snow_4ling

Anyone Thinking Of Buying Housing Insurance?

I think this is covered by CPF's HPS right?

Remember its something like 50% or 100% coverage, ie for 50% coverage, if one party dies, that party's own liability will be cleared, but the living party will still have to pay for his/her own share.

If 100% coverage, once one party dies, both parties' liabilities will be cleared. Do check with CPF or read the website first before you commit to the insurance agent, dun buy double coverage.

Insurance is a legal requirement. One will need to buy. The easiest method is to just buy HPS from CPF as it will be deductable via CPF. Do note that I strongly recommend both parties buying 100%.

Some people might recommend buying 50% each, but I think thats totally unrealistic. When something happen our partner, the last thing we wanna worry about would be our home. Even 50% repayment when we suddenly have bills, kids and whatsoever to contend with will be a nightmare.

Its not too expensive anyway, so why even take the risk? This insurance is also available from commercial players. Most of them offer similar terms, but they give the family an additional option of taking cash (As opposed to just paying off the house).

If commerical, which insurance will offer it more attractive?

Check with the companies lor.. Most offer differently. Some want you to buy it as a one-time insurance cash payout. Others is a yearly paying affair. All cash...

Hi, Anyone thinking of buying insurance that protect the family by clearing the housing loan, in the event of the loan payor's death/disability?

hehe :notti: ..u r selling or intending to buy mortgage insurance?

If commerical, which insurance will offer it more attractive?

i compared before, Prudential's cheaper than HPS, but good thing abt HPS is that its payable by CPF

hi all

i am interested to know in the case of only one person in occupier list, say like buying with parents who r under applicants , is there any 100% insurance available?

as feedback from some ppl, it is more benifits and cheaper to buy insurance at outside market rather than buy from HDB ..

any advise?

thanks ya..

erm HDB don't sell insurance

HPS is a CPF scheme

it's best to compare the rates yourself as age and gender plays a part in determining the premium

btw jakie, i think it's the other way right

one person as applicant and parents as occupiers?

that's my case and i got 100% coverage

even when there is 2 applicants, each can get 100% coverage as well

it's totally up to you to decide what kind of coverage you want :yamseng:

hi all

i am interested to know in the case of only one person in occupier list, say like buying with parents who r under applicants , is there any 100% insurance available?

as feedback from some ppl, it is more benifits and cheaper to buy insurance at outside market rather than buy from HDB ..

any advise?

thanks ya..

What happen is that insurance agent will only cover up to the amount owing. Therefore, if the owner takes 100% of the loan & therefore, 100% is possible. However, nowadays most of the loan is shared among couple. In this case the max sum assured will be up to the max loan, Hope this helps.

as for comparison to Term insurance & mortage insurance the difference is the coverage & premium.

For e.g $200,000 loan for mortage insurance is about $200+ per year whereby Term insurance with the same sum assured cost about $400 per year. So if the objective of the plan is to take care of the mortage loan. Taking up mortage policy makes more sense.

Yes you are right. I am a agent. Therefore, i will try my best to answer if there is any enquiries.