gidler

Creating A "little" Home For "little" Ones..

I've benefitted a great deal from this forum, so I figure its time I give something back by blogging my reno process.. :)

Due to "expanded" family tree, our current 3-rm flat proves to be a big challenge to house 3 little ones. Our home hunting started since last year and we finally found a suitable unit (read - Cheap and Spacious) that we really like in Tampines.

We completed the transaction in Feb this year, and only took over the unit in May as the owner requested to stay for additional 3 months while waiting for their new flat to be ready.

Here's the floor plan of my unit with 149sqm of space:

Floor_Plan.jpg

We spent close to 2.5 months hunting for ID using the recommendation on this forum, and finally decided to choose *****. The renovation started on 15th May 2008 and it's a major overhaul for the unit that's going to last till 15th July 2008. I will post more pics of the progress soon.

Here are some photos of the unit when we took over..

Living Room + Study Room View (the identity of the innocent has been protected.. :P)

DSCF0063_Mod.jpg

Walk way to kitchen (left) and bedrooms (right)

DSCF0057.jpg

Bedroom 3

DSCF0037.jpg

Common Toilet

DSCF0041.jpg

DSCF0042.jpg

Guess what's the current state of the unit now when hacking has started.. :sport-smiley-004:

Edited by gidler

spam chop :dancingqueen:

possible to post the pix instead of attaching links?

lazy to click on the links leh :notti:

Pardon my mistake, I've modified the post.. :P

3rd... but i cant see any urls nor pics wor... the photobucket showed "this image or video has been moved or deleted"... :unsure::unsure:

Paiseh, still experimenting with the photobucket website.. try doing a refresh, the pictures will be shown..

Went up to my unit on day 1 of reno work, and found my place in big mess. Looks like a warzone with all the debris.. hee.. Pardon the pic quality as its taken from my mobile phone..

Here's a picture of the living room just to illustrate how messy it is

IMAGE_106.jpg

Sames goes for the dinning area

IMAGE_107.jpg

My master bathroom was stripped totally bare

IMAGE_114.jpg

PS: Notice the sunk in area on the wall of my toilet.. We are going to use it as shelving area to place toiletries and shower stuff. Save me some cost in buying toilet accessories.. :dancingqueen:

The kitchen wall is hacked away to make way for both a wet and dry kitchen. We are also relocating the common toilet door to the walkway for easier entry. If you notice, on the far right, the sliding door for study room is also removed to make way for glass panels and door

IMAGE_120.jpg

Here's another look at the living room and balcony after hacking and in the midst of clearing the debris

IMAGE_117.jpg

We are still waiting for HDB approval to hack away the ugly horizontal beam that divides the living and balcony area.

Edited by gidler

spam chop and congrats ...

so each of your little ones get to have his or her own room now ??

:D :D

spam chop and congrats ...

so each of your little ones get to have his or her own room now ??

:D :D

Well, eventually they will, but not now.. I would like them to share room while they are young to foster closer relationship..

The plan is to have a proper study room since one of them is starting school next year. Bedroom 2 will be shared between the 2 kids while the 3rd will "bunk" in with us in master bedroom since he's still young. That leaves us with one guest room. Will probably do another minor reno 5 years down the road to convert into individual room for them.. :notti:

Hihi,

Wlcome to RT!! :) its a huge EA...dun thk they produce this kind of EA anymre. Mind if I ask which part of Tamp is this n how much u paid for it? My mom is staying in Tamp n I still hope to move back to the East/Tamp 1 day eventually....its a great place to stay in! :good:

yup! tampines is a great place to live in! cant wait to see more pictures! :D

Definitely agree with your statement.. Current and new home are all in Tampines.. hee

Hihi,

Wlcome to RT!! :) its a huge EA...dun thk they produce this kind of EA anymre. Mind if I ask which part of Tamp is this n how much u paid for it? My mom is staying in Tamp n I still hope to move back to the East/Tamp 1 day eventually....its a great place to stay in! :good:

The block is at Tampines St 33, not really near to Central but it's ok for us since we drive.. We paid S$425K, val at S$405K.. It's the cheapest we can find during our home hunting last year Aug - Oct.. Most of the EA / Jumbo unit is asking S$50 - 80K COV.. crazy price