darcbleu 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 haha,yokoyoko, heard there is a few burgarly cases in the neighbourhood liao leh, and he did manage to remove the joints quite easily...hmm....think i am asking jovi to weld the joint for me again...re-enforce it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frederick_chia 1 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 haha,yokoyoko, heard there is a few burgarly cases in the neighbourhood liao leh, and he did manage to remove the joints quite easily...hmm....think i am asking jovi to weld the joint for me again...re-enforce it The existing joints cannot be welded. Cos one end is just a stud blocking the hole, and the other one is a longer stud connecting the 2 hinges internally. I don't even think you can weld the 2 studs to the hinges. As for the Mr Kor's version, it uses a bolt and nut system whereby the nut is screwed into the long bolt and then it is welded together. Of cos unless you can find the exact size & length of the bolt and nut for our hinges, than you can "try" welding them together. My suggestion is for you to try Sungei Road area to source for the bolts and nuts which I would expect probably $2 or lesser per set. Hope that helps. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frederick_chia 1 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 i think he like to tok bird lang.. haha.. i keep saying don wan.. de uncle(don noe is it MR Kor) said veri cheap.. 10bucks per joint.. maybe i too yandao? lolz.. den i think he is really old le.. so anyone engaging just keep saying don wan.. he will slash price.. I was thinking.....will there be a chance that even the hinges are welded, it still does not prevent burglars from breaking the hinges & into the house...... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darcbleu 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 The existing joints cannot be welded. Cos one end is just a stud blocking the hole, and the other one is a longer stud connecting the 2 hinges internally. I don't even think you can weld the 2 studs to the hinges. As for the Mr Kor's version, it uses a bolt and nut system whereby the nut is screwed into the long bolt and then it is welded together. Of cos unless you can find the exact size & length of the bolt and nut for our hinges, than you can "try" welding them together. My suggestion is for you to try Sungei Road area to source for the bolts and nuts which I would expect probably $2 or lesser per set. Hope that helps. Hmm,that strange, cos i spoken to jovi and she said will be asking the welder to come and weld the joints leh... think must have lotsa complaints about the joints and that burglar already know the weakness, we all must help each other to look out strange happenings around the area Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yokoyoko 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 (edited) haha,yokoyoko, heard there is a few burgarly cases in the neighbourhood liao leh, and he did manage to remove the joints quite easily...hmm....think i am asking jovi to weld the joint for me again...re-enforce it ya.. i heard too but is it those on-going reno units that does not have proper locks?.. jovi's side gt do wielding? when? then can ask them do for me oso...don waste ma. haha.. Edited January 5, 2009 by yokoyoko Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frederick_chia 1 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 ya.. i heard too but is it those on-going reno units that does not have proper locks?.. jovi's side gt do wielding? when? then can ask them do for me oso...don waste ma. haha.. Wah...if Jovi is providing the welding service and is the same as that Mr Kor, then I shld have waited......sob sob..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darcbleu 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 i think the welding they do is not totally the same mr koh, think they will just do abit of welding to the existing joints ba. you can call jovi for more info, think they are doing it this week. yokoyoko, can kapo to my block and keep a lookout? haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yokoyoko 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 i think the welding they do is not totally the same mr koh, think they will just do abit of welding to the existing joints ba. you can call jovi for more info, think they are doing it this week. yokoyoko, can kapo to my block and keep a lookout? haha gd.. tml call her.. hehe.. u directly oppo me right.. but u above me hw to look? haha.. if u beside me den ok.. think u shld look out for me cos u can c my unit better.. thanks huh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frederick_chia 1 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 (edited) Last Sat afternoon I heard that my Indian neighbour complained and called police to come when my sub-con was smoking outside my door while waiting for me to come. I feel so bad for my sub-con. On the other contrary, I caught him playing cricket ball with his son last Friday night as well his son likes to throw a lot of his big toys outside the common area of our house. Looks like I got an "irritating" neighbour who likes to complain about others & not leading by example himself. Think I better watch my back (or rather my house!)....Ha Ha Ha!!! Edited January 5, 2009 by frederick_chia Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
its_fate_htb 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 The existing joints cannot be welded. Cos one end is just a stud blocking the hole, and the other one is a longer stud connecting the 2 hinges internally. I don't even think you can weld the 2 studs to the hinges. yo fred... just curious... did the guy "Mr Kor" knocked off the joints when u had your gate opened or shut... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
DSA 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 (edited) Photos of the welded joint would help. The camera will need to switch to macro mode for good close-up shots of the welded joints under very good lighting. Photobucket provides good photo hosting. Edited January 5, 2009 by DSA Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frederick_chia 1 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 (edited) yo fred... just curious... did the guy "Mr Kor" knocked off the joints when u had your gate opened or shut... Both opened & also closed. The gate is closed wen he demonstrate how to whack off the bottom stud of my choice. Subsequently, the remaining opened. I think I know what you wana ask. The gate provided by the HDB is supposed to have interlocking slots which people cannot open the gate even though they are locked. These interlock slots are the silver latches @ the side of the gates. With these 2 slots locked (1 to the top of the metal gate frame & 1 to your floor tile or kerb), even if the hinges are whacked, they prevent the gate from being pulled out of the frame. If there 2 slots are not locked, once the hinges are whacked, even an Abloy lock cannot prevent the gate from being pulled out of the frame. As for how the hinges are being whacked, it's very simple. If you can remember the 2 round marble size metal thing at the hinges, the top round is the longer stud, & the bottom round is the shorter stud. You just need to use your hammer to knock at 45 degrees at the bottom stud & it will drop off immediately. Thereafter, you can just pull the longer stud out of the hinge. As for how Mr Kor's welding does the magic, a long bolt is replacing the longer stud & the nut replaces the bottom stud. Only difference now is that the nut is screwed upwards by the screw threads of the long bolt. After it reaches the maximum of the hinges & cannot be screwed further upwards, the nut is being welded to the bolt, 'melting' the two separate items into one. Hope it's not too technical for you all. I'll try to take pictures later this evening when I drop by my place. Else, hope someone else can post the pics of the before & after of the hinges. Edited January 5, 2009 by frederick_chia Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darcbleu 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2009 i called jovi and she cfm that blk 221C kana buglary before. owner losing ard 22k of stuffs. guess what?! the insurance that we buy from HDB(if you rem) is only on fire, nt on burglary. even if u bought, the price is only very little.then today my neighbour said that the police and construction company only replace the metal gate foc. nothing else. then we ask, if this is the case, i ask Mr Koh to come and weld my gate then shouldnt u reimburse me the amount for the gate as we paid for the gate? she replied saying no, unless we let her do the welding first as she is also waitng for the higher management on the metal gate report and examination. The higher management will be coming to LG today, Tuesday. Welding will be done at my place on wednesday. no other dates. so bo bian, take loh. This metal gate issue hasalready been brought up to the higher management. The same matal gate is being used in Sengkang, punggol and Bedok. all 3 places have buglary before due to the metal gate. you know lah, government sector where got do things so fast wan?? all super duper snake leh. wait and wait. hope reli 1 day, its their turn to worry and scare for their flat. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frederick_chia 1 Report post Posted January 6, 2009 (edited) i called jovi and she cfm that blk 221C kana buglary before. owner losing ard 22k of stuffs. guess what?! the insurance that we buy from HDB(if you rem) is only on fire, nt on burglary. even if u bought, the price is only very little.then today my neighbour said that the police and construction company only replace the metal gate foc. nothing else. then we ask, if this is the case, i ask Mr Koh to come and weld my gate then shouldnt u reimburse me the amount for the gate as we paid for the gate? she replied saying no, unless we let her do the welding first as she is also waitng for the higher management on the metal gate report and examination. The higher management will be coming to LG today, Tuesday. Welding will be done at my place on wednesday. no other dates. so bo bian, take loh. This metal gate issue has already been brought up to the higher management. The same matal gate is being used in Sengkang, punggol and Bedok. all 3 places have buglary before due to the metal gate. you know lah, government sector where got do things so fast wan?? all super duper snake leh. wait and wait. hope reli 1 day, its their turn to worry and scare for their flat. AIG & NTUC Income as another form of fire insurance which covers theft too, but up to $50K I think. However, if burglary lose about $22K of stuffs....hmm....we have a very rich neighbour....Ha Ha. Anyway, I just called Jovi too. However, she "acts" blur when I ask her if she is providing the welding service. Anyway, she explained that the welding by her is just to "reinforce" the existing bottom stud to the hinge. Perhaps Darcbleu can take some pictures of how that is being done than we can compare whether it is the same process or theory as that Mr Kor. Believe it or not, Jovi said the few robbers actually saw away the gates to break into the house. For me, I find it hard to believe. Edited January 6, 2009 by frederick_chia Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frederick_chia 1 Report post Posted January 6, 2009 Managed to google up some pics of the welding by Mr Kor, but the pictures of the hinges is not exactly the same as our LGs. Before Welding After Welding After Welding & Painting Hope it's good enough to explain how the Mr Kor's version works. was tokin to my neigbhour.. n seem like that is flasher ard.. haha.. so gals becareful hor.. LG not only got flasher...heard from my friend who is staying a few floors above me that she was "touched" in the butt. Gals got to really be careful and we really got to help one another to catch the robbers, flashers, & molesters. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites