ane 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2008 Hi What would ur suggest for the kitchen cabinet material for those who cooking everyday Granite? My mums cooks everyday and also lots of washing of plates.. can solid wood can "tahan" the heat and the sink area? thinking ofdoing the cabinetof the old style like those who do cement for the cooking and the sink area Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted June 5, 2008 Hi. you referring to concrete sink support right? Granite is porous and absorbs spillage and etc if not wiped clean immediately, I think. This should be for the kitchen countertop le, you might want to do some research on the type of materials for kitchen countertops. But for the kitchen cabinet, plywood is used in kitchen cabinets. Hi What would ur suggest for the kitchen cabinet material for those who cooking everyday Granite? My mums cooks everyday and also lots of washing of plates.. can solid wood can "tahan" the heat and the sink area? thinking ofdoing the cabinetof the old style like those who do cement for the cooking and the sink area Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MLR 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2008 Hi What would ur suggest for the kitchen cabinet material for those who cooking everyday Granite? My mums cooks everyday and also lots of washing of plates.. can solid wood can "tahan" the heat and the sink area? thinking ofdoing the cabinetof the old style like those who do cement for the cooking and the sink area Hi ane, I gotten great tips and info from someone's blog, he writes well and in great details, hereby sharing...http://renovation-greencoal.blogspot.com. He made a detail comparison of the diffrent counter tops materials in his 04/27 - 05/04 entries (see the left side of the blog page) and care & maintenance tips of the different materials in his 05/04 - 05/11 entries (end of it). Hope tis helps.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 5, 2008 (edited) don't think you can get granite for cabinets usually cabinet is made of wood unless you go for concrete support as for the blog entry about care for granite find that it's a little too cautious i did none coz granite is so hard it's only possible to scratch it with diamonds and heat definitely can't do anything to stones my sink support is made of concrete as i find that water and wood don't go together well the rest is wooden cabinet coz heat doesn't really do much to wood so far we've lived in for 9mths, cooking almost everyday Edited June 5, 2008 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yokine9a 1 Report post Posted June 6, 2008 No material is perfect, it depends what is important to you. For tiles top, very solid, need not worry abt heat, scratch & water but might chip/crack if chop too hard on it. I mean chopping food hor Also, grout lines hard to maintain unless you brush them everyday. Some might not like tiles support cos it is old style. For granite top, acidic liquid will stain it if leave overnite. For solid surface like corian, not heat resistant and some say prone to scratches too. As for the support material, either wood or concrete lor. I used concrete support with granite top for the whole of my stove, chopping & sink area. I cook everyday (dinner only for weekdays). I always buy chicken/pork bones from the wet market to make my soup, so I do chopping work every weekend. I have the habit to wipe the granite top of my chopping area with towel everytime I finish my cooking, so no worries on staining it overnite. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted June 6, 2008 for granite top, it's quite easy to maintain if the sealing process if done properly my granite top so far so good even left stains overnight and still can be cleaned off don't think it's very acidic coz it's curry Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
honeydew 0 Report post Posted July 26, 2008 for granite top, it's quite easy to maintain if the sealing process if done properly my granite top so far so good even left stains overnight and still can be cleaned off don't think it's very acidic coz it's curry Granite top is good. I have the black galaxy granite, easy to maintain. Look so elegant with the white pearl kitchen cabinet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Caireann 1 Report post Posted October 22, 2009 If I had the money I would go for all stainless steel. My mom got stainless steel top for her kitchen and it lasts forever. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites