We currently have not seen any of his actual unit, so we do not know how his workmanship is going to be. What the ID has told us is that the warranty will be 2 years, which seem much shorter compared to the LineLiving, so it does give some concern on how lasting his work will be. To add on to it, we also found that he seem to have a preference to use wallpaper, which we heard cannot last long.

One more thing, his quote is also high, high, high.

By the way, I want to know usually how many years of warranty the ID firm will provid ah... TheLineLiving said on the paper 5 years, but we can still call him after 5 years. For TIP, it is 2 years.

Any comment or suggest will be greatly appreciated... :rolleyes:

Edited by yan

Anybody has any comment? :) Is it a common practise to have 2 year warranty for reno works? Or 5 year ah? :sport-smiley-018:

Hv been busy revising the itemlist in the quote... it has 5 pages..... :jawdrop: burn big big hole hole from wallet liaio... :bangwall:

I think must look at the fine print for the warranty... if it is actually listed.. what is covers and what it does not..

I dun have much experience with reno, my personal is just, for this kind of warranty, how many times is there just a fine line between workmanship problem and normal wear and tear. They may claim its normal wear and tear and dun cover it right? thats my worry. Point to note, above are personal comments, i have not done any major reno before so its not from experience.