quoo 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2008 hi all, Does a will works for Joint Tenancy ownership flat ? A joint-tenancy is a form of ownership where all co-owners have an equal interest in the flat, regardless of the individual owner's contribution to buy the flat.In joint-tenancy, there is a right of survivorship.This means that upon the death of a joint-tenant, his interest in the flat will automatically be passed to the remaining co-owner(s), regardless of whether the deceased joint-tenant has left behind a Will. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2008 hi all, Does a will works for Joint Tenancy ownership flat ? A joint-tenancy is a form of ownership where all co-owners have an equal interest in the flat, regardless of the individual owner's contribution to buy the flat.In joint-tenancy, there is a right of survivorship.This means that upon the death of a joint-tenant, his interest in the flat will automatically be passed to the remaining co-owner(s), regardless of whether the deceased joint-tenant has left behind a Will. the explanation says it all doesn't it? which part do you not understand??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
quoo 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2008 (edited) My qn is which type of ownership is better ? Tenancy in common or Joint Tenancy ? Why can't these 2 ownership joint to become only one ? Edited June 22, 2008 by quoo Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2008 (edited) only saw one question in your first post anyway, the two ownership is different and caters to different people that's why there's 2 types instead of one :bangwall: there is no better type coz it's basically different it depends on what are your needs if you want to will your share of the flat/house/apartment away then tenancy in common is the way to go if you don't want anyone to fight over your share then go for joint tenancy this one cannot fight in court one if really have to pick the best then sole ownership will be the way to go Edited June 22, 2008 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
quoo 0 Report post Posted June 23, 2008 only saw one question in your first post anyway, the two ownership is different and caters to different people that's why there's 2 types instead of one :bangwall: there is no better type coz it's basically different it depends on what are your needs if you want to will your share of the flat/house/apartment away then tenancy in common is the way to go if you don't want anyone to fight over your share then go for joint tenancy this one cannot fight in court one if really have to pick the best then sole ownership will be the way to go Thanks for the clarification ! But for HDB Flat, you will need min 2 owner, am i correct? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
junxian 0 Report post Posted June 23, 2008 Refer to : http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10201p.nsf/WP...ubMenu=Policies Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yokine9a 1 Report post Posted June 23, 2008 Buy under Singles scheme just need 1 owner lor. My dad bought a flat and signed joint tenancy ownership with my brother. My dad paid for the bulk of the mortgage, abt 90%. Few yrs later, my brother formed his family but still living with us. We couldn't get along well with more members (he has 2 kids) in the house and conflicts started to form. My dad wanted to sell the house so that 2 families could split, my brother demanded an equal share of the profit from selling the unit. He knew he could get it bcos of this stupid joint tenancy ownership. Those are my dad's hard earn $$, he refused and both of them fought like mad. In the end, they went to court. We learned a lesson, always go for tenancy in common. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 23, 2008 Thanks for the clarification ! But for HDB Flat, you will need min 2 owner, am i correct? nope, you don't need 2 owners as long as you can form a family nucleus with your occupiers can liao husband / wife can buy a flat with the spouse as occupier child can buy a flat with parents as occupier that solves the whole issue of ownership however, do note that the person must be listed as the lessee if his/her cpf is to be used Share this post Link to post Share on other sites