ene

Why Do Irritating People Go To Cinemas?!?!

Word of caution: This is a rant.

Last night (Friday), the boy and I were watching the 7.05pm screening of Sex and the City at Tampines Mall. The cinema wasn’t 100% full. I’d say that it was 60% full with most of the audience packed like sardines towards the back, obviously. During the gazillion advertisements and trailers (did you know that GV screens at least 20 minutes of ads/trailers before the movie?), we soon noticed that seated RIGHT behind me was a man with a female companion.

We noticed him because he was making all sorts of weird comments during the trailers/ads. Yes, the movie hasn’t bloody begun. The boy and I turned around a couple of times to give him the EYE. His companion shushed him once. He stopped for all of 2.7 seconds.

Soon, the movie began. I was really excited and couldn’t stop beaming to myself because I was finally watching Sex and the City! WOOHOO!

My happiness lasted all of 3.4 seconds.

Thanks to that f***ing nincompoop seated behind me, we were subjected to a running commentary of HIS emotions and expressions. There wasn’t much of a range to start with. It was usually one or a combination of the following:

Wah lau!

Uh oh.

Hehehehe. Waaaaah!!!

Oooooooh.

Wah piang eh!!!

Eeeeeeeeeeeuw!

His constant repertoire of random exclaimations lasted THROUGHOUT the 2 hours and 28 minutes show. I mean, c’mon now. I understand that watching SATC may have been an almost religious experience for him but did he have to react to every. ****. scene?

There was, of course, a small degree of nudity in the movie and you should have heard the way he reacted. It was as if he has NEVER EVER seen a naked female body in his entire life! His reactions weren’t sexual but he just sounded goddamn excited!

Oh wait a minute. Maybe he really hasn’t seen a naked female bod in his entire life because he did look like a bloody sad existence of mankind.

I shot him the LOOK many a times THROUGHOUT the movie. At one point, I even did a very loud “TSK!!!!!”. Did he get it?

No f***ing way.

I was this close to shoving a mop stick (which the boy bought from Muji but that’s a story for another day) up his fat-laden arse and telling him to SHUT THE F*** UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WE ARE TRYING TO WATCH A MOVIE HERE! Beating him up into a pulp would have been a fantasy come true as well.

But I did not. We just sat there in angry silence, willing him to just shut up. I really really just wish that I had the courage to tell such f***ers off though. I really do.

What would YOU have done?

Unfortunate to be seated close to an inconsiderate person. We could let him/her know what we think of his mannerisms and leave it as that, cause it ain't our duty to further his/her education. That being said, if you are not enjoying the movie one bit, could have gone to the cinema operators to highlight the matter for their follow-up? :) well it's over and just stay lucky not to encounter another "loud-mouth" for your next movie.

Edited by Starscream

hmm, this is a really bad situation to be in

so far the furthest i've gone is issue a LOUD 'shhhhhhhhh'

the person managed to get my point...

Confession: I ever threw a 1/4 filled coke (those ^%#@! expensive kind that you buy at GV's counter) at a golden-haired monkey who was yakking away on his mobile for a good 10mins. He was sitting like six rows in front of me and I can hear him!

Everyone in the room was 'tsk-ing' and 'shh-ing' away, one ang-moh lady even shouted, 'excuse me!', but he just continued yakking. Thus not surprised at all that nobody pointed me out when my coke splashed on his entire body; everyone just look straight at the screen. After some crude beng-ish cursing, he just LL walked to toilet and wash, with a few people giving soft applause...haha!

Confession: I ever threw a 1/4 filled coke (those ^%#@! expensive kind that you buy at GV's counter) at a golden-haired monkey who was yakking away on his mobile for a good 10mins. He was sitting like six rows in front of me and I can hear him!

:good: THIS IS BRILLIANT! I just wish I had the courage to do something like that.

And another pet peeve: Why do people insist on checking their sms DURING the movie, hence lighting up the entire space around!? WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY?

If their social lives are so important and they CANNOT live without text messages from their friends, then don't go to the cinema lah!

If you REALLY must check your sms, couldn't you do it subtly, i.e. holding it under your jacket or something so that it doesn't light up the world?!

And i thought only I had this problem.

Had the same thing when watching Indiana Jones last week.. some idiot beside was yakking away BESIDE me.. even after ppl shushed him..

then yesterday I was watching Narnia.. these bunch of people behind me.. but I buay tahan liao just shushed them.. at least they understand english.. were quiet after that..

but the first indiana jones experience was terrible.. similar to ene's.. for the whole freakin movie... yak yak yak yak

there were at least 2 or 3 news report i saw - such loud mouths kena HUMTUM in the cinema.

worse case i ever kena is a baby.....****....why bring a few months old baby into a dark dark cinema??? :dunno:

there were at least 2 or 3 news report i saw - such loud mouths kena HUMTUM in the cinema.

worse case i ever kena is a baby.....****....why bring a few months old baby into a dark dark cinema??? :dunno:

Bring a baby into the cinema?!! WAH LAU! That's the ultimate. VERY VERY inconsiderate people! Just bloody rent the DVD lah! Tsk! :furious:

Had the same thing when watching Indiana Jones last week.. some idiot beside was yakking away BESIDE me.. even after ppl shushed him..

Some people really just don't. get. it. even when people around are asking to shut up. I always dream of beating up such people.

Oh yeah.. talk abt baby.. i've had that experience before..

sigh.. thats why i tell wife.. these ppl are the reason i rather buy my region 1 dvds from amazon.. lol..

Oh yeah.. talk abt baby.. i've had that experience before..

sigh.. thats why i tell wife.. these ppl are the reason i rather buy my region 1 dvds from amazon.. lol..

plus no need kena CHOP $10 for a cheapo popcorn and coke. :notti:

exactly. other pros include

1) can can pee without fear :P

2) 20 dollars for 2 tickets. but top up another 5 dollar can keep a region 1 DVD

lol..

Some people really just don't. get. it. even when people around are asking to shut up. I always dream of beating up such people.

You very violet leh.. :sport-smiley-003:

You very violent leh.. :sport-smiley-003:

People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.

George Orwell

frankly - so far none has irritate me so far - cos i am always ready give them a piece of my mind.

You very violet leh..

Haha. You know I'm just joking :sport-smiley-003: It's just something I DREAM of doing because I get very irritated by inconsiderate behaviour. It's like, hello? You pay for cinema tickets, I also paid. So how come I become irritated due to YOUR stupid inconsiderate behaviour?!

Sighs.

People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.

:D That's a good one!