weixiaobao

My First Humble Lodge At Jurong West...

Actually I would suggest take out the feature wall and replace it with more glass shelve cos really take out space and serve no purpose.

Having a display cabinet is also a good ideas cos in long run u will need more storage when u have additional members. :notti:

Jus my ONE cents advise. :P

I like ur house color theme "Ork Ork" kind. :lol:

I have cove light in my living room, wheather have cockroach or lizard I really dont know so far I didnt hear any scream from my wifey I guess their home are safe. :sport-smiley-004::sport-smiley-004:

Cove light is veri bright and waste electricity cos need to turn on few tube together. :notti: If u wan to see the effect can come over to my hse. :sport-smiley-018:

Must agree with you... the display cabinet a bit useless.. but I think mainly is to make the corridor leading to the study less dull. Cos, u see, I combine 2 bedroom together and seal up one.. so I can only go in my one door and then the moment I step in, I got to go thru one small "corridor" to my study. So tot of putting a display area to make it less dull. See my layout below.

Maybe one side use as display, the other side can do cabinet - more practical?

Lolz My ID will kill me if I change again man.

And no worries.. I do family planning and pretty disciplined too :notti::notti:

Ork ork theme very hard to paint. My uncle helping me with the painting haha.. sure box me left right and all the nagging from the elderly.

Got cockroach and lizard, I will scream la! Not my wife... :P:P:P

Cove light can selectively on a few tube? no need on all together?

Edited by weixiaobao

IMHO, the T5 light used for cove is already bright and yes cove lights are quite bright so ur ID is correct. My family home uses both cove and downlights but to replace bulbs for downlights is kinda troublesome also.

There would be times when one bulb will go off and will have to be changed only to find another goes off again in a few months later. So you see already quite ma fan. Downlights is more softer and not too bright but if you're using alot of downlights, its as good as wasting electricity & more money burnt on buying replacement ight bulbs that is. Thats why my place don't have cove or downlights. Just the normal light fixtures.

IC.. cham man Im using quite a bit of downlight or halogen for my place... think 2 for wardrobe, 2 for area outside MBR toilet, 4 for corridor, 2 for foyer.

Cove light in total got to use 18 tubes! study area have, sleeping area have, dining room have, living also have! A bit too much right.. jialat man.

My ID say wun waste electricity as long as get those energy efficient tube like T5... :dunno::dunno:

Any idea how much one T5 will cost?

Anyway my wall finally hacked liao.. looks ok afterall.

But while removing one of my door frame, my new tiles crack..

ID say too much force exerted on the door frame and tiles newly laid thus causing the tiles to crack..

Lucky I got spare tiles .. got to replace 4 pieces. $$$ fly..

Glad he got his guys to rectify the tiles.. dunno he charging me or not. But if he does, I will make noise..

See what he says tomorrow. :dancingqueen::dancingqueen:

Anyway some pictures to share (nowadays in pic taking mood :thumbs up: )

My living room with new tiles laid..

Livingroom.jpg

My Dining area:

Diningroomcumcorridor.jpg

Foyer:

Foyer.jpg

Im not sure about that but my dad says that Lbox or cove lights are kinda useless though in a way due to numerous 'replacement' bulbs to change whichever bulb. You remember bulbs no matter how energy saving, they still have limited life-span. My hubby thinks the same way too. We saved quite a bit by not having any Lbox or cove lights and less cleaning to do in a sense as those areas will accumulate dirt/dust with time. :sport-smiley-018:

The thing is you may be spending quite a bit on replacement bulbs if you're having both cove & halogen lights. Since you will never know which bulb will go off after its lifespan is up or when its faulty. :rolleyes: Why don't you check out the market price for the T5 first?

IC.. cham man Im using quite a bit of downlight or halogen for my place... think 2 for wardrobe, 2 for area outside MBR toilet, 4 for corridor, 2 for foyer.

Cove light in total got to use 18 tubes! study area have, sleeping area have, dining room have, living also have! A bit too much right.. jialat man.

My ID say wun waste electricity as long as get those energy efficient tube like T5... :dunno::dunno:

Any idea how much one T5 will cost?

Edited by BunBun

Must agree with you... the display cabinet a bit useless.. but I think mainly is to make the corridor leading to the study less dull. Cos, u see, I combine 2 bedroom together and seal up one.. so I can only go in my one door and then the moment I step in, I got to go thru one small "corridor" to my study. So tot of putting a display area to make it less dull. See my layout below.

myfloorplan.jpg

Maybe one side use as display, the other side can do cabinet - more practical?

Lolz My ID will kill me if I change again man.

And no worries.. I do family planning and pretty disciplined too :notti::notti:

Ork ork theme very hard to paint. My uncle helping me with the painting haha.. sure box me left right and all the nagging from the elderly.

Got cockroach and lizard, I will scream la! Not my wife... :P:P:P

Cove light can selectively on a few tube? no need on all together?

Since u already mention the corridor is narrow then it would be better to take out the feature wall create more space is better than dull. ;)

But I am curious how come ur ID create a funny door way for u, he shld open ur MB door direct if u don understand can call me I later pm u my no. :P

Im not sure about that but my dad says that Lbox or cove lights are kinda useless though in a way due to numerous 'replacement' bulbs to change whichever bulb. You remember bulbs no matter how energy saving, they still have limited life-span. My hubby thinks the same way too. We saved quite a bit by not having any Lbox or cove lights and less cleaning to do in a sense as those areas will accumulate dirt/dust with time. :sport-smiley-018:

The thing is you may be spending quite a bit on replacement bulbs if you're having both cove & halogen lights. Since you will never know which bulb will go off after its lifespan is up or when its faulty. :rolleyes: Why don't you check out the market price for the T5 first?

Hmm I was contemplating not doing so many false ceiling. think cost pretty high and waste electricity.

Dunno how to change also.. not familiar with ceiling works..

Cos if u see my layout. dining and living room joined together and im doing cove for living room area. (U-shape). See my proposed ceiling works.

Actually i only want the living room cove lights. The rest are optional..

Any advice?

RevisedCeilingplan_989A_02-721.jpg

Hmm I was contemplating not doing so many false ceiling. think cost pretty high and waste electricity.

Cos if u see my layout. dining and living room joined together and im doing cove for living room area. (U-shape). See my proposed ceiling works.

Any advice?

XiaoBao , cove light setting will attract dust and dead insects .

Depend if you are willing to clean them or not loh .

But electricity should not be much . You can see Mace t-blog . I learn alot of lightings inside .... :notti::notti: Must save $$$ $$

Bro u got hack down ur kitchen wall bo? :sport-smiley-004: Can do a mini island. :sport-smiley-004:

Bo leh.. firstly no budget. 2ndly, wife dun want open concept and if use glass very hard to maintain and expensive too.

If got budget, I also want to do.. hack the wall, extend my kitchen out, and then dining area shift to behind.

Bo leh.. firstly no budget. 2ndly, wife dun want open concept and if use glass very hard to maintain and expensive too.

If got budget, I also want to do.. hack the wall, extend my kitchen out, and then dining area shift to behind.

Oh forget to tell u paveway to ur bedroom need only one downlight, dont have to put until 3.

Since u already mention the corridor is narrow then it would be better to take out the feature wall create more space is better than dull. ;)

But I am curious how come ur ID create a funny door way for u, he shld open ur MB door direct if u don understand can call me I later pm u my no. :P

Hmm dun really get what u mean bro :help::help:

WOW you got so many cove lightings. but like cantona7 say, you dun need so many cove lights for passageway... just 1 cove light can. My passageway dun have any light fixture as we decided not to fix it since our study room light already illuminate the passageway so bright.

Then the living room has like 5 cove lights. The dining room light has 1 cove light but will also illuminate the living room area with little more visible light if switched on alone the way I see it. You can opt to do maybe 3- 4 cove lights for your living area? You know the ID might say the cove lights is impt cos of the design but any experienced electrician will tell you whether it will be sufficient to have 1 or 2 lights.

Any advice?

WOW you got so many cove lightings. but like cantona7 say, you dun need so many cove lights for passageway... just 1 cove light can. My passageway dun have any light fixture as we decided not to fix it since our study room light already illuminate the passageway so bright.

Then the living room has like 5 cove lights. The dining room light has 1 cove light but will also illuminate the living room area with little more visible light if switched on alone the way I see it. You can opt to do maybe 3- 4 cove lights for your living area? You know the ID might say the cove lights is impt cos of the design but any experienced electrician will tell you whether it will be sufficient to have 1 or 2 lights.

Talked to my ID today..

Revised the lighting point from 28 to 23...

Cove light for living room using 2 T5 tube at each side..

Cove lighting for study reduce from 4 to 3 T5 as well..

Passageway took out another one. =)