subayai

$12,700 For Minor 5rm Resale Reno Work?

hi, really clueless about quotations. we talked to one id and got the quotations as below. what should be the reasonable quotation for such minor resale reno? please advise!

PRELIMINARY CHARGES

1. To supply material, labour and lay corrugated sheet, protection **** Dining S$ 200.00

Hall.

2. General washing to Whole House flooring. S$ 250.00

RENOVATION WORKS

1. To dismantle existing shoe cabinet, 2 sets divider, T.V console and bar counter, S$ 1,300.00

vanity cabinet & top and ceiling wooden strip at Dining Hall.

2. To dismantle existing WC bowl and to install new set. (owner to provide bowl) S$ 280.00

3. To re-laminate 1 sided existing Shelter feature wall (L: 2.2m) and a door. S$ 950.00

4. To supply and install 1 set wallpaper at T.V area (L: 8.3m x H: 2.5m). S$ 1,880.00

5. To re-laminate 1 sided existing walk-in wardrobe partition at Master Bedroom S$ 1,450.00

(L: 3m x H: 2.5m) and a sliding door.

6. To supply and install one set vanity cabinet and solid work top with mirror (L: 5ft), S$ 1,600.00

finished in laminate. (owner to supply basin & tap)

7. To supply and install 1 set wallpaper at Bedhead area (L: 3.6m x H: 2.5m). S$ 800.00

8. To re-varnished existing parquet flooring at Bedrooms. S$ 600.00

9. To supply and paint Whole House ceiling & wall with (I.C.I-Wash&Wear). S$ 1,450.00

10. To supply and install 1 set fixed 10mm thick tempered clear glass panel and a S$ 1,950.00

swing door with floor spring at Kitchen Entrance.

Total Amount: S$ 12,710.00

Edited by subayai

hi, really clueless about quotations. we talked to one id and got the quotations as below. what should be the reasonable quotation for such minor resale reno? please advise!

PRELIMINARY CHARGES

1. To supply material, labour and lay corrugated sheet, protection **** Dining S$ 200.00

Hall.

Pretty standard

2. General washing to Whole House flooring. S$ 250.00

can be slightly cheaper

RENOVATION WORKS

1. To dismantle existing shoe cabinet, 2 sets divider, T.V console and bar counter, S$ 1,300.00

vanity cabinet & top and ceiling wooden strip at Dining Hall.

If you get this flat directly from HDB, you can get them to do it for you for Free :wub:

2. To dismantle existing WC bowl and to install new set. (owner to provide bowl) S$ 280.00

as above

3. To re-laminate 1 sided existing Shelter feature wall (L: 2.2m) and a door. S$ 950.00

Ooops!! sorrie can't help.

4. To supply and install 1 set wallpaper at T.V area (L: 8.3m x H: 2.5m). S$ 1,880.00

5. To re-laminate 1 sided existing walk-in wardrobe partition at Master Bedroom S$ 1,450.00

(L: 3m x H: 2.5m) and a sliding door.

6. To supply and install one set vanity cabinet and solid work top with mirror (L: 5ft), S$ 1,600.00

finished in laminate. (owner to supply basin & tap)

Pretty standard

7. To supply and install 1 set wallpaper at Bedhead area (L: 3.6m x H: 2.5m). S$ 800.00

8. To re-varnished existing parquet flooring at Bedrooms. S$ 600.00

Pretty reasonable

9. To supply and paint Whole House ceiling & wall with (I.C.I-Wash&Wear). S$ 1,450.00

How big is your place? if the floor area is more than 130sqm, then i would say that it is reasonable, anything less than that is expensive!!

10. To supply and install 1 set fixed 10mm thick tempered clear glass panel and a S$ 1,950.00

swing door with floor spring at Kitchen Entrance.

I'm not sure how big your door is going to be, but i have my MBR toilet tempered glass door for $660

Total Amount: S$ 12,710.00

apologies for not being able to help you all, can only let you know what i think is reasonable... juz my personal view. hope that helps. :yamseng:

Hall. my quote was $100 for using corrugated paper - 4 room flat

2. General washing to Whole House flooring. S$ 250.00 Chemical washing $130, Haulage and Clearing of debris $260

RENOVATION WORKS

(L: 3m x H: 2.5m) and a sliding door. NEW customise wardrobe cost $1080 for top hang full piece frosted glass doors 5x 8 feet

finished in laminate. (owner to supply basin & tap) mine is 5 to 6 feet, they quoted me $500, mirror 5 x 4 feet is $200, solid worktop with back splash is $70 per foot run

8. To re-varnished existing parquet flooring at Bedrooms. same price

9. To supply and paint Whole House ceiling & wall with (I.C.I-Wash&Wear). S$ 1,450.00 my hse at 90sqm costs $950 paint whole hse in 5+1 ICI emulsion colors

swing door with floor spring at Kitchen Entrance. my kitchen door fix glass is 2 x 4 feet, top hung sliding door is 2 x7 ft, i was quoted $650 for both AND my casement shower screen in bathroom is $400

i think ur quote is very EXPENSIVE, mine is much cheaper and i havnt even tried asking for discounts yet. but i believe they will likely give me discounts lah.

my quotes are from a few ID / contractors, not all from 1 source... i just pick their cheapest price and list to u.

Edited by mud3210

i think ur quote is very EXPENSIVE, mine is much cheaper and i havnt even tried asking for discounts yet. but i believe they will likely give me discounts lah.

my quotes are from a few ID / contractors, not all from 1 source... i just pick their cheapest price and list to u.

Thank you Mud3210...it looks like re-laminating is more expensive than making new ones...prob not even worth trying it.

anyway, is it true that IDs are not worth the money? Mine is a resale flat, renovated, hence unless we want to makeover, which means a lot of hacking, it doesn't make sense to engage ID as there isn't much room for trying out new designs...

If you dun mind, can share with me your own quotation? can PM me. Thank you!!

most ID and contractor price not a lot of diff.. Hoe Bee charges almost same as ID, but it seems they are contractor and not ID firm :/ (BUT if u only wan to do kitchen cabinet, can try them, coz they are $95 pfr and inclusive of 2 or 3 frosted/sandblasted glass in wood laminate frame (so the price is rather reasonable), i think aluminium frame have to pay more. but the rest of his items in the quote are more ex than other companies... dun ask them to do granite top, i seen liao, the workmanship at the joints not-so-good) solid top is $70 pfr.. his granite is $100 pfr..

in fact, some ID i go to are cheaper than Ho bee. another contractor i went to is cheaper than hoe bee by ard 5K, but u have to knw wat u want fist b4 u go to him, coz he dun really give u ideas. i tot contractor can also do hacking mah... coz i am doing hacking.

Edited by mud3210

hihi, so have you started your renovation yet? i got another quotation, this guy is a contractor n looks like he wants to do a bit more work as compared to the ID:

can roughly tell me which are the items that we can neogotiate for? also for the debris fee, what's the norm?

Hacking Work

Dismantle of divider @ living room. $80.00

Dismantle of wooden light box & ledge @ kitchen. $120.00

Dismantle exisitng toilet accessories @ 2 bathroom. $100.00

To dismantle exisitng platform @ living room. $80.00

Wet Work

Supply & overlay 300mm x 300mm non-slip homogenous flooring including shower ker @

both toilet.(tiles ranging >$3.00) (120sqft) $840.00

Supply & lay water proofing membrane @ both toilet. (3 layer) (Approved by HDB) $200.00

Supply & overlay ceramic wall tiles up to ceiling height @ both toilet.

(tiles ranging >$2.80) (tiles cost = 421sqft) $2,736.00

Misc. Work

To paints whole unit wall & ceiling using ICI All in 1 paints including door, door frame

main door, piping.(including plaster hole & touch up damage area.) $1,450.00

Chemical wash for whole unit.(Twice) $250.00

Debris fees. $250.00

To lay protection cardboard for whole unit. $300.00

Supply & install fixed 10mm tempered glass @ kitchen entrance.(58sqft) $928.00

Supply & install 1 no's 10mm tempered glass swing door including H-handles @ kicthen

entrance. $500.00

Supply & install 1 fixed & 1 swing 10mm tempered glass shower screen @ master toilet. $480.00

To construct false ceiling & L-box light holder @ master bedroom. $1,680.00

Plumbing Work

Replacement of standard stainless steel piping @ 2 toilet.(2 hot points) $700.00

Installation of 2 sets toilet bowl for labour charges only. $160.00

Installation of 2 sets toilet basin for labour charges only. $120.00

Install of whole house & 2 set toilet accessories for labour charges only. $50.00

Carpentry Work

Supply & re-laminate existing 7ft feature wall cum display unit @ living room. $1,050.00

Supply & re-laminate existing 7ft wall mounted TV console @ living room. $630.00

Supply & re-laminate existing 2 side 10ft feature wall & sliding door @ walk-in wardrobe area. $1,500.00

Supply & construct low platform in laminate finish @ master bedroom. $1,120.00

Design & fabricate Queen size bedframe in laminate finish @ master bedroom. $800.00

Design & fabricate Queen Size full height headboard in laminate & cushion finish @ master $1,100.00

bedroom.

Designed & fabricate 2 no's bedside table in laminate finish. $440.00

Designed & construct 4ft wall mounted TV ledge & feature wall in laminate & frosted glass

finish @ master bedroom.

Designed & fabricate 1 panel 2 side display wall @ master bedroom.(as plan) $660.00

Designed & fabricate 10ft L-sharpe study table in laminate finish @ study area. $1,200.00

Designed & fabricate 5ft top hung book shelves in laminate finish @ study area.. $750.00

Designed & fabricate 5ft vanity cabinet & solid surface worktop & 1 no's frameless mirror @

master bedroom. $1,080.00

To construct L-sharpe partition wall @ study area.(as plan) $550.00

Designed & fabricate 5ft study table in laminate finish @ study area. $600.00

Designed & fabricate 7ft wall mounted TV console in laminate & glass finish @ living room. $840.00

Designed & fabricate 7ft TV feature wall above TV console in laminate finish. $1,400.00

Designed & fabricate 7ft 2 side TV feature wall above TV console in laminate finish. $1,680.00

Optional Item:

Supply & re-laminate kitchen cabinet frame & exchanged all door.

hihi, so have you started your renovation yet? i got another quotation, this guy is a contractor n looks like he wants to do a bit more work as compared to the ID:

debris fee, what's the norm?

if im not wrong, the clearing debris fee is a flat rate $260++ by the town council, u may want to double check w the town council on this.

for hacking , they need to get a PE to apply for permit, cheapest cost i heard is $300, but some ID/contractors may charge $500 to $1K, depending on which PE they go to or hw muh tey wan to earn frm the comission :notti: . frm wat i heard, no matter how many hacking work u do for ur hse , the PE cost is the same.

hacking is not expensive. for my wall the size of a door, costs $150 to hack and another $150 to smooth surface AND make good of wall and floor tiles after hacking.

Painting

u didnt state hw big is ur hse leh. but usually they will give 5 colors, must make sure u r allow to select ALL colors, coz some ID may later tell u, "oh that color u wan is not in ur selectable range.. u gotta pay extra for that.."

Chemical wash for whole unit.(Twice) $250.00

eh.. why they need to wash twice? they dun do a proper job first round?

To lay protection cardboard for whole unit. $300.00

ur hse is twice the size a 4rm flat?.. or they lay double layer corrogated paper ar?

Carpentry Work

Designed & fabricate 2 no's bedside table in laminate finish. $440.00

i think buy off shelf only $90 each

Designed & fabricate 5ft vanity cabinet & solid surface worktop & 1 no's frameless mirror @

master bedroom. $1,080.00

i was quoted a 5ft vanity cost $500, solid top is $350 for 5 ft and mirror the size of 2 doors is $550

Wow, tatts a LOT of things... so the total they quote u hw much? for those items i never comment is i don't know and never bother to check coz im not doing it.. but u can check the standard rate basd on PER FOOT RUn, for all ur carpentary work. btw, ur quote didnt include the electrical costs yet? all those lightpoints and install lights costs.

i have gotten myself a VERY good quote frm one of the contractors now and i am happy, all electrical, addition/extension wiring, casing and other "hidden costs" included, best is NO GST hehhe, will still most likely sign w him in 2 or 3 weeks, if nothing goes wrong. :dancingqueen:

btw, things like the below mentioned should come FREE if u r doing carpentary work in those areas, so dun blur blur go and pay them for it:

installation of hob and hod in kitchen

2 or 3 pcs of frosted/sandblasted glass cabinets (full top cabinet height) in selected wood laminated framing

stainless steel dish rack

run kitchen tap inlet/outlet water piping

installation of kitchen sink (select : to mount on top of or underneath ur kitchen surface)

run cold /hot water piping for storage tanK in bathroom (if necessary)

installation of storage water tank / 2 sets of instant heater

installation of all bathroom accessories including rod for shower curtains

FREE 3D perspective drawings, site coordination and supervision.

if u r doing a lot of carpentary work, they are likely to waive laying of protection sheet, even boxing of sewage pipes

Edited by mud3210

that's great...congrats. how long did you shop your ID for? Since Jan? You really knows a lot for a gal...hahaha

do you know much about workmanship? what to take note when you look at his work?

i wonder whether IDs are supposed to show you 3D drawing after discussing reno ideas with you, but before you commit?

one told me he wont draw until we pay deposit. so can we expect at least a 2D drawing to know what he's doing to our flat?

The norm would be 3D is given out after u confirm with the ID that u r engaging them. He would then draw the 3D based on wat tiles, laminates u choose. 2D or space layout is normally given together with the quotation they give u. If they dun give the space layout, bug them for it. It determines whether they are really listening to wat u want. Hope it helps.

that's great...congrats. how long did you shop your ID for? Since Jan? You really knows a lot for a gal...hahaha

do you know much about workmanship? what to take note when you look at his work?

i wonder whether IDs are supposed to show you 3D drawing after discussing reno ideas with you, but before you commit?

one told me he wont draw until we pay deposit. so can we expect at least a 2D drawing to know what he's doing to our flat?

whoa how u knw i am gal? u check on me ar ..lol..

we started in jan, but my fiance is in no hurry to move in, so we are just shopping ard for the best quotes.

usually they will only give u the 3D drawings after u place deposit w them as i heard it is very time consuming to do the drawings.

i don't know much abt workmanship, neither does my fiance!!! i only know the following:

• the cabinets / tic tak door (when closed) gaps must be as fine as possible maybe ard 0.3cm and the edges are parellel and not slanted

• and when u look sideways the surface is smoothe as possible

• when u knock on the wood it doesnt sound hollow.

• when u check the underneath of the shelves in the cabinets, it must also be laminated and not like rough with pieces of wood falling off

• when u check the joints between the cupboards/cabinets and ABS trimmings are FINELY joined

should be all, but better ask ur mom or dad to go with u to see a 2 or 3 showflats by the same company if u decide to engage them.. thats what i usually do. :)

old ppl usually knw better, but dun tell them the price, coz they still live in the 70s era lol...

Edited by mud3210

Hi SUBA

Normally owner will ask for 3d or 2d drawing once the owner confirm with id/contractor.

But ultamately, you MUST see their worksmanship, their woodwork and tiles.

You MUST be able to view a few units under the id care.

No point having a very good 3d or 2d drawing but the end results is not what you want or the end result (worksmanship) is not there.

HAPPY

The norm would be 3D is given out after u confirm with the ID that u r engaging them. He would then draw the 3D based on wat tiles, laminates u choose. 2D or space layout is normally given together with the quotation they give u. If they dun give the space layout, bug them for it. It determines whether they are really listening to wat u want. Hope it helps.

hey redknapp39, thumbs up for your detailed analysis of your ID hunting!

any other tips to share in terms of what to compare when choosing the ID? did you compare the quality of the material they use as well?

Thanks subayai,

I cant say much abt quality of materials cuz i dun have ny experience in reno but the very least that i will take note will be the type of wood they are using for carpentry. Just make sure it's solid wood :yamseng:

Hi Mud3210,

Do you mind telling me which ID / contract you'd selected in the end, and can you share your quotation as well?

My email address is nath.adrie@gmail.com

Many thanks.