Yenming

My Dream House Project

My hubby went back to our place to take some photos again :notti: As mentioned, we feel tt the mosiac chosen for MBR toilet may not be a perfect match wif the tiles. Hence, ID went to chose some different tone of mosiac and leave it in our place. He told us tt he has chosen one type out of the samples tt he took from SBH. Hence, he told us to choose one out of the four as well to c if we have also chosen the same type. Anyway, we took some photos of the tiles with mosiac...

P6230017.jpg

Looks nice and class...

P6230018.jpg

Nice but not very outstanding

P6230019.jpg

Hubby said tt this is nice... but i think otherwise, slightly normal.. :dunno:

P6230020.jpg

Hubby commented tt it look like seashell... unique but dun suit my taste

Conclusion : Me vote for the lst mosiac, Hubby vote for 3rd mosiac...

Any voters from u all????

Oh yesh, finally, we see some further progress in the laying of floor tiles:-

Common Toilet half-completed - I like the it very very much... :dancingqueen:

DSC00404.jpg

DSC00405.jpg

DSC00406.jpg

Sis-in-law room started laying of tiles - Good workmanship... :notti:

DSC00407.jpg

Shall update more pics again tmr...

Hmm I would go for the 3rd mosaic partly due to the fact that the first mosaic is black in colour with a little sparkle but not enough to be outstanding in the overall design. 'Cos one side of the MBR toilet is already black and the other side is beige, its like balancing yin and yang since the beige looks a bit grey somehow.

For a better visualisation, you can put the samples of 1st & 3rd mosaic in the area meant for the mosaic in the MBR toilet to see if matching with the tiles overall. =) Just go with what you and your hubby will feel most comfortable looking at everyday.

My hubby went back to our place to take some photos again :notti: As mentioned, we feel tt the mosiac chosen for MBR toilet may not be a perfect match wif the tiles. Hence, ID went to chose some different tone of mosiac and leave it in our place. He told us tt he has chosen one type out of the samples tt he took from SBH. Hence, he told us to choose one out of the four as well to c if we have also chosen the same type. Anyway, we took some photos of the tiles with mosiac...

P6230017.jpg

Looks nice and class...

P6230018.jpg

Nice but not very outstanding

P6230019.jpg

Hubby said tt this is nice... but i think otherwise, slightly normal.. :dunno:

P6230020.jpg

Hubby commented tt it look like seashell... unique but dun suit my taste

Conclusion : Me vote for the lst mosiac, Hubby vote for 3rd mosiac...

Any voters from u all????

Edited by BunBun

hi...i am now doing research for my reno next year and johnny from ideal house is one of the top in my list.....can see that his works not bad....would like to hear more future feedbacks from you :)

Hmm I would go for the 3rd mosaic partly due to the fact that the first mosaic is black in colour with a little sparkle but not enough to be outstanding in the overall design. 'Cos one side of the MBR toilet is already black and the other side is beige, its like balancing yin and yang since the beige looks a bit grey somehow.

For a better visualisation, you can put the samples of 1st & 3rd mosaic in the area meant for the mosaic in the MBR toilet to see if matching with the tiles overall. =) Just go with what you and your hubby will feel most comfortable looking at everyday.

Hi Bun Bun, i knw ur meaning... but we will be having two different mosiac. those black tiles area will be running the glittering mosiac which is almost similar to the 3rd mosiac. But for those beige tiles, I feel tt its better to use black mosiac.... anyway, we will meet ID tmr. we will discuss wif him. Keep u update again!

hi...i am now doing research for my reno next year and johnny from ideal house is one of the top in my list.....can see that his works not bad....would like to hear more future feedbacks from you :)

Johnny from Ideal House is definitely a good choice. But I think he's really very bz.... cos both of us very kan cheong abt the renovation... then we keep asking him bits and pieces of information until he buay tahan my hubby and ask us to compile a list of questions. awhahaha... but we r really excited so we keep confirming wif him, by when we need to buy this, by when we need to confirm this ????

nt very sure if its normal for all couples to feel e same way... perhaps we r overly anxious abt our first hm...

:notti: hehehe....

Great! Just a follow-up from previous update on the tiling work:-

Sis-in-law 's room tiling work has been completed today. Fast.

P6240022.jpg

On the other hand, study room also start today... should be able to complete tom.

P6240023.jpg

Hubby said tt the circled orange tiles seems to be out-of-colour as compared to the rest. The orange colour looks milky and blur than the rest. He tried to wipe off, thinking tt its may be due to the dust, but the colour remain unclear. Most probably, we will ask the tiler to replace tt tile. Shd be no problem to change rite??

DSC00406a.jpg

Hello Yenming, You mean the earlier mosaic, the light blue version which was choosen?

No worries, im just sharomg my view that all, you can go ahead with your preference as long as both you and your hubby like it. :) Its a home you guys are having and most impt is to be happy & contented in a home of your own. Just curious, would the pipes in the toilet be painted as well?

Hi Bun Bun, i knw ur meaning... but we will be having two different mosiac. those black tiles area will be running the glittering mosiac which is almost similar to the 3rd mosiac. But for those beige tiles, I feel tt its better to use black mosiac.... anyway, we will meet ID tmr. we will discuss wif him. Keep u update again!

hi yenming...how much does ur reno cost? hope to know an indicative amount....mine is a 98sq 4 room resale flat in yishun.....planning to do a complete overhaul as nothing in the house can keep hahaha so hope to know aga need how much for reno....i wonder if 25k enuff anot

Hello Yenming, You mean the earlier mosaic, the light blue version which was choosen?

No worries, im just sharomg my view that all, you can go ahead with your preference as long as both you and your hubby like it. :) Its a home you guys are having and most impt is to be happy & contented in a home of your own. Just curious, would the pipes in the toilet be painted as well?

Yap. The pipes will be painted. As propsed by ID, toilet will be using black & beige wall tiles. For shower area, we'll be using the black wall tiles. As for the washing and toilet bowl area, we r using the beige wall tiles. However. the initial mosiac choosen does not really match the beige tiles. Hence, we will only stick to use the below mosiac for shower area since it does not have problem to match black tiles.

P6180001.jpg

So we need to choose another suitable mosiac to match the beige tiles. In order to blend in the overall colour of the toilet, I chose black glittering mosiac as above. But sad to say, hubby n ID chose the below mosiac.

P6230019.jpg

I'm just worried if its funny to hav so many colours in the toilet... Black wall tiles + silver glitter mosiac, Beige wall tiles + Purplish mosiac + white toilet bowl + 2ft Black Granite Vanity Top...

But finally, I leave it to them to decide lah... hehehe...

hi yenming...how much does ur reno cost? hope to know an indicative amount....mine is a 98sq 4 room resale flat in yishun.....planning to do a complete overhaul as nothing in the house can keep hahaha so hope to know aga need how much for reno....i wonder if 25k enuff anot

Hi Queen, my renovation cost is ard $42K. Basically, your cost may be lower because of smaller area and original package price for 4-rm is already cheaper than our package price. You can check the I-deal Hse web for the package price... After tt, any additional cost will varies wif wat you wan to do (such as wardrobe, shoe cabinet, feature wall etc).

Just an idea of wat I have done:-

- Elegance Resale Package @ $15,888 (i think already increased to $16,888) plus the below add items:

- Balcony, Living Rm & Bedrooms floor tiles @ $4plus (we top up fr original package of $3).

- 12ft elevated Platform **** area

- 7ft TV console

- TV Full-Height Feature Wall for Living

- False Ceiling/L-Box for Living & Dining

- 9ft Breakfast counter with solid surface for open concept

- Glass Backing for Kitchen workstation

- Washing machine base

- 9ft wardrobe for MBR

- TV Full-Height Feature Wall for MBR

- 3ft suspended simple shelving console

- 6ft wardrobe for Sis-in-law Rm

- Wrought Iron Gate for Main Door

- Nytoh Door for Main, 3 Rooms & 1 Storeroom

- Sliding windows for Balcony (previous owner did not install)

- 5ft Full-Height Shoe Cabinet

So u plan to have ur renovation done which mth next yr? U got ur keys already?

Met up with ID yesterday n told him tt of the replacement of the blur-milky orange tiles.. He called tiler immmediately and requested them to replace... After which, we did some discussion on some other outstanding matters..... Later we went site-seeing wif him to other owners flat before we proceeded to his office to make some changes in the 3D drawings... :dancingqueen:

Its a tiring day. But we benefited much much.. after confirming many details.

Few days back, Johnny asked us if we wanted to change the windows in both toilets. After discussion, we decided not to change becos we need to control cost. Its not cheap ler.... Just two small windows, n it cost abt $400plus. So we told him to remain. But yesterday, surprisely, he called tiler to tell them to hack the tiles as we need to change the windows... We asked him why change since we have decided not to go ahead.. Then then, he said he will FOC the windows....becos the ugly windows will not go well wif the nicely nicely n pretty toilet.... Hooray.... Kudos to him!!!!

Later part of the day, we started talking abt FOC items... Finally, we managed to get the below FOC:-

- Glass Panel **** Room

- Glass Backing at Kitchen Worktop upgrade to Tinted Mirror wif no add cost

- Settee at Shoe Cabinet

- Upgrade MBR Toilet bi-fold door to Glass Door at no add cost

So satisfied with our results... in just 1 day, we manage to get so many FOCs. actually, we wanted to negotiate for other FOC things, but Johnny said he will hav to da-bao bag n escape soon....wahwahha

Edited by Yenming

Its time to update the progress of renovations as tiling work is coming to an end soon. According to reno schedule, tiling shd be completed by this week. :dancingqueen:

Just an update, finally, we din select any of the above listed mosiac.. thanks to ID. He knew tt we cant make up our mind. He took the trouble to help us find another mosiac which is able to satisfy our individuals preferences. I prefer black mosiac, Hubby prefer shimmering shiny mosiac. Finally, we agreed to use the below mosiac for our MBR toilet. An extra mile of service by ID help to save this couple from arguing. Anyway, ID said tt if we continue to argue, he can only handover the hse to us in 2009. hahaha....

DSC00447.jpg

Its a fact tt everyone is made differently... Both of us have been debating over almost all issues from selection of tiles, mosiac, laminate to even the colour of the paint...... I think ID also cant stand us... whahaha... Though this is the tough-est project i hav ever came across, we believe tt we shd be able to walk thru it... Wish us Luck in smooth renovation process... :yamseng:

Back to the renovation progress, updates as per below:-

1. MBR Toilet - Tiles not yet grouted, Mosiac delivered but not yet tiled & Windows not replaced.

2. Common Toilet - Tiles not yet grouted, Windows not yet replaced

3. Living Room, Kitchen, 3 Bedrooms, Balcony & Storeroom completed

4. Skirtings for whole place completed

Some pics taken:-

Common Toilet

DSC03047.jpg

Kitchen - Black Floor Tiles

DSC00448.jpg

MBR Toilet - Black Floor Tiles

DSC00421.jpg

Edited by Yenming

More Pics :-

Balcony & Main Door Step - Rustic Floor Tiles - I lup tis the most!! :notti:

DSC00454.jpg

DSC03045.jpg

Mosiac @ each bedrooms door step

DSC03041.jpg

Mosiac to seperate the white living rooms tiles & black kitchen tiles

DSC03042.jpg

Met up with ID last sat... Requested him to help me design a dresser beside my bed and also we amended the design of the shoe cabinet. was told nt to use glossy laminate as it will nt look nice under the reflection of light.

Tt's all for the time being! Will be back to update the progress of re-wiring works.