big orange

Bedok Central

Can I ask for those who are renovating/renovated their house.

Anyone change their toilet door of MBR to bi-foldable door?

I do not wish to hack the toilet door MBR frame to change to bi-foldable door.

Is there any bi-foldable door with hinges that is available?

I am also :furious: with the design of the toilet door of the MBR. When you open it, it sticks at the 90 degrees direction and right infront is the sink. So every morning when you wash your face, its so inconvenient.

My solution is to 'consider' changing it to a PD door for two reasons

1) The PD door can replace the current door and when swing to the same location can act as a shower screen. In this mode, you probably would close and lock the MBR door.

2) The PD door can swing away well enough not to be a hinderance when washing my face.

Each PD door is $288 (basic configuration), add $20 for the panes.

For PD door with shower screen its $388

Site measurement takes 30 minutes, Installation takes max 2 hours. No hacking.

I am installing the PD Door as my kitchen door this week, and by the way 99% of my reno will be done this Friday. So next weekend Sat/Sun (especially Sat), anyone want to look see (and help me check for ID defects) can arrange to drop by B-) I'm at 220B

PS: Criteria for visiting is to bring ONE good durian, at least D24, yellow meat and bao jia...to share with the rest of the visitors

PS2: Those forgot to bring durian need to go down on their knees and help me check 4 tiles for hollow

Edited by Ideasmiths

bi-fold door market price is abt starting $180 to $250 that kind of pricing if u get direct from the supplier. More expensive ones u can find is without the bottom rail (i.e bottom no bi-fold frame, only 3 sides has frame like a "n", most likely is a top-hung bifold door).

IMO, I don't advocate PD-door, coz to me, it's not necessary to have the PD's slide+push, install bi-fold just need to push. Afterall both PD and normal Bi-fold after folded is still the same 1 panel, no diff, personal preference.

Some pple prefer hacking away the door frame then install the bi-fold door will look nicer/neater. But our new toilets 3 yrs cannot hack, coz high chance while removing the frame will crack the surrounding tiles.

1) The PD door can replace the current door and when swing to the same location can act as a shower screen. In this mode, you probably would close and lock the MBR door.

2) The PD door can swing away well enough not to be a hinderance when washing my face.

I am installing the PD Door as my kitchen door this week, and by the way 99% of my reno will be done this Friday. So next weekend Sat/Sun (especially Sat), anyone want to look see (and help me check for ID defects) can arrange to drop by B-) I'm at 220B

Can pass me no of the contact person (PD door), thanks. Same sentiments too for the MBR toilet door. Wonder who is the designer that recommend HDB to install dat kind of door

Edited by Iman

Can pass me no of the contact person (PD door), thanks. Same sentiments too for the MBR toilet door. Wonder who is the designer that recommend HDB to install dat kind of door

I was also wondering that.

One other solution I am thinking of is to get a swing right door from any of the linear greeners who is selling them off (the one from the other toilet), then dismantle the exiting left swing and put on the right swing one. This way, if open, it will open away correctly.

PM you about the PDDoor contact

PS: Criteria for visiting is to bring ONE good durian, at least D24, yellow meat and bao jia...to share with the rest of the visitors

PS2: Those forgot to bring durian need to go down on their knees and help me check 4 tiles for hollow

Ryan like Durian as me huh. Next time can org durian outing liaoz!

Actually bedok is good. Durian cheaper than my north side (current i staying)

I am also :furious: with the design of the toilet door of the MBR. When you open it, it sticks at the 90 degrees direction and right infront is the sink. So every morning when you wash your face, its so inconvenient.

Hi Ideasmiths,

I like your recommedations! it look cools.

Can i ask you mentioned "PD door with shower screen is $388"? the shower screen is $100??

Btw, if possible can i visit your house on sunday? are you free?

you sure one D24 is sufficient? :dribble:

The PD door is quite good, nicer than the normal bi-fold one which i think not very nice...hehehe...

ideasmiths, can PM me the contacts?

BTW,i been to the flats today to see see,saw lotsa reworks to the public area being done, like the outer paint lah, and lotsa hacking and patching up works on the wall esp in my block 221B, any other blocks got this?

Edited by darcbleu

Hi Ideasmiths,

I like your recommedations! it look cools.

Can i ask you mentioned "PD door with shower screen is $388"? the shower screen is $100??

Btw, if possible can i visit your house on sunday? are you free?

you sure one D24 is sufficient? :dribble:

More material = more $

The normal door size is $288 (ie bathroom/kitchen), the bath area, the shower screen alone is about 1.5 times bigger than the normal PD door, so it's more material for the panel. But for me, 'why need the panel?'. When the PD guy came to my house that time for measurement, I told him can replace the wooden door and put his PD door at the same place, so when I go into the bathroom, I can use the PD door as a screen! (ie purpose is to prevent water splashing all over the place. Of course in this mode, i have to close and lock my MBR door (which I think is logical because you mean you take shower in the MBR toilet, you leave the MBR door open? I could be walking naked out of the shower to my wardrobe right? Might as well save the trouble and get into the routine of closing the right door.

This weekend, let me see, most likely will be Saturday because I will be there to check for defects before my ID ask me for the remaining 10% of the money. Will update nearer to friday....

Edited by Ideasmiths

One other solution I am thinking of is to get a swing right door from any of the linear greeners who is selling them off (the one from the other toilet), then dismantle the exiting left swing and put on the right swing one. This way, if open, it will open away correctly.

Hi Idealsmith, can I arrange to visit you over the weekend? can you also pm me pddoor contact? Thanks!

ideasmiths, i may drop by :dancingqueen:

Can i bring ONE good durian seed? :P just kidding...

leave the door open. hee hee. You can mouse over PD Door on Ideasmith posting it is a website to PD door http://www.pddoor.com/contacts.html .

Edited by herbman76

leave the door open. hee hee. You can mouse over PD Door on Ideasmith posting it is a website to PD door http://www.pddoor.com/contacts.html .

I think it's against some forum rules to post here....so I will pm all who have requested. But no hurry right, can see how mine works first....

About this weekend, I estimate Saturaday 10am to 1 pm I will be there to knock on the tiles and doing QC check. Just drop by 220B #05-40 and if the door is open, I'm there. >1pm most likely bring my boy boy out for weekend fun liao.

Oh yeah, this weekend only the work completed by the ID, next week then part of my furnitures will come in, last week of August then the other batch of furnitures and finally in September I will try to move in. So this weekend only can see things like tiles, painting, lights, plumping, kitchen cabinet, bookshelf, shoe cabinet, PD Door etc. Nicer stuff like closet design, sofa, TV, fridge etc will be later as scheduled.

Edited by Ideasmiths

Nicer stuff like closet design, sofa, TV, fridge etc will be later as scheduled.

Ignore my PM then. I think I will go when everything is ready. Thanks for the invitation!

Edited by big orange

Hi, Can I ask if anyone use the Haulage service Mr Lim written at our ground floor lift at bedok central?

Or we only pay haulage to town council? does town council provide the sand too?

pls advise?

Hi, Can I ask if anyone use the Haulage service Mr Lim written at our ground floor lift at bedok central?

Or we only pay haulage to town council? does town council provide the sand too?

pls advise?

I used haulage service provided by Mr Lim. Tink he is the appointed haulage by HDB for our flats. He will issue a receipt after he collected the money. Should be ok.