Yenming 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2008 Hubby went up to our new hse earlier. Mosiac for MBR is finally tiled and grouted. According to ID, toilets windows will be be replaced tmr as well. This is the shower area... Black wall tiles with Shimmering silver mosiac. This is the basin & toilet bowl area. Beige wall tiles with Black mosiac as shown in e previous posting. Closer look of mosiac & tiles combinations!!! Hubby commented tt the beige & black mosiac appeared to be more attractive then the other. I cant comment on it as I din get to c the "actual masterpiece". Judging fr the pics, it seems tt they are equally nice. Nevermind, I'll get to c them soon... Will be meeting ID again on Thurs to confirm the paint colours as well as lighting points. Shall update again once we confirm on the colours... I prefer bright colours for living but dark colours for bedrooms, hubby prefer dark colours. But once again, FS Master suggested us to go for e below colours after considering our ba zhi:- Me : Metallic, Gold, White & Beige (I can only use this colours in Kitchen). Hubby: Yellow, Purple, Green, Brown, Dark Grey, Rose White, Red , Pink (Bedrooms & Living Room) Prohibited Colours; Black, Light Grey, Blue & bright colours. But FS master said tt, its ok for us to mix Bright Red with Black in our bedrooms as the black will tone down the bright red. Did anyone know of this logic? We'r nt sure too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted July 8, 2008 Hmm black tone down red ah? Maybe its cos black is considered a negative colour for balancing other strong colours I suppose? Grey is neutral since it borders btwn the balance of black and white. Red is a fiery colour for bringing out the image of passion and fire ma? Btw. nice mossaic. Glad to see you and your hubby came to a consensual reach on the mossaic tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darkangel14 0 Report post Posted July 9, 2008 Yenming My id is also Johnny, it is very common to have delays.... because the carpentary is super slow... not Johnny's fault but maybe the carpenter is too meticulous.... Already waited for 3 months to complete my house and still waiting patiently.... frankly i would say the carpentary and tiling works are done nicely..... my wiw is really fabulous..... But i will recommend that you keep a very close eye on your carpentary cos it is hard to make any changes when the blocks of wood are fixed up.... amendments = extra costs..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yenming 0 Report post Posted July 9, 2008 Hmm black tone down red ah? Maybe its cos black is considered a negative colour for balancing other strong colours I suppose? Grey is neutral since it borders btwn the balance of black and white. Red is a fiery colour for bringing out the image of passion and fire ma? Btw. nice mossaic. Glad to see you and your hubby came to a consensual reach on the mossaic tiles. Hi Bun Bun, We r also not sure. But since he said tt its ok, then we will juz follow lor. FS master commented tt Black belong to water colour while red belong to fire colour. We wanted to have Bright red n black in the bedroom. According to FS, hubby is able to choose red colour for walls in the hse but not too bright as it will burnt us! But it is Ok for us to mix Black with Bright red.. since water colour will tone down the over-fired colour. Thanks. I also luv the final selection of our mosiac. Yenming My id is also Johnny, it is very common to have delays.... because the carpentary is super slow... not Johnny's fault but maybe the carpenter is too meticulous.... Already waited for 3 months to complete my house and still waiting patiently.... frankly i would say the carpentary and tiling works are done nicely..... my wiw is really fabulous..... But i will recommend that you keep a very close eye on your carpentary cos it is hard to make any changes when the blocks of wood are fixed up.... amendments = extra costs..... Hi Darkangel, Yup. I knw its common to hav delays. No choice lor, in order to achieve the best outcome/result, I guess all of us hav to wait patiently. Wow, u waited for 3 mths?? I tot on the average, major overhaul is ard 2mths?? since when did u start ur renovation? Can guide me how to keep close eye?? wat to take note? I tot Johnny will ask their carpentor to follow wat was drawn in the 3D? Like tt, still can go wrong arg?? Btw, did you choose glossy laminate for your carpentory? I wanted to. But Johnny suggested to choose matt type. So ended up, choose matt types for all.. actually, glossy looks nicer than matt type ler... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yenming 0 Report post Posted July 9, 2008 Further updates again. Common & MBR Toilet windows replaced... Nice windows! Better view of of MBR toilet.. The contrasting colours of beige & black is a nice combination indeed. Kitchen floor tiles... with the base tiles. Looking forward to my open concept kitchen! Had discussion wif ID. Decided to have a 3' Dresser in MBR & 2' vanitytop in MBR Toilet. hee... additional cost again... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darkangel14 0 Report post Posted July 9, 2008 (edited) Hi Darkangel, Yup. I knw its common to hav delays. No choice lor, in order to achieve the best outcome/result, I guess all of us hav to wait patiently. Wow, u waited for 3 mths?? I tot on the average, major overhaul is ard 2mths?? since when did u start ur renovation? Can guide me how to keep close eye?? wat to take note? I tot Johnny will ask their carpentor to follow wat was drawn in the 3D? Like tt, still can go wrong arg?? Btw, did you choose glossy laminate for your carpentory? I wanted to. But Johnny suggested to choose matt type. So ended up, choose matt types for all.. actually, glossy looks nicer than matt type ler... Edited July 11, 2008 by darkangel14 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yenming 0 Report post Posted July 10, 2008 Hi Yenming my reno does not involve the whole house but it takes really long and draggy bcos of my major carpentary, now ard 3.5mths already... maybe good things are worth waiting hehe.... its better to scrutinise ur 3D... every little details of the structure of the carpentary... keep one copy with u.... esp make sure u match right laminate installed... I didnt keep a copy with me, so v hard to verify... the only most disappointing incident insofar, when i went there, my cabinents didnt install soft closure, i was v disappointed but the carpenter quoted extra $500 to add in.... n worse is I cant rember if they are included in my package cos too many tings to rember.... abit unpractical to pay $500 for that but I believe Johnny is trying hard to help me by quoting me at cost.... some carpentary once fixed r irreversible... also try to be there when the carpenter is there so that u can amend on the spot... another trip down to ur house means they charge u additional costs..... I have chosen both glossy and matt for my feature wall.... glossy ez to have finger prints..... Also the paintings color and all sorts of colour codes that u choose, u must take note and compare with what is done.... always print a copy for your reference... Hope this helps.... You can check out my house progress at my blog.... ~*D & C Cosy Bay*~ Key collection date: Mar 2008 Flat type: Punggol (120 sq m) ID: Johnny from Ideal House Reno start date: 3rd Apr 08 Reno completed: still waiting... Living- Sofa/Coffee table: Red Apple @ IMM Dining table: Furniture Club @ Furniture Mall Beach Road TV: Sharp Aquos 32" & 42" LCD @ Mega Discount Store Home Theatre System: Philips HTS @ Mega Discount Store Bed Frame: Beng Hwa @ IMM Mattress: Furniture Club @ Furniture Mall Beach Road Kitchen- Hood & Hob: Rinnai @ Poh Joo Fridge: Panasonic @ Hong Liang Tiles: SBH Others- Curtains/Blinds: Jimmy Textiles @ Joo Chiat Complex Wallpaper: Tots N Teens @ JCC Lightings: Lights Arcade @ Jalan Besar hi, huh. u sound so scary. wat carpentory work did u actually include? the 3D drawings are actually passed to owner rite? and we did go thru the details n we saw tt he wrote the laminates code down on the 3D drawings. we din took back e drawings after the second amendment. u mean to add in the soft closure need to add so much $$$? yeah, a bit bo hua ler. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yenming 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2008 (edited) Disappointed with Aircon Installation Aircon installation was carried out last Fri. Only Hubby was around during the installation. But he left half-way thru.. Had high expectation as it was highly-recommended by colleague. But it turned out not to our expectation. or rather we are strict wif such insignificant problems. Is it inevitable or are we too strict wif the installation? Pardon me for the poor pics & explanation. Aircon man drilled a whole in MBR toliet tiles and caused the tiles to crack. Shdn they estimate and drill it on a single piece of tile? This hole is exactly in between of 4 tiles which caused the corners of 4 tiles to crack. Hai... wat to do? I cant compromise to this. But ID was really good. We told him abt it and he help us willingly. He'll ask tiler to check on the possibility to change. If changing of tiles will affect more defects in other tiles, then we'll just need to fill the hole n tolerate its "ulgy-ness" for the next few yrs. I'm sure everyone will be familar with this. Hubby has been complaining of this ugly thing in the room. He wanted to ask if it is possible to BOX-UP. But I rejected this idea. I dun think anyone will do box up for this place lor. Anyway, I'm nt complaining abt this whole chunk of unpleasant looking stuff. Can someone tell me if the wooden block used to cover up shd align exactly with the whole squarish area?? Mine wasnt aligned accurately at the bottom... Is it becos the trunking at the bottom was slanted in the first place to allow water to flow into the toilet? Then y wasnt it cut & place it accurately? Is it common? Trunking to trunking not even. Able to visualise? This is definitely not to my standard. Edited July 14, 2008 by Yenming Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yenming 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2008 (edited) Just to add-on below:- Are we suppose to buy a plastic bag to conceal this hanging wires? or it shd be provided by the installation company? We will be carrying out painting works next week. Fan coil will only be installed after painting work. One last doubtful point.. The aircon man did not tied the compressor to the ledge. Wat happens if the compressor drop??? My hubby asked me. I hav no answer. But I called them up n they told me tt they wld tie only when they are installing the fan unit. Isnt it funny? hai... Finally, my uncle was asking me to ask them to provide wat HDB form to ensure tt in any case the compressor wasnt installed correctly and causes it to fall off from my unit, we will not be liable. Is there such thing? I called them but they said no need. Stainless steel ledge dun need to provide such form. Such rule? hai hai.... Anyway, we have made an appointment to meet up on Sunday to discuss further. I jus hope tt they wont tell me its norm to hav such flaws. Please advise criticially if u hav faced similar problems so tt I can be assure tt such problems are norms. i dun wish to argue wif them since they are recommended by colleague... Windows Not Installed Properly We changed the balcony windows... The windows ledges were not able to shut down smoothly. Anyway, we called ID up and request him to check tomorrow. That's all for today. Good news! Meeting ID on sat to buy sanitoryware, storage heater, lightings if time permit. Will be gg tog wif another owner. Shd be OK wif me!! But we need to confirm laminate again & carpentory. Edited July 15, 2008 by Yenming Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darkangel14 0 Report post Posted July 18, 2008 Yenming My house is finally done... carpentary seriously not bad.... take a look at my swivel tv and consider getting one... its q impressive..... http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?au...blogid=477& Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yenming 0 Report post Posted July 18, 2008 Yenming My house is finally done... carpentary seriously not bad.... take a look at my swivel tv and consider getting one... its q impressive..... http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?au...blogid=477& Hi darkangel, I click on the url blog.. but din manage to c any posting... can u guide me on which header to click after entering? thnks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yenming 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2008 Met up with ID last Sat to select the paints for our house... Stone Cave - Color for the wall behind feature wall. Rose White - Balance walls in living room as propose by FS master. Purple Lint - Color for the kitchen wall. Lavender Mist & Culture Pearl - Color for MBR. Dainty Pink & Orchid White - Color for Sis-in-law bedroom. Sungod & Orchid White - Color for Study room. Glossy Paint for common toilet pipe to match the wall tiles. Proposed by Hubby... Glossy Paint for MBR toilet pipe to match the wall tiles too........ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted July 23, 2008 Met up with ID last Sat to select the paints for our house... Stone Cave - Color for the wall behind feature wall. I had stone cave behind my living rm feature wall as well. We felt it was a good choice after we saw the end results. You can take a look at the pictures in my blog. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yenming 0 Report post Posted July 23, 2008 (edited) I had stone cave behind my living rm feature wall as well. We felt it was a good choice after we saw the end results. You can take a look at the pictures in my blog. yup. i saw urs.. really not a bad idea... at first was thinking if it might b too dark for living room.. i lup ur tv console & feature wall too!! wat's the length of ur tv console? i wan to imagine hw big will be mine. mine is 7ft. Edited July 23, 2008 by Yenming Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yenming 0 Report post Posted July 23, 2008 (edited) Confused... ID called hubby to verify on the laminate for TV Feature wall... He told us tt we chose all black... But we had chosen white & black... he has already copied the laminated code in the 3D drawings ma. we had it discussed last sat and I still rem tt the white laminate is the same code as the white laminate which we had chosen for shoe cabinet... die... really scared if he had really mixed up the laminate codes in the drawings. we din managed to make a copy either... so cant verify too.. wanted a copy now but he has already passed to the carpentor.. anyone took back the 3D drawings indicating all the laminates code portion by portion? Edited July 23, 2008 by Yenming Share this post Link to post Share on other sites