big orange

Bedok Central

Why not try something like E-saver from standchart, or the equivalent from OCBC, or even Maybank. These accounts are saving account but there is no bankbooks, statements etc. All accounts are internet based, so if you need the monies, transfer to your regular savings account then withdraw out. The rates are okay and there is no lock in fixed period unlike fixed deposit.

I got mine from signing up with NTUC member, got their NTUC/OCBC platinum card (called NTUC Linkplus or something), it comes with 'that' saving account which I can withdraw via ATM, if not using, the interest around 1%....esavers if >$50K I think 2.25%, $25K 1.25% or something.

Fairpriceplus not bad @ 1%PA. no lock in! i agree! i using this.

Here is the update of the MBR door issue...I love it :notti:

After the carpenter helped me to saw off the screw, I patch it up with some plaster...

IMG_0032.jpg

The door can now swing all the way nearly touching the wall! Wow, what a breath of fresh air (ha ha)

IMG_0038.jpg

If you looked closely, the door 'naturally' reached its max angle of swing and didn't hit anything, not even the furthest protruding item, the HDB tap as shown. So I am still considering if I want to put back a upper stopper or just let it naturally rest like that.

IMG_0041.jpg

Note: This option may be difficult for those who are installing shower screen. With my current setup, i can close the MBR door and whatever I do in the toilet is privacy liao. If I need to shower, then has to close the bathroom door...if not :notti:

Edited by Ideasmiths

Why not try something like E-saver from standchart, or the equivalent from OCBC, or even Maybank. These accounts are saving account but there is no bankbooks, statements etc. All accounts are internet based, so if you need the monies, transfer to your regular savings account then withdraw out. The rates are okay and there is no lock in fixed period unlike fixed deposit.

I got mine from signing up with NTUC member, got their NTUC/OCBC platinum card (called NTUC Linkplus or something), it comes with 'that' saving account which I can withdraw via ATM, if not using, the interest around 1%....esavers if >$50K I think 2.25%, $25K 1.25% or something.

Fairpriceplus not bad @ 1%PA. no lock in! i agree! i using this.

Ok.. sounds reasonable.. currently using Maybank Isavvy account and Time deposit.. that time interest is one of the best.. now it dipped.. so looking ard to c gt better options.. will go n check it out.. thanks :)

btw any finance guru here noe which banks are having the best rate for Time-Fixed deposit now i using maybank.. need to find a better one if there is.. please don give me wat trading, buy trust, treasure bills n etc..

You may want to re-consider time fixed deposit.

Inflation is no longer just eating into our pockets by way of higher grocery bills, it is also eroding the money we safely put away in fixed deposits in our banks.

If our money is sitting idle in a bank and earning interest that is lower than the rate of inflation, we are not making it work hard enough for us.

Inflation averaged 2 per cent from 1980 to last year. The Government's official inflation forecast for this year is 4.5 to 5.5 per cent but as reported, the inflation rate was 6.7 per cent in Apr 2008.

Over time, our nest egg will be eroded by inflation. For instance, taking the inflation rate of 6.7 per cent and our fixed deposit is earning 1.6 per cent, we are looking at a shortfall of 5.1 per cent.

Maybe look for alternatives ways to make your money work harder.

Just my 2 cents.

knowhow is very important. This is what i am lacking of...

Now i just feel contented with the gold bar underneath my bed.

Aiya.. i mean those one dollar coins lah.

knowhow is very important. This is what i am lacking of...

Now i just feel contented with the gold bar underneath my bed.

Aiya.. i mean those one dollar coins lah.

True... i think the eroding value is enuff motivation for us to find out and learn more about alternatives.

For example. spending on skills development courses is one way since you increase your employability.

The garmen always said we must upgrade... (with our own monies? :jawdrop: )

One dollar coins underneath your bed? Better than me, I only have a can of peanuts. :notti:

600k!!!

:rolleyes:

having say that, i saw a few counter which is very good. But still nothing beat the coldness of hard cash.. (in my case, my 1 dollar coins)

Edited by big orange

600k!!!

:rolleyes:

having say that, i saw a few counter which is very good. But still nothing beat the coldness of hard cash.. (in my case, my 1 dollar coins)

1 dollar coins are good. They are naturally ba gua and will not look out of place if you use them as diy fengshui setup.

$1 is coolz. I alway use 5 of them and take a neoprint with my wife. That is 6-7 years ago :)

Now i use 5 of them for 2 plate of chicken rice.

You may want to re-consider time fixed deposit.

Inflation is no longer just eating into our pockets by way of higher grocery bills, it is also eroding the money we safely put away in fixed deposits in our banks.

Thanks but u have any alternatives to recommend me? :notti: .. i can do part time.. hehe..

the time-deposit is actually for saving that with lesser risks cos i believe everyone should have investment and also savings.. :)

Edited by yokoyoko

Thanks but u have any alternatives to recommend me? :notti: .. i can do part time.. hehe..

the time-deposit is actually for saving that with lesser risks cos i believe everyone should have investment and also savings.. :)

Cash is king but if you are prepared to take a risk. The stock market looks pretty battered right now. But if go in now be prepared to hold a few years imho. Its quite a chim field and everyone has their own risks appetite and views. I can only say that I have been holding some shipping trusts. They give out regular quarterly dividends amounting to approx 10%/annum. They have only a history of 1 year + so er, dunno how long they will last. Caveat emptor, administrators dun ban me hor.

Edited by isc90152

Cash is king but if you are prepared to take a risk. The stock market looks pretty battered right now. But if go in now be prepared to hold a few years imho. Its quite a chim field and everyone has their own risks appetite and views. I can only say that I have been holding some shipping trusts. They give out regular quarterly dividends amounting to approx 10%/annum. They have only a history of 1 year + so er, dunno how long they will last. Caveat emptor, administrators dun ban me hor.

yup.. i do have some counters but its red!! i just treat them as long term investment.. what i need now is to maintain my other savings... so i choose one of the safest lo.. - TD.. :) or do part time job.. lolz..

btw hws yr homey?

yup.. i do have some counters but its red!! i just treat them as long term investment.. what i need now is to maintain my other savings... so i choose one of the safest lo.. - TD.. :) or do part time job.. lolz..

btw hws yr homey?

Haha Sean, my counters all red now. Last lap liao, I'm contemplating betwn 1 ID and 1 contractor. Done nothing except masking tape out the area for visualization so far :P. At night no light, day time need to work, only got weekends to do it whenever we decide to change layout. Tiring but fun process.

Haha Sean, my counters all red now

My is super red. I not talking about arowana wor.. but it real red .. haha.. but i looking at one particular penny...

Maybe 2 lots to vest for long long time~ :)

see how`